We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Ford House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ford House Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Second time we have stayed here. Each time excellent. Very clean. Large, comfortable rooms with roomy, practical showers. Breakfast - wide choice including homemade marmelade. Had grapefruit and was pleased to see that I had been given a grapefruit spoon - attention to detail as usual. Owners work hard to make everything is 'just so'. I really recommend it, Buck Lane is easy to miss but it's on the main road so you can't really get lost. There's a pub on the main road which does good meals.
The house itself is well away from the traffic noise. Views are brilliant.
I'm disappointed that someone gave them only 1 as a rating but it seems that's probably because the owners prefer you to arrive by 9pm as they get up very early. We found them both friendly and flexible. We were given help with our luggage and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor one to save walking up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your kind reviw, We were very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Guest house and hope you visit again when you are next in the area
Kind Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
82
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I booked this hotel for my wife and son on a trip to see about his university placement. I got a phone call at 2055 saying its Ford House Farm you're supposed to be staying here tonight. I said yes my wife and son were on their way and last time I spoke to my wife they had got held up and when i spoke to her she was at Trowell services. Thats about two hours away he said you better tell them to book somewhere else. He then started to rant about something else at which point i decided to hang up as i was more concerned that my wife and son now had nowhere to stay. I would like to point out that another family run hotel did come to our rescue and wife and son had a lovely stay and we will be returning many times to that hotel. Ford House Farm its your loss not ours. As we never got to experience anything about the hotel i can not comment on value, sleep quality, cleanliness etc.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank D1LL1GAF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear D1LL1GAF60
Thank you for your review .When you book FORD HOUSE FARM you booked to check in at 4.00pm our check in times are between 4.00pm and 8.00pm unless other arrangements are made ,We had been waiting 5hrs for a check in or a phone call ,We are not a Hotel so we do not have a night porter to allow people to book in at midnight
Had we had the contact number of the guest we could have worked the problem out
Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We arrived in deep snow and were met by the owner who helped us down the ice covered steps and later ensured that the path to our car was safe! Our room was large, clean and equipped with everything needed, including sofa, folding table and internet connection details. The shower room was immaculate with plenty of toiletries and two dressing gowns. Breakfast was provided at the time you wanted and was cooked to perfection. In addition to a full english, fruit, cereal, toast, jams (no plastic pots) were provided. As we were going to a nearby wedding after lunch and the fact that the weather was poor we asked if we could stay in the room till midday - no problem. To sum up, every effort was made to ensure that we were looked after and therefore we offer our thanks for their hospitality

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiJeKford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear MiJeKingswinford Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the weather was poor for a wedding but we did get the drive cleared of snow ,We hope next time you visit the weather will be a fine
Kind Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in.
I was away from home on a course and wanted some peace and quiet to be able to study - and couldnt have wished for a more friendly, peaceful and relaxing haven. The surroundings are beautiful, the owners warm and welcoming and the room was outstanding - I think everything was thought about including the lovely toiletries and dressing gowns. The breakfast was definitely substantial and well cooked and kept me going all day. I would love to return someday and have a holiday here with my husband.
Thanks to the owners for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jansim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear jansim Thank you for your review we were glad you enjoyed your stay at Ford House Farm and hope you arrived home safely
Regards
Michael & VAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

A wonderful stay in such beautiful surroundings! This really is a gem of a place, we stayed for one night and our very spacious room, which overlooked the stunning moors, was equipped with everything you needed. The attention paid to every small detail was evident, our room was spotlessly clean and the luxurious bathroom equipped with 5-star facilities. Thank you Val and Michael for your hospitality and for welcoming us into your home. It was our first trip To Yorkshire but certainly won't be our last, we can't wait to return to Ford House Farm.
Bev & Derek Crouchman

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear BevC1959
Thank you for taking the time to review Ford house farm and happy that you enjoyed your short break and hope that you will visit again next time you are in the area
Kind Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowupland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Second visit. Still highest standards. Lovely Yorkshire location. Large, very clean comfortable rooms including luxurious bathroom facilities. Breakfast the best ever. Having stayed in other guest houses in the UK, this is by far the best. Val and Michael are the friendliest of hosts. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Baildon's best kept secret.

Room Tip: Have stayed in two different rooms - both excellent. Friends stayed in a third room which they loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

my partner and i stayed for one night in November 2012 The buildings and surrounding areas are really lovely There are horses and chickens and lots of wildlife around The house and the room we were presented with was grand There had been no expense spared and there was everything you need for a good night or nights stay There was a large bedroom with lots of room to hang your clothes ect the views were beautiful out of the large double window The bathroom was excellent with a shower big enough for two and with all the accsessories, shower gel,bath robes ect The breakfast was really good with as much as you want to eat The very best thing was the really welcoming host and hostess Michael and Val We will definately be back Thankyou SEAN & ANTHONY

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear seanmarcus
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review Ford house farm ,We were glad you enjoyed the short visit and hope to see you again
Kind Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
3.0 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.0 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford House Farm

Property: Ford House Farm
Address: Buck Lane | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ford House Farm Bed & Breakfast, located in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside area of Shipley, awarded four stars for quality and silver award by the English Tourist Board, is run by the owners,There is also the world Heritage site such as Salts Mill. Local restaurant within 5 minutes walk,. Train links to Ilkley, close to Harrogate with the famous Bettys tea room.Ilkley moor and the Yorkshire dales all within a short drive. It's a very relaxed house and feel free to come and go as you please Michael and Valerie Padley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ford House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ford House Farm Shipley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing