We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem!”

Waterside Bistro & Bar
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$42
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on the banks of the canal, directly opposite the Ibis Hotel, the Waterside Restaurant and Bar is Shipley's secret retaurant.In its idyllic location, the restaurant offers a range of British dishes to suit every taste and appetite. The food is locally sourced and high quality and the dishes are freshly cooked to order. With the opportunity to eat and drink 'alfresco' in the covered courtyard on warmer days, there really is no better place to dine out in the area. Come and discover for yourself. Brunch available for light snacks, Coffee and a range of Teas for a leisurely drinks by the canal.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have been to this restaurant on many occasions now, and every single time, the food and service have been exemplary! I've sampled many of the dishes now, but my favourite is definitely the belly pork.

Gilly is an absolute diamond, and such a welcoming host. The setting of the restaurant is just wonderful beside the canal, and the outdoor area is beautiful on an evening with twinkly fairy lights, comfortable chesterfield sofas, and even fluffy blankets for when there's a chill in the air.

It's all of the little personal touches as a family run business, rather than a chain, which make Waterside so perfect. We'll be back very soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjtafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Mjtafa,
Thanks for a fabulous review. It really does make everyone feel proud when we get such great comments. As you say, we are a family run business and we care enormously that everyone has a great experience when they visit the Waterside.
By the way, the belly pork is my favourite too! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 259 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped here for a drink on a sunny evening and with plenty of outdoor space, found somewhere to sit and watch the goings on both in pub and also across river in park. Good choice of beer, I enjoyed the Saltaire Blonde!

Thank XHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi XHarry,
Think you may have reviewed the wrong place as we are next to the canal. However I am sure that if you visited us you would enjoy the picturesque scenery too sitting in our covered courtyard next to the barges. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This family run restaurant is inviting and welcoming. The food was top notch and worth every penny. Staff so helpful and there to help. Will be visiting again very soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonyamcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks for a lovely review Sonya. We really appreciate it and are really happy you enjoyed the Waterside experience. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We just found this little restaurant on a walk down the canal and so glad we did. Stater chicken livers in caramelised onion mash, what lovely flavors and to be honest I could have had a larger portion as a main course. Then steak and home made thick chips with caramelised baked baby tomatoes. One of the best properly grilled steaks we have had in a long time. . Grilled to our liking of Rare and just sizzled on the out side. We didn't do a dessert as we were to full!
We had two pints of larger as it was a hot sunny evening and we sat on the terrace to eat. Yes we will be going back. Recommended to all our friends and family. And the price excellent.. No complaints at all

Thank Issie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Issie,
Thanks for your fantastic review.
So pleased you found us and really enjoyed the Waterside experience. As you said it is nice and intimate with a lovely covered terrace where you can eat outside in a lovely picturesque setting next to the canal.
James and his team are delighted you said it was one of the best steaks you have had. We use one of the longest established butchers in Bradford for our meat and it is of the highest quality.
It is great that you will be back and will be recommending the Waterside to your friends and family. Our reputation is really starting to build thanks to you and our other customers.
Like you, there are a lot of people who walk along the canal and look across. As you will have discovered it is only a couple of hundred yards to walk over the bridge to get to us on the other side.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When I arrived and looked at the menu the prices were higher than I expected but the food was fantastic and genuinely deserved the price tag attached to it. This was one of the best meals I have ever had. Our enjoyment was enchanced by the lovely staff team at the Waterside.

We have also enjoyed a great evening at the 'My Newt' comedy. A decent line up of comedians and the entry fee includes a bowl of Gilly's chilli. Keep an eye out for these events.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Bistro & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Edward,
Really pleased you believe we offer good value for money. We source everything locally, where we can, and use top quality independent suppliers. To say it is one of the best meals you have ever had is an amazing accolade and it has made James and his team very proud. It also reinforces our approach of never compromising on quality.
Thanks also for mentioning our friendly front of house team. As a family run business we are always genuinely pleased to see people and want them to have a really great experience.
Pleased you have also been to our comedy night. It is a great night out and the best way to banish the Monday blues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterside Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Waterside Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing