We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location with a great atmosphere”

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on the banks of the canal, directly opposite the Ibis Hotel, the Waterside Restaurant and Bar is Shipley's secret retaurant.In its idyllic location, the restaurant offers a range of British dishes to suit every taste and appetite. The food is locally sourced and high quality and the dishes are freshly cooked to order. With the opportunity to eat and drink 'alfresco' in the covered courtyard on warmer days, there really is no better place to dine out in the area. Come and discover for yourself. Brunch available for light snacks, Coffee and a range of Teas for a leisurely drinks by the canal.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very friendly place. Sat outside for our meal which was excellent. Lovely sophisticated place. Would recommend this restaurant because it is value for money, excellent food with great menu. Great service and definitely a hidden treasure of a place. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Elaine,
Thanks for your review. We couldn't have put it better ourselves. We really do strive to ensure everyone enjoys their experience at the Waterside. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 238 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I am currently working in shipley for 6 months and have been to this restaurant every week since my arrival sometimes twice or more!!! The staff are always welcoming and friendly and can never do enough for you. The food has been outstanding and the Tuesday steak nights are guaranteed to be the best steak you'll find in shipley! There is a regular table of 6 to 8 of us and as a diverse group we have never had a single complaint would recommend to all!

2  Thank lyssa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Lyssa,
Thanks for being so loyal to the Waterside, we really enjoy your company. As you say the steaks are delicious and the Tuesday nights are becoming very popular as word spreads, especially as it is a terrific deal too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Come here every Tuesday for steak night. Always an amazing service. Very happy with every little detail. Thank you all.

1  Thank Ensomnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Ensomnia,
Thanks for writing your review. It’s always great to see you on a Tuesday and we are really pleased you want to keep coming back for more. Thanks for being a great customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Chose this restaurant on the basis of on-line reviews and was more than pleasantly surprised with the range and quality of the menu. Having driven up from London, our family group needed somewhere to un-wind with good food and a relaxed atmosphere and we got that - and more. Great location - and great staff, who laid up a table for us outside overlooking the canal. My only slight moan was that their Early Bird menu offer (which is really good value) was restricted to a considerably shortened menu, which wasn't made clear on their website, so we ended up choosing from the main menu. Food however was excellent - accompanied with some well chosen wines from a really reasonably priced list. We were all pleased that we don't live any closer, as it would fast become our regular "local" restaurant, but would definitely go again if in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MIKE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Mike,
Thanks for taking time to post a review. Really pleased you enjoyed the Waterside experience and we were able to help you unwind after the long journey.
Apologies for the confusion about the Early Bird. The initials (EB) are on the website after the dishes to which it applies. However we have taken your comments on board and made the letters bold to make it clearer.
Unlike you, we do wish you lived closer so we could welcome you on a regular basis. I suppose HS2 will be with us in about 20 years’ time so you’ll have no excuse then!
Look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

BBQ for 40 primary school teachers over 2 lunchtimes followed by 3 hours of training. What a perfect choice. Setting is wonderful great hospitality and food. If you are looking for a training venue with a difference take a very good look here. We will be back

Thank EnglandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi EnglandMick,
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We were delighted to host the training sessions and we are really pleased they went so well.
As you say, we are the perfect place for meetings, training and events.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing