We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Ford House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ford House Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in.
I was away from home on a course and wanted some peace and quiet to be able to study - and couldnt have wished for a more friendly, peaceful and relaxing haven. The surroundings are beautiful, the owners warm and welcoming and the room was outstanding - I think everything was thought about including the lovely toiletries and dressing gowns. The breakfast was definitely substantial and well cooked and kept me going all day. I would love to return someday and have a holiday here with my husband.
Thanks to the owners for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jansim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear jansim Thank you for your review we were glad you enjoyed your stay at Ford House Farm and hope you arrived home safely
Regards
Michael & VAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

A wonderful stay in such beautiful surroundings! This really is a gem of a place, we stayed for one night and our very spacious room, which overlooked the stunning moors, was equipped with everything you needed. The attention paid to every small detail was evident, our room was spotlessly clean and the luxurious bathroom equipped with 5-star facilities. Thank you Val and Michael for your hospitality and for welcoming us into your home. It was our first trip To Yorkshire but certainly won't be our last, we can't wait to return to Ford House Farm.
Bev & Derek Crouchman

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear BevC1959
Thank you for taking the time to review Ford house farm and happy that you enjoyed your short break and hope that you will visit again next time you are in the area
Kind Regards
Michael & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Second visit. Still highest standards. Lovely Yorkshire location. Large, very clean comfortable rooms including luxurious bathroom facilities. Breakfast the best ever. Having stayed in other guest houses in the UK, this is by far the best. Val and Michael are the friendliest of hosts. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Baildon's best kept secret.

Room Tip: Have stayed in two different rooms - both excellent. Friends stayed in a third room which they loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

my partner and i stayed for one night in November 2012 The buildings and surrounding areas are really lovely There are horses and chickens and lots of wildlife around The house and the room we were presented with was grand There had been no expense spared and there was everything you need for a good night or nights stay There was a large bedroom with lots of room to hang your clothes ect the views were beautiful out of the large double window The bathroom was excellent with a shower big enough for two and with all the accsessories, shower gel,bath robes ect The breakfast was really good with as much as you want to eat The very best thing was the really welcoming host and hostess Michael and Val We will definately be back Thankyou SEAN & ANTHONY

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear seanmarcus
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review Ford house farm ,We were glad you enjoyed the short visit and hope to see you again
Kind Regards
Michael & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Ford House Farm is ideally located for visits to Bradford, Shipley and the surrounding area situated down a narrow lane, there is ample parking. This place is perfect for exploring the nearby moors and Bradford has much to offer.

The rooms are lovely and the whole place is kept very clean, wifi is available should you wish to access the internet. The breakfasts served are truly outstanding, no supermarket bacon used here and it makes the start of the day go really well.

Having stayed here more than once it is nice to find the standards set by Michael and Val are always consistenty maintained, the place is a real gem.

Robert from Watford

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed her whilst on a vitsit to Saltair. Interesting room, hearty breakfast. Could hear neighbouring resident snoring like a horse which was a bit off putting and their radio too early in the morning and late at night. Took longer to get to sleep than normal. Rooms is a weird mix of chintz and modern bathroom - the two dont seem to sit too comfortably but the room is huge so on average its okay.

Would nevertheless return - if Val will have us! Snoring wasnt her fault!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeddediah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Val and Michael are courteous and welcoming when you check in to this beatuifully-furnished farm house. Every guest room is superbly appointed with luxurious chairs, settees, general furnishing and facilities. The en-suites are sparkling and fresh, with a stack of fluffy towels and expensive soaps and shower gels. There is always a work table for we who have to use our laptops and WI-FI is on tap. Breakfast has to be encountered to believe - everything and more that you could wish for, served in a delightful, cheery room. No more butter-in-packets, no more impossible-to-open-marmalade, everything served as it should be in little pats and pots. This place is a SERIOUSLY good B & B - I just wish I'd discovered it years ago. This is a quiet, off-road environment within an easy stroll of the river and canal. There is nothing to criticise, unless you object to the occasional chicken or horse showing you an interest! Pete Fairweather

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
57 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford House Farm

Address: Buck Lane | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range: £78 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ford House Farm Bed & Breakfast, located in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside area of Shipley, awarded four stars for quality and silver award by the English Tourist Board, is run by the owners,There is also the world Heritage site such as Salts Mill. Local restaurant within 5 minutes walk,. Train links to Ilkley, close to Harrogate with the famous Bettys tea room.Ilkley moor and the Yorkshire dales all within a short drive. It's a very relaxed house and feel free to come and go as you please Michael and Valerie Padley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ford House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ford House Farm Shipley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing