We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real gem.”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We are just back from a wonderful stay here. The staff are so helpful and lovely, especially Ashley the owner, wonderful man. The room was stylish, modern, clean and easy to settle into. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit aplenty and a great cooked breakfast. In fact we would visit Shipley again JUST to stay at The Abbey Lodge Hotel. 10 out of 10!!!!

Room Tip: Room 504 was lovely, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewhitesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    201
    36
    9
    7
See reviews for
158
336
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co Derry N Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed @ Abbey Lodge Hotel with my sister in a twin room. It has a very inviting, clean and modern appearance with lavender growing in the garden. The staff were professional, cheerful, friendly, most helpful, well groomed with clean uniforms. I was down memory lane on a trip to Ilkley as I went to College there in the previous life and we visited Harrogate traveling in our own car.
Parking was provided free to the rear of the Hotel, safe and very convenient to the hotel entrance for carrying in the cases etc. Being on the top floor I had my case carried up for me, yet I didn't ask for help..........most observant staff and I was very grateful.
It is a very busy hotel as we discovered at Breakfast time, dining room packed ..........a very good sign.
We had our evening meal in Shipley, very happy with choice of restaurant.
It is a safe, clean environment, quiet area to go walkies. We had very good nights rest/sleep on 24th-26th July We were blessed with good weather and visited Ilkley and Harrogate both still hold their charms of more than 30 yrs ago !!!! The owner was most helpful advising us on our traveling arrangements to Ilkley and Harrogate.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room away from bars discos and any external noise ie restaurants/bars. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Excellent family run hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful - good sense of humour and very knowledgable. Breakfasts were superb. The rooms were spacious and the shower room was excellent. Car park at rear filled up very quickly but we had no trouble parking across the street. Very central in Shipley and handily placed for many Yorkshire attractions.
We had a very enjoyable short break at the hotel and can recommend it without any hesitation.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor which were very convenient for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Brilliant hotel, very modern and friendly feel to it. Staff were excellent nothing was too much for them. When we arrived we were welcomed by the owner of the business, Ashley. He gave us a nice little tour off the place then escorted us to our room. Which we beautiful, large comfy bed, flat screen T.V and a relaxing Jacuzzi (which i personally recommend.) Nice bar down stairs which was very reasonably priced with a relaxed atmosphere. In the morning, the full cooked breakfast was the best iv had in a while, fast service with a smile. We originally only booked for 1 night but decided to stay another night because of the good service and great value for money. Recommend to anybody staying in the area because i know i will be going again. Thanks Abbey Lodge for a fantastic stay

Room Tip: Pick one of the Jacuzzi rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is a wonderful little place. The reception area is small but nicely done, the corridors leading to your rooms are quite dark. However the room itself, was very very nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom likewise was really nice. We found the beds comfy, though the room was a little warm, and we had to open the window at night.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. And there is a small car park at the back. Unfortunately we weren’t asked our registration number when checking in, which meant that the people who we parked our cars behind, wouldn’t have had a clue whose car it was.

The breakfast was ok, there is a decent selection of cereals and jams etc.. the full English breakfast consisted of one sausage, two bacon, one fried egg, some mushrooms and tomatoes and toast. I’m sure you could ask for more if you wanted. Don’t however ask for vegetarian sausages… these were awful, I don’t know what they tasted like as they were so tough, I couldn’t bite off a piece!

When we stayed, there were a number of large groups of families staying as well, and the breakfast room was packed. So it is possible that when it is quieter, small details may be better.

We ate at the YOYO restaurant, which is just a short walk away, amazing food, and the hotel door card grants you a 10% discount at the restaurant!

We would definitely stay here again, but pick a little wiser on the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed at this Hotel last Saturday was lovely, we were greeted politely on arrival and managed to get an early check in at no extra cost, we paid the extra £5 for the Jacuzzi bath - 100% worth it, we had a large corner jacuzzi bath which was heaven! Breakfast was excellent, catered for everyone and included cooked breakfast, fruit cereals and toast, would deffo recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Some of the beds are standard double and some are really large so if you want a bigger bed then requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poollover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed there for one night whilst attending a wedding. Great value for money. Very clean, friendly with a great breakfast. Location was great, just a short walk to the train station. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyd500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
851 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
56 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
426 reviews
2.6 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing