We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view if you upgrade”
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel J
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
Skelleftea, Sweden
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great view if you upgrade”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The view from the rooms with a view is stunning. We would say the you need a room with a view, otherwise you might as well stay elsewhere. The room was great, the breakfast good. Try to take the boat to the city at least one way since it is soo much nicer than the bus.

Room Tip: Upgrade to get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bornen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and our location just by the water in our beautiful archipelago
I hope to welcome you again next time you will be visiting our beautiful capital

Kind regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    213
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
101
267
24
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Spent three days here with my family. We had a couple of sea view rooms and boy was it worth the extra few quid. You get a balcony with literally one of the prettiest views I had ever seen.

I know this sounds slightly mental but from the minute you arrive, this hotel feels like one of those tranquil almost spiritual places that you come across. Don't expect food out of ours or even a choice of wines, but equally don't let that out you off.

It has a wonderful, laid back attitude where you general help yourself and write down what you've had.

Oh, and on the normal stuff, it's spotlessly clean, every staff member is happy to help and seems jolly in their work and the toiletries - they're only bloody Neal's Yard!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chubbychubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks for taking your time to write this lovely review.
We are very proud of our hotel and location and I'm really glad you enjoyed it
I really hope to be able to welcome you back soon again

Best regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was an overall excellent stay at Hotel J. Location is great with lovely views at the waterfront and close to the sailing club as well as to the ferry boat terminal (you can use either the boat or bus/taxi towards the city center) which I would recommend if the weather is reasonable. The relaxing decor fits well with the location. Staff was very pleasant too, I would recommend staying at Hotel J!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1elou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this nice review
I'm glad you were satisfied with your stay at Hotel J and happy for your recommendation
I hope we will be able to welcome you again if you will be visiting Stockholm in the future

Best regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is a great option for families staying a few days in Stockholm. The views are really pretty, it is quiet and friendly and the boat ride into the city centre is fun & easy. The rooms are well decorated, very clean and spacious and if you opt for a balcony/sea view you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Sea View room on the top floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and your nice words about our hotel.
I'm glad you had a nice stay and hope we can welcome you again next time you will be in Stockholm

Kind regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful location at the coast close to Stockholm, good connections to the city by bus or boat, very stylish interior, spacious rooms, friendly personnel helping us with any of our questions. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and your recommendation
I'm happy you liked our venue and hope to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm again

Best regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A New England style hotel that is conducive to relaxing either on the water, in the gardens, in front of the fire or in your room. Wood is used throughout the buildings including in the rooms lending a "cruising yacht" air to the place. It is modern, clean and functional without being cold. Staff are professional as well as friendly and helpful. WLAN is free and the signal is available everywhere in the hotel. Breakfast...it is all there. SOFO or Shopping or Theatre or Museums or Galleries or just coffee? Just a ferry ride away or 10min by bus if you are in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your lovely review
I'm really glad you enjoyed our venue and our service.
Your nice words describes our hotel so well
I really hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm

Best regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just spent a couple days to tour Stockholm with our kids and had a fantastic time at the Hotel J. It has some of the most beautiful views of Stockholm harbor you can find anywhere, a fantastic restaurant and the most friendly competent staff. The rooms had plenty of space, and beautifully decorated in a maritime theme, consistent with the rest of the hotel design.

We chose this hotel because we didn't want to deal with the traffic in downtown Stockholm and it has both excellent bus and water taxi service into and out of the city which takes about 15 minutes and runs every 20-30 minutes. It was perfect for what we wanted to do.

The food at the restaurant and the breakfast (which was included) was fantastic as well, with classic Swedish cuisine as well as other general menu items.

We only had 2 days there but wish we could have 2 weeks or more. In the summer it looks like a great place to rent a sailboat and have a blast. You should definitely pick this hotel if you want the best Stockholm has to offer...its a real gem

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if it's available...the view is great! This hotel is also very eco-friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHotelJ, Chef at Hotel J, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed our Hotel, the restaurant and our surrounding
We are really lucky to be in such a wonderful place and so close to the city centre
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future

Kind regards
Maurizio Barberis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,277 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,585 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,921 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Property: Hotel J
Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County, Sweden - Nacka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing