We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food poisoning from the breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food poisoning from the breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Everything was great apart from the severe food poisoning from the breakfast,I eat one bit of Cumberland sausage and left the rest of the breakfast because it taste so bad. So if you thinking of staying in abbey lodge go somewere else for a nice WARM meal

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bksm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    191
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
152
326
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with the wife for a night. Choose the jacuzzi room. Room was left a tip. Jacuzzi was dirty not cleaned since last use. Room was nice but state that it was left in let the hotel down. Would stay again if room was cleaner but will be using the campanile off the m606 from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I've been coming to Bradford for many years on business and having stayed at most of the other hotels in the area would now only go elsewhere if the Abbey Lodge is full!

The management and staff are really welcoming and the rooms, bar and breakfast as good (or in most cases better!!) than the hotel's £100+ a night competitors.

Tip of the day - staying here gives you a discount at the Agrah Restaurant (best curry in town IMHO!!) - ask at reception for details

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed on 13th December for one night. We chose the hotel from reviews on trip advisor. We received exceptional service and the staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. We were genuinely made to feel at home. Way above average service.

The room was great with a jacuzzi bath, the breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and a well stocked bar, and all this for £60. Bargain!

Cannot believe some early reviews state the reception was surly. My experience was completely the opposite.

We were visiting saltaire and it is literally minutes away. We had a great curry at shimla spice so the whole weekend was a success.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Abbey Lodge Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilO1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at Abbey Lodge for one night at the weekend and it was lovely. The staff were so friendly and everybody was very keen to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The room was lovely and modern, comfy bed and great bathroom. This hotel is so clean and well presented and i would definitely recommend it to anyone. Lovely breakfast and at such good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

yep here we are again went to the abbey lodge again on the 7th of December for one night we took .son and our grand daughter with us. as it was her first time in a hotel she is only 5 and she really loved it. she loved the rooms and in the morning she really loved her breakfast . yep we had a lovely weekend has we were dishing out our Christmas cards and presents to our family's. we would highly recommend it very friendly we always come here when we are visiting family and friends .. .

Room Tip: we where all on the first floor level as wife not very good with too many stairs so was better for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnytench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Room was very nicely (modern) decorated and it was very clean and bathroom (with shower and tub) was spacious enough.
There is a free parking place, free wi-fi and room price included very good English breakfast.
There are couple of restaurants / pubs just down the road, further we did not investigate, as we stayed just one night while passing by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.6 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing