We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing all round”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Zaara's Restaurant

Zaara's Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 70 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing all round”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Having been hurriedly shown to our seats we were asked if we would like poppadoms. Knowing that there would be a charge we still said yes as we enjoy such a starter. The waitress then came back and asked if we'd like pickles with our poppadoms... Never in all our years of eating in many, many restaurants in and around Bradford have we been charged for pickles. So we were £4 down before we even considered our choices off the menu!
The starters were OK but over-priced for the size of the portions. We have had much better in other restaurants not a stone's throw away from Zaaras.
Whilst the main meal was tasty I was disappointed to find gristle in my chicken karahi.
So needless to say I doubt that we will be returning to this restaurant in a hurry

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry K, Owner at Zaara's Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review Elaine S. Sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We do have attentive staff who are keen to seat customers promptly with the minimum of fuss. Over the years Bradford Indian restaurants have built a reputation of including items for free. However, quite often the quality will be very poor for example watered down chutneys and stale poppadoms. Furthermore chutneys are quite often used over and over by different customers to avoid wastage. The times have changed as have customers’ expectations of a quality dining experience. We make our own chutneys using quality ingredients purchased from the wholesale fruit and vegetable market in Bradford. Our poppadoms are the best quality we can buy and they are cooked daily to ensure freshness. We cannot produce this quality without making a charge. In Bradford there is an abundance of Indian / Asian restaurants which cater to a wide variety of customers and budgets. Our restaurant produces quality food at an affordable price and we aim to continue doing this to the satisfaction of the majority of our customers. We do hope you dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    16
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
315 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our third visit to Zaara's, but the first in over a year, and , if anything, it was better than I had remembered. We had booked for an early table on a Saturday night and the choices on the menu and the food were wonderful. The service is possibly a little over attentive but it is certainly one of the best Indian restaurants in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry K, Manager at Zaara's Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. We try very hard to ensure our customers are happy with our food and service. Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
1 review
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We have been eating at Zaaras for many years and find the food to be excellent, just the right portions and great value for money. The food which is Punjabi (North India) is very tasty, the restaurant is nice and clean and the staff are always polite and friendly. The only negative for me is that when the restaurant is very busy the service can be a little slow but we have learned over the years that this is because the food is cooked to order. At least you know the food is being freshly prepared. We have never had a bad meal and will continue dining and supporting our local Indian restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janecro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry K, Manager at Zaara's Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for you review and we welcome your comments. We are addressing the service issue during busy times and I assure you service will improve in peak times with the changes we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I think i can say i was one of the first customers when Zaaras opened. We are still regulars to this day. Be it a romantic night out for us 2 or a party booking, Zaaras have never disappointed us. In fact, for the party booking the owner kindly arranged to open early as we had young children with us. I can honestly say i have never had a bad meal there and the service is excellent apart from once where they were a little too keen to serve our next course. I mentioned it to Harry the owner and ever since then, not a problem.
They are keen to keep progressing as the recent subtle changes in the menu have helped me discover brand new dishes i hadn't tried before.
I can't speak for other reviewers but everyone has a 'bad day' at certain times and i would ask them to reconsider and maybe give Zaaras another chance. I hope they will be as satisfied as i am.
In fact i'd like to thank Harry & his staff for making many nights out for me and my partner such an enjoyable occasion

Finally the pricing is excellent, the place is clean, the service friendly and attentive and polite.

Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry K, Owner at Zaara's Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you Ian for your kind comments. We try our very hardest to ensure that every single customer enjoys their dining experience with us. Our food is cooked fresh and therefore can take a little longer to prepare but you know that you are being served authentic and quality Indian food. Also as you know if there is a problem we attempt to quickly put it right to the satisfaction of our guests. We love serving you and long may it continue. Many thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you soon. Best wishes...Harry, family & staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic punjabi food for an 80th birthday celebration.Faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'd arranged a 3-course birthday meal at Zaara's and was NOT disappointed. Forty five guests had an amazing meal. The food was authentic, delicious ,hot and served on time. The portion sizes were great. The restaurant surroundings, atmosphere and service was excellent. The waitresses were attentive and very polite to our guests. Overall a completely faultless experience. I would recommend Zaara's if you wish to sample proper homemade punjabi food and also for catering for special functions. Thank you Harry for making my father's birthday party so memorable. We had such positive feedback from all of our guests regarding the food that we had. Well done.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Manjinder W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry K, Manager at Zaara's Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We had great pleasure in serving you and your guests art your father's 80th Birthday party. We look forward to seeing you all again in the very near future. All the best. Harry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaara's Restaurant also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Zaara's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing