We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful place close to Stockholm with a country feeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel J
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place close to Stockholm with a country feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Taking a last August weekend break in Stockholm we decided to skip busy hotels downtown and go for a marine-style Hotel J in Nacka Strand. I would highly recommend this cozy, beautiful place, especially during summer - and yes, one can have Italian weather in Scandinavia end of August with blue sky and 25C. We enjoyed stay there not only because of nice, nautical décor, comfortable lounge with beverages, tea & coffee and drinks available whole day (not free, but still convenient), excellent breakfast in a historical mansion, but mostly because of country feeling so close to the city. So if you are in no rush to reach downtown, and prefer taking a ferry, you may consider Hotel J as good alternative to pricy accommodation in the Stockholm center.

Restaurant J nearby is also worth to visit. It’s crowded during weekends, so reservation might be good option. We did not reserve, so had a chance to relax few minutes on arm chairs with a beer before dinner, not bad at all.

Room Tip: Consider J seaview or J seaview superior room, which are more expensive, but the view pays back. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice review.
My team and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yes, the location is fantastic, by the archipelago and just a few minutes from the city.
And believe me, it is wonderful event in the winter
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again

Best regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    199
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
92
250
23
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel sits on a perch overlooking the bay. In the warmer months, sailboats and kayaks can be rented and launched right from the hotel--just avoid the massive cruise ships passing by in the channel! Many rooms have a lovely view of the water from their individual balconies. The staff speak fluent English and they universally exhibit warm and generous hospitality. The hotel breakfast is diverse and generous and served in a historic building adjacent to the main hotel, along the water. The hotel's formal restaurant, Restaurant J is located by the adjacent harbor and offers casual ambience; the food is somewhat bland and offerings for vegetarians quite limited, but this seems to be consistent with the regional cuisine, in general. There is a great path along the water right outside the hotel--I think it is about 3 miles long--great for a walk or run. Transportation into town is easy by cab or ferry.

Room Tip: Select a room with a direct view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilG294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this lovely review.
My team and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very happy Hotel J is placed in such a beautiful place overlooking the bay and very closed to the city center.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again next time you will be visiting Stockholm

Best Regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Four of us spent a girls' weekend here at the end of August. The rooms were light and comfortable. The location was great for a quiet retreat from long days in Stockholm. The breakfast buffet location was lovely and the choice extensive.

There are no hot drink-making facilities in the room but you can get your own coffee in reception where an honesty bar system operates, whereby you write down what you've had and it is added to your bill later. Personally, if you can't make your own in your room and so you have to make your own in Reception, then why not make the coffee and tea complimentary? You can also order wine but, being Sweden, it's kept under lock-and-key and a member of the reception team has to come and get it for you. Bit of a palaver...

The restaurant by the lake is in a beautiful position and the food is excellent but book a night before as it's very popular, especially early evening.

Overall, a nicely decorated sailing-themed hotel with a good ambience and friendly staff.

Whilst not connected to the hotel, it is worth noting that you can get a regular bus to Stockholm from the top of the hill (buy your ticket first from the shop by the stop - no cash taken on board) which is more frequent than the ferry and loads cheaper. Both take about 20 mins. Note: if you do get the ferry, remember it is sometimes a request stop so if you hear a horn from your approaching vessel, for goodness' sake wave like mad or you will have a long wait for the next one, as you stand there and watch it sail off into the distance!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda5744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing this review.
I am very pleased you chose Hotel J for your “Girl Weekend” and happy you enjoyed your stay, the food and the location.
Thanks also for your feedbacks which we will consider in the future.

Best regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

i wanted to share with anyone who would like to take the time to read my thoughts and opinions regarding the Hotel J.

Nestled away in a quiet corner (yet a stones throw from the buzz of central Stockholm) lies a little piece of heaven! With scenic views of the water and boats both big and small silently gliding by sits the Hotel J. This hotel is modern, meticulously clean, yet has a feeling of home, with its tea lights, log fire and relaxed atmosphere. The guest rooms are spacious and stylish with a nautical theme which is reflected not only in the decor but in the name itself (J - after the J class boat category!) Staff are welcoming and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. Food is wonderful and traditionally Swedish with the restaurant offering a good variety of dishes. (Try the fish....its delicious!) All in all this really is a delightful little spot, full of potential, a must try!

The only bad thing i have to write about the hotel J is that i had to leave and return to the madness of real life!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you like to bathe otherwise its just a shower. Water facing is excepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed the Hotel, the food at the restaurant and the atmosphere.
Thank you also for your nice words about the Staff which made me extra pleased.
I will inform them all.

I’m sad you had to leave us, but hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm.

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Lovely place, great breakfast. Good value particularly as we were there in mid/low season. Restaurant J has good food and atmosphere. Would be better if they could be a bit more flexible about vegetarian dishes especially for guests who may end up eating there more than once. We were found a table on Saturday night when we hadn't booked and they were full. However this was luck rather than because residents had any preferential treatment. So book a table - especially on a friday or Saturday!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puddock4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review.
I'm happy you enjoyed the hotel and our breakfast.
Thanks also for yourfeedback about vegetarian dishes.
Our restaurant is very popular, but I'm glad we could manage a table for you.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you will come to Stockholm

Kind regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

I visited Hotel J on May 2013 on my combined busines/leasure trip to Stockholm. This was perfect spot for the leasure part - as a comparison I had standard down town hotel close to Arlanda express for my business accomodation. You can not compare them on a same day. Hotel J is much better.

It is well situated directly on the Nacka coast. It is amazing to watch Huge ferries when they pass directly on the front of your eyes on the morning and evening. Just open the curtains and watch them from the very comfortable beds.

The Rooms are modern and have been furnished with Yact club style Gant clothing and furnitures.

On the daytime the transportation to the hotel and back is easy and fast by public ferry. It is also nice to see old town and buildings from the sea. On the evening and night time you need to have 30 minutes bus trip or 20 minutes by taxi back to the hotel. Hotel J is also a good base to explore the archipelago with ferry connections to the islands.

Breakfast is good and served in the old villa next to the with charming athmosfare. There are also couple of restaurants close by so you do not need to go down town for a dinner.

I would definately go there for leasure also in the future - for business use it is a bit far from the city.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your nice comments.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you soon again

Best regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed at HTJ for 8 days with my 3 girls. Calm ambience and halcyon days. Very early mornings coupled with fresh coffee. Me and another (laptop'd) gleaning the early hour. The scran was good by the marina. We'll be back. Thanks to all the FOH staff. Sail on HTJ and lead the way J class. Only suggestion would be to get rid of those old cats down by the shore for 200tns of white sand. It's not beyond you HTJ - love the oaks...

Room Tip: All are good the upper deck well it's grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolavannagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I'm very happy you and your 3 girls had a nice stay and look forward to welcome you again

Best regards

Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Property: Hotel J
Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County, Sweden - Nacka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing