We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ford House Farm, Shipley”
Review of Ford House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ford House Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Ford House Farm is a welcoming place, guests' requirements are more than adequately catered for and the facilities are well above average. Altogether a thoroughly recommended experience and we hope to return there at a future date to renew the acquaintance of Val and Mike. We had come to do a spot of research into my Moravian ancestry at Fulneck and that proved to be very rewarding as well. I wish we still lived in the north.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here on the way to a week in Leeds to watch a cricket match; I love a bargain and, as my wife would testify, often leaves us staying in some awful places. Not this time!

On arrival we were met by the genial landlady and her collies, we threw the ball for them to fetch a couple of times (the dogs, not the landlady) and we had made friends for the rest of our stay. The chickens didn't need asking, but moved out of our way as we headed from the car to the house; they wandered off, presumable to provide some eggs for our breakfast the next morning.

The setting was wonderful with a view of the rolling Yorkshire countryside from the bedroom windows. The reception rooms and staircases were tastefully decorated and it is no surprise that there are numerous photographs on their website (www.fordhousefarmbedandbreakfast.co.uk).

The room was large with a quality, full sized shower in a sizeable bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was 'pretty' according to the wife. There was even enough room for a comfortable double seater sofa to sit on and relax.

The chickens had done a fine job of producing eggs for our breakfast. The following morning we had full English breakfasts using quality produce, I have had many B&B visits ruined by the use of cheap breakfast ingredients over the years - not here.

This place is an ideal stopover for those flying form nearby Leeds/Bradford airport and the taxi driver used by the proprietors is a pleasant and endearing chap with good knowledge of the local area. I would also stay here as a base for a walking holiday if I had any inclination to take part in one.

I loved this place and I'll be back...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlo_Splash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Very comfortable and spacious room, brilliant breakfasts and friendly hosts make Ford House Farm a great place to stay. Great location and secure off-road parking. My second visit and I hope to return again. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a wonderful guest house.Beautifully appointed bedroom, lovely hosts in Val and Mike and a great breakfast. While staying there we had car problems. Mike took time off and organized a friend to come around and solve our car problems. I can't recommend Ford House highly enough. This is a wonderful example of north country hospitality
Helen and Brian from Down Under

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

this is my second trip to ford house farm for a family wedding .looking forwould to going again next year The rooms are excellant everything you could wish for and more .Breakfast good Micheal and Val are excellent hosts very friendly 5*****

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have stayed at Ford House Farm 3 times now - for business but I am returning soon for pleasure, it is that good. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and the shower the best (and I stay in lots of B&Bs around the country). What I am really returning for though is the care and service that Mike and Val provide. Second to none. Do choose this place to stay!

Room Tip: I have only slept in the downstairs (double) room but it is very spacious and I did enjoy the view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a family 'do'. This is especially good. Everything is thought of, bottles of water, sewing kits, scissors, even small folding tables in the rooms for the laptop, big comfy sofas in the rooms, luxurious showers and bathrooms, and loads of space in the rooms. Breakfast is quality, will keep you going all day. lovely friendly people and a homely feel.
Ford house is situated in a quiet lane and overlooks a lovely valley, the gardens are beautiful, and all this 6 miles from the centre of Bradford.
Just drive slowly along the Ottley Road to spot the oddly positioned Buck Lane sign, it's high up and the lane very tiny.
We will definitely use this again if we are in the area, and would recommend it to anyone. We have stayed in many hotels and never had anything this good even when staying in so called 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shipley
830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vivo Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford House Farm

Address: Buck Lane | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range: £78 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ford House Farm Bed & Breakfast, located in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside area of Shipley, awarded four stars for quality and silver award by the English Tourist Board, is run by the owners,There is also the world Heritage site such as Salts Mill. Local restaurant within 5 minutes walk,. Train links to Ilkley, close to Harrogate with the famous Bettys tea room.Ilkley moor and the Yorkshire dales all within a short drive. It's a very relaxed house and feel free to come and go as you please Michael and Valerie Padley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ford House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ford House Farm Shipley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing