We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing place in unusual setting”
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel J
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing place in unusual setting”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Lovely place, great breakfast. Good value particularly as we were there in mid/low season. Restaurant J has good food and atmosphere. Would be better if they could be a bit more flexible about vegetarian dishes especially for guests who may end up eating there more than once. We were found a table on Saturday night when we hadn't booked and they were full. However this was luck rather than because residents had any preferential treatment. So book a table - especially on a friday or Saturday!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddock4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review.
I'm happy you enjoyed the hotel and our breakfast.
Thanks also for yourfeedback about vegetarian dishes.
Our restaurant is very popular, but I'm glad we could manage a table for you.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you will come to Stockholm

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    214
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
101
268
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

I visited Hotel J on May 2013 on my combined busines/leasure trip to Stockholm. This was perfect spot for the leasure part - as a comparison I had standard down town hotel close to Arlanda express for my business accomodation. You can not compare them on a same day. Hotel J is much better.

It is well situated directly on the Nacka coast. It is amazing to watch Huge ferries when they pass directly on the front of your eyes on the morning and evening. Just open the curtains and watch them from the very comfortable beds.

The Rooms are modern and have been furnished with Yact club style Gant clothing and furnitures.

On the daytime the transportation to the hotel and back is easy and fast by public ferry. It is also nice to see old town and buildings from the sea. On the evening and night time you need to have 30 minutes bus trip or 20 minutes by taxi back to the hotel. Hotel J is also a good base to explore the archipelago with ferry connections to the islands.

Breakfast is good and served in the old villa next to the with charming athmosfare. There are also couple of restaurants close by so you do not need to go down town for a dinner.

I would definately go there for leasure also in the future - for business use it is a bit far from the city.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your nice comments.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you soon again

Best regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed at HTJ for 8 days with my 3 girls. Calm ambience and halcyon days. Very early mornings coupled with fresh coffee. Me and another (laptop'd) gleaning the early hour. The scran was good by the marina. We'll be back. Thanks to all the FOH staff. Sail on HTJ and lead the way J class. Only suggestion would be to get rid of those old cats down by the shore for 200tns of white sand. It's not beyond you HTJ - love the oaks...

Room Tip: All are good the upper deck well it's grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolavannagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I'm very happy you and your 3 girls had a nice stay and look forward to welcome you again

Best regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here 3 nights for business. Hotel was lovely and had a really relaxed feeling. Gorgeous views over the water and a great breakfast! It is located in a business area and there isn't much else around, but there is a lovely restaurant a 5 min walk away right on the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel J and found it clean, convenient, and a good value. The restaurant is located within a short walk from the hotel and offers fantastic food and you have the option of eating inside or out. The ferry service is convenient to the hotel and restaurant, only steps away and can take you to Stockholm within ten minutes. There is also public bus transport within a short walking distance as well and you can take the bus anywhere. Breakfast was included and was a good value; eggs, breads, jams, meats, juices and coffee. The staff was bilingual and able to communicate easily in English with me. The hotel is located on the water and offer chairs that you can enjoy the outdoors with coffe, wine and beer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water and if you prefer a tub or shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBoyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst taking our son over to Stockholm to study and found the hotel by chance. It proved to be an exceptionally great location with wonderful views. The atmosphere is extremely relaxing and the rooms very well appointed. The ferry across to old town Stockholm is an excellent way to travel into the city. We loved it so much we would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
251 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had one of the rooms with bedrooms upstairs and downstairs - with my dad on the ground; and me and Hazel on the top floor.
I loved the styling of the hotel.
And being right on the water always gives a freshness to a city that makes the stay more invigorating.
Eating breakfast in an open plan Ikea show-kitchen is really fun, friendly and no doubt cost effective for the owners. Really something different, with guests and staff literally bumping into each other at the range and work surfaces.
A weekend travel pass to include the water-taxis is therefore a must - and they come every 15 mins or so taking you right into the heart of the capital. From there you explore the rest on foot or by the excellent bus tours.
If I were to go back - I would definitely stay at Hotel J again. Only knocked it a star on account of affordability - but then that's a Skandi thing generally for us poor Brits.
Faultless otherwise.

Room Tip: get one looking out over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,282 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,590 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,931 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Property: Hotel J
Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County, Sweden - Nacka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing