We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute find-already planning on returning!!”

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the banks of the canal, directly opposite the Ibis Hotel, the Waterside Restaurant and Bar is Shipley's secret retaurant.In its idyllic location, the restaurant offers a range of British dishes to suit every taste and appetite. The food is locally sourced and high quality and the dishes are freshly cooked to order. With the opportunity to eat and drink 'alfresco' in the covered courtyard on warmer days, there really is no better place to dine out in the area. Come and discover for yourself. Brunch available for light snacks, Coffee and a range of Teas for a leisurely drinks by the canal.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“last minute find-already planning on returning!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

we visited Shipley for my birthday weekend. after a bit of google we found great reviews for waterside restaurant and decided to give it a go. the staff were welcoming, the fairy lights made it feel warm and intimate. I had the rib-eye steak and it was the best I've ever had. Medium rare, tender and perfect! We were the last ones in the restaurant and a great time talking to the chef and tassy and isaac. Thank you for the birthday drink! We will be back! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Sarah,
Really pleased you found us on Google and decided to dine with us. It was great to meet you and we are really pleased you liked the ambiance we have created.
The steaks are delicious as you say. Our food is locally sourced and top quality.
Hope you had a great birthday. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    79
    21
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tuesday Night Is Steak-Night.!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Seek and you will find.....a genuine Gem.! James and Gilly make fabulous food and a fabulous welcome seem like second nature.

This was my second visit, and for sure the consistency of welcome and the most flavourful steak are without doubt.

Ribeye steak (HUGE), chips 'shrooms and a glass of House Merlot for £12 is all the food you will need, for less than you could expect to pay in many an eatery. The Local beef is for sure the key to your enjoyment, and complemented by the wine....I easily found space for more ;-)

Bring your Friends, Bring your Girl-friend (if the wife doesn't mind) and tell everyone that you have "Discovered" an Gem..

Cheers

Peajaey

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peajaey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Peajaey,
Thanks for your review and ringing endorsement for the Waterside. Our Tuesday steak night is becoming really popular, as it is such a fantastic deal. In fact last Tuesday we were unable to accommodate everybody but fortunately the people who couldn’t get in booked to come back the next day.
As you say, we do not skimp on quality and it is all locally sourced. The house wine is quality too.
Really pleased you discovered us and want everyone else to seek us out too.
Look forward to welcoming you back again…and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch in the sun”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a fantastic lunch at the Waterside. Great choice of sandwiches, the steak was excellent as was the welcome and service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for your review Bernadette. We are really pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. Sadly we have not had a great deal of sun recently so let’s hope things improve so people can sit outside in our covered courtyard. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Tucked away by the canal in Shipley, this intimate restaurant is a real hidden gem. The food, well prepared and beautifully presented, and sourced from local supplies for extra bonus points, is modern British with a healthy dose of West Yorkshire thrown in for good measure (hearty portions, good gravy!).

The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, the staff are efficient and attentive without being overbearing, the wine list is good and there is a welcome lack of pretension.

It's great to have a place on the doorsteps of Shipley, Saltaire and Baildon. I would recommend the locals who haven't yet ventured to Wharfe Street give it a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeeves76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Jeeves,
Thanks so much for giving us such a great review. We strive for everything you mention so it is great to hear that we achieved it on your visit.

We really appreciate you recommending us to people in the area. We have a really picturesque location but we are hidden away, as you say, so we rely on people like you to spread the word.

Look forward to seeing you again soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Leeds and Bradford take note!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a excellent evening, the food was outstanding. Lovely atmosphere and the Chef's who we spoke with after our meal were friendly. Recommend highly!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Nicola M,

What a great headline. Did James tell you that we were finalist in the Yorkshire Evening Post Oliver awards for the best suburban restaurant? We were very proud as we were competing against some of the well-established and renowned restaurants in Leeds.

Thanks so much for recommending us. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing