We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, close to the city”
Review of Ford House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ford House Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, close to the city”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting relatives in the area. We drove up from the London area and were going to be late in arriving. This was easily accommodated by our hosts and we weren't made to feel that we were inconveniencing them at all. Our room was huge with a large sofa in it and as it was a corner room we had great views too. It was very peaceful and quiet, with no noisy neighbours in adjoining rooms which is brilliant as I am a very light sleeper. We had a lovely large walk-in shower and lots of towels too. The breakfast was lovely and having fresh milk in our room was a great touch. We will definitely stay here again when visiting family! Many thanks for Val and Michael for their warm and friendly welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardstravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
85
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Made very welcome by Val and Michael, a lovely room with great views, the breakfasts were made to order and of high quality, the location was relaxing and peaceful. We stayed 3 nights as part of a tour of England celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Our stay at Ford House Farm was a special treat as my family had farmed on the land there 170 years ago. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Ford House Farm for three nights as we were attending my nephew's Christening in Keighley (a few miles up the Aire valley). The location was beautiful and peaceful, and even the lightest of sleepers is bound to get a good night's sleep. The room was lovely, well furnished and spacious, and the walk-in shower was wonderful. The bathrobes were a nice touch! The breakfasts were well cooked and hearty - the poached eggs were particularly good - and the proprietors, Val and Michael, were very accommodating and friendly. It was also very good value for money. In short, it was a wonderful B&B, one of the best I have ever stayed in, and we'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for One night as we were attending a wedding locally. The room was spotless, large and comfortable with a beautiful view over the gardens and fields. Our hosts Val and Michael were welcoming and friendly. My wife had forgotten her hair straighteners and Val saved the day by providing her's and even assisted in the straightening process...above the call of duty I would say. We enjoyed a great breakfast the following morning and we were given lots of information regarding the area and help with our directions home. We will be back, well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martino915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I together with my sister and brother-in-law from Texas stayed for 3 nights in August, and from the moment we arrived, everything was just perfect.

Ford House Farm is ideally placed for trips to Bradford, Leeds, Saltaire, Ilkley, Skipton, Harrogate, Haworth and many other places of interest-not forgetting Leeds/Bradford airport.

The rooms are very large and comfortable with a settee, plenty of wardrobe space and a fabulous shower with lovely toiletries and bathrobes. We had lovely views overlooking fields with grazing horses and trees. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the rooms and each day, real fresh milk was provided, a special touch.

There is a marvellous patio area overlooking the fields, it includes plenty of seating, and a large table including a huge parasol.

The breakfasts were a real treat, there were so many options, it was difficult to decide what to have and the food was beautifully cooked and presented.

Val and Michael were perfect hosts. Apart from the pleasure of staying at their beautiful B & B, they were attentive and helpful and we so enjoyed their terrific sense of fun, there was always something to smile about when they were around.

My sister and her husband went back to Texas with many a tale to tell about Yorkshire hospitality, Thanks Mike and Val

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in order to visit friends, living nearby. Val welcomed us warmly, and showed us to our room. We could not have been more comfortable in the large twin room. The décor was charming and everything was spotlessly clean. 5 star breakfasts were on offer daily, with plenty of choices, and so well presented - excellent scrambled eggs! Val and Michael were so helpful with local information and directions. Though we spent most of our time with our friends, we really enjoyed a visit to the town of Saltaire... well worth a visit, as there is so much to see and do.
We shall definitely return to stay with our splendid hosts, Val & Michael !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds,
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for one night after a friends wedding at Hoyle Court,it was literally 3 mins walk away! Val had our room ready earlier than planned and took the time to show us around and how to work the gates and offered us local information. Room was amazing! Large spacious room with comfortable bed,large sofa and a patio door to wonderful outdoor seating, bathroom was lovely with lots of complementary products to use. Very quiet and had a great nights sleep and only just made it up in time for the amazing full English breakfast! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
427 reviews
3.6 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford House Farm

Property: Ford House Farm
Address: Buck Lane | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ford House Farm Bed & Breakfast, located in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside area of Shipley, awarded four stars for quality and silver award by the English Tourist Board, is run by the owners,There is also the world Heritage site such as Salts Mill. Local restaurant within 5 minutes walk,. Train links to Ilkley, close to Harrogate with the famous Bettys tea room.Ilkley moor and the Yorkshire dales all within a short drive. It's a very relaxed house and feel free to come and go as you please Michael and Valerie Padley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ford House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ford House Farm Shipley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing