We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uninspired and pretentious” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yasuragi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yasuragi
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Uninspired and pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a two night conference stay here, which was a mixed experience. The hotel was just fine, and the conference facilities was good, but the food and the policies were far from good. I had a (bland and boring) dinner in the a la carte restaurant, and were mistakenly given the "private guest" menu, where a main course cost 150SEK and a dessert about 100SEK. However, when I was presented with the bill, the prices had more than doubled because I was registered as a conference guest. Now a main course suddenly cost 325SEK and a dessert more than 250SEK. Crazy. Also, the food served was never more than mediocre and sometimes inedible (at one point, seared tuna that had grown a crust from staying out in air for too long). Also, there were a lot of pretentious signs about soulfulness and stuff like that everywhere - the one I liked the best was the one about "meatless mondays" being enforced on the hotel, on the same monday that I was served (an ok) steak in the restaurant. All in all, the hotel i decent and I guess the spa is nice (never went), but the food and the prices pulls the place down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kvasbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Yasuragi, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Sir.
Thank you for taking your time telling us about your experience. Of course this is not acceptable. It is of great value for us to get input from our guests. We have now talked to the involved personnel to investigate what went wrong and reassure that this will not be repeated.

Best regards
Daniel Pettersson
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    350
    182
    74
    29
See reviews for
226
709
44
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Yasuragi is a relaxing oasis, at reasonable travel-distance from Stockholm city center, situated on a wooded slope with a fine wiew over the sailing lanes to town. Yasuragi is first and foremost a spa, rather than a hotel. The prime value of the stay is the stay itself, the ambience, and the array of treatments and services offered.
The interiors are designed in Japanese-inspired serenity (with regular chairs tables and beds, though). The Japan-styled bath has a good tempered swimming pool and a mite too tepid) warm baths, with a wonderful view.
Food is reasonable, but not exceptional (personally, I find that the quality of rice, tea and chopsticks are the weakest links).
A purist Japan-enthusiast may find Yasuragi a far cry from the Japanese Unzen it tries to emulate. But I think the experience is worth the while all the same.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were 7 people meeting as a kick of for the coming business season. We arrived with no agenda and left with quite an extensive to do list. Mission completed. Thats probably what Yasuragi suits the best. The baths, the out door heated pools, the saunas.....all serve to bring visitors in a relaxed mood. The restaurant was ok in terms of service minded staff and cuisine but the interior design is very straight and cold. Guests are expected to spend the evening in their pyjama styled kimonos. Very relaxing, a bit akward but works quite allright.
Rooms in the new wing were excellent with a stunning sea view. The suite 618 is a hit.
Would I go back for a romantic weekend with my wife ? No.
Would I go back for a retreat, a working session or just a clean weekend? yes, indeed.

Room Tip: 618 is recommended but all rooms in the same wing are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

The drive up into the mountains amidst the trees lies this beautiful hotel... wooden interiors, polite and soft spoken staff, spa aromas float in the air... the have the Japanese atmosphere to the T.

A little on the expensive side but there is an outdoor heated pool, that one can use amidst the mountain snow and fresh crisp air.. a piece of heaven!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

For what we paid for one over night for two persons at this hotel, we could travel to spain all inclusive for a week! (but one person only of course)
It was nothing special, not the rooms, nor the pool or the building or even dinner (Tapenyakki)
The only special thing about this spa was the warm water outdoor pools and that's it!
If you are ready to pay this much just to experience that, then it's your decision.. I wasn't!
When we were there was the midterm school off also and it was children everywhere, I mean how can you even call it spa with screaming children tearing the place apart!
The building itself was very tasteless and the activities( we participated in 3 of them) were so full that you could hardly find somewhere to stand.
I'd give 4 out of 10 to tapenyaki dinner.
we got half an hour treatment for 4 times more the price of what you can get everywhere else and it was really nothing special. nothing better than a chineese usual massage shop!
And the guy was in such a hurry like his time was so worthy because he was " a good one " but not my money!
I wouldn't go back there. I know way better ways to spend this much on!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was our 4th stay at Yasuragi Hasselunden. This time for a day package. Our last stay was in December 2010 and I must say food quality has much improved. This makes the included lunch a very nice experience that complement the Japanese atmosphere well. The rest of the facilities are almost the same as they were and delightfully relaxing.

New hot springs and an outside sauna are being build and that causes quite a lot of noise around the existing hot springs outside, not to mention safety hazards. Worked hammering, loosing spikes in the pool -I witnessed that- and hovering around the water with electric drills/saws seems to me pretty dangerous especially when it is -17 and slippery...

Just quick tip if you want to avoid kids running around when you are trying to relax. Yasuragi is only accepting children during a few weeks in summer, check their website for the exact dates (look fr a Yasuragi Kids link). I must say it is a really fun and different family outing if you have children. We tested it a few years ago.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xpat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I was quite sceptic before arrival due to many negative reviews, but fortunately it turned out great. I actually loved the whole experience! It could have been a bit cheaper, but still...it was my first visit to Stockholm so why not indulge a little bit?!
I loved the pool, the loungers, the saunas, the whole body washing procedure, free fruit and tea, huge delicious breakfast, the whole experience of teppanyaki dinner. The room was tiny but nice with great views of forest. Try getting their by ferry and take a walk through the forest to the hotel . so beautiful. The views from the restaurant terrace were simply stunning.
OK, the staff is a bit distant, but I didn't bother. Would have been nice if they informed us about spa procedure already when checking in. It also seemed like they found it a bit of a burden to give information about japanese bathing procedure in English (which you absolutely must know, otherwise is no use going there). During my visit (in September) there were workers all around the place as they are building new pools outside...not very loud though. It should really add to the experience once their job is completed.
All in all I'd say it was a great experience. I'd go again if I had the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel J
#1 of 4 in Nacka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Skepparholmen Nacka
#1 of 1 in Saltsjo-Boo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yasuragi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasuragi

Property: Yasuragi
Address: 6 Hamndalsvagen, Nacka 132 81, Sweden (Formerly Yasuragi Hasseludden, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Yasuragi 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yasuragi is a peaceful oasis where you can enjoy Japanese baths, activities and treatments as well as faboulous meals in the Teppanyaki or Tokyo restaurants. An overall experience inspired by the best from Japan. Go here by car or bus, or enjoy a boat trip through Stockholm's stunning archipelago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yasuragi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yasuragi Hasseludden Hotel Nacka
Yasuragi Hasseludden Stockholm
Yasuragi Hasseludden Hotel Stockholm
Yasuragi Stockholm County, Sweden - Nacka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing