We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cecil Cotter Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ford House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ford House Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
1 review
“Cecil Cotter Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great place to stay,had a great welcome from Michael & Val,Our room was quite and very clean and spacious and a nice touch of 2 bottles of water and tea making facilities in the room also we had free Wi Fi. The breakfast was something else and kept you going for the day,cant wait to stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Cecil C Thank you for for review we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Guest House and taking the time to write your review
Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
80
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

An excellent place to stay. Clean, spacious rooms with very tasteful accessories. The owners are very obliging and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was something else. A wonderful selection of cereals, grapefruit, and the full English kept me going till teatime.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear IainRobinson
Thank you for the kind review you placed it was good to meet you and hope you will stay again when visiting the area
Regards
Val & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

What can I say except that from the moment we were greeted when we arrived to the time we left the following day, we were made very welcome, so much so that it was like home from home. Our room (double, en suite) was roomy, well furnished and very comfortable. We were downstairs with French windows that opened onto a verandah. The views were lovely over the valley and we were visited by nuthatches, jays, a great spotted woodpecker (Val, the proprietor tells us there are three), plus all the usual little birds on the feeders in the garden. The two dogs and the horses were just as friendly as Michael and Val. Plenty of tea and coffee and the breakfast in the morning was to die for - we didn't eat again until the evening of our stay!!! Next time we need accommodation anywhere near, we'll certainly be in touch again. Thank you both, Mike and Val, for helping to make our visit a memorable one.

Room Tip: We were downstairs and the room was lovely, with great views. Our family were upstairs in a similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Fread S
Thank you for your kind review ,we were glad you enjoyed your short night stay while visiting to a party ,Yes the birds keep feeding and growing in numbers thanks again
Val & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here, our last visit was 2 years ago as a couple. This time we bought our 11 month old daughter with us and we believe Ford House Farm gets better and better! Great room with a huge sofa to sink into after a long day. Fresh milk and a basket of fruit is awaiting you upon your arrival. Lovely biscuits on the tea tray! Great bathroom with bath robes and quality soap, shower gel etc... The breakfast is to die for!!!!!! This will not be our last visit here. Can't believe the 1 rating as Val and MIchael go out of their way to help in anyway they can. Thank you for a fantastic short break.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear STAFFORDSHIREbe It was good to see you again ,and happy you enjoyed your stay with us ,Hope that will visit again when your next in the area
Regards
Val & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Best value B&B in Yorkshire
I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Shipley and surrounding areas. Michael and Val are the perfect hosts. I have used this hotel five times with my wife and elderly Mother and will be returning each and every time I visit the area. The rooms are spacious, clean and well presented with spectacular views. The showers are excellent with lots of hot water, shower robes and nice soft fluffy towels are available. The breakfast is first class, full English, toast and home-made marmalade, fresh fruit, cereals all available. Once you have tried this hotel you will return again and again.
Thank you Michael and Val for making our stay in Yorkshire perfect.
We will see you again

Room Tip: All rooms a very good. Two of the up-stair rooms have fantastic views over the moors.the third still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick33_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Mick 33_59 as always its good to have you stay at our guest house and talk with your mum about our marmalade making, glad you enjoyed your short stay and look forward to seeing you next year
Regards
Val & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Second time we have stayed here. Each time excellent. Very clean. Large, comfortable rooms with roomy, practical showers. Breakfast - wide choice including homemade marmelade. Had grapefruit and was pleased to see that I had been given a grapefruit spoon - attention to detail as usual. Owners work hard to make everything is 'just so'. I really recommend it, Buck Lane is easy to miss but it's on the main road so you can't really get lost. There's a pub on the main road which does good meals.
The house itself is well away from the traffic noise. Views are brilliant.
I'm disappointed that someone gave them only 1 as a rating but it seems that's probably because the owners prefer you to arrive by 9pm as they get up very early. We found them both friendly and flexible. We were given help with our luggage and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor one to save walking up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your kind reviw, We were very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Guest house and hope you visit again when you are next in the area
Kind Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I booked this hotel for my wife and son on a trip to see about his university placement. I got a phone call at 2055 saying its Ford House Farm you're supposed to be staying here tonight. I said yes my wife and son were on their way and last time I spoke to my wife they had got held up and when i spoke to her she was at Trowell services. Thats about two hours away he said you better tell them to book somewhere else. He then started to rant about something else at which point i decided to hang up as i was more concerned that my wife and son now had nowhere to stay. I would like to point out that another family run hotel did come to our rescue and wife and son had a lovely stay and we will be returning many times to that hotel. Ford House Farm its your loss not ours. As we never got to experience anything about the hotel i can not comment on value, sleep quality, cleanliness etc.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank D1LL1GAF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordval, Owner at Ford House Farm, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear D1LL1GAF60
Thank you for your review .When you book FORD HOUSE FARM you booked to check in at 4.00pm our check in times are between 4.00pm and 8.00pm unless other arrangements are made ,We had been waiting 5hrs for a check in or a phone call ,We are not a Hotel so we do not have a night porter to allow people to book in at midnight
Had we had the contact number of the guest we could have worked the problem out
Regards
Michael & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
3.0 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.0 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford House Farm

Property: Ford House Farm
Address: Buck Lane | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ford House Farm Bed & Breakfast, located in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside area of Shipley, awarded four stars for quality and silver award by the English Tourist Board, is run by the owners,There is also the world Heritage site such as Salts Mill. Local restaurant within 5 minutes walk,. Train links to Ilkley, close to Harrogate with the famous Bettys tea room.Ilkley moor and the Yorkshire dales all within a short drive. It's a very relaxed house and feel free to come and go as you please Michael and Valerie Padley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ford House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ford House Farm Shipley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing