We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUK! See the photos of bedbug powder, mould and dirt.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“YUK! See the photos of bedbug powder, mould and dirt.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I know you get what you pay for ... but how much should you pay for a mouldy shower basin; dirty bedroom walls; broken elevator; TV screen so dirty that you can write your name on it; caked dirt on bathroom floor and worst of all ....bed bug powder all over the wooden slats under the mattress and falling onto the carpet?

Before you say something like, "Must be making this up", No, I'm NOT exaggerating - See the photos. We had booked for 3 nights to visit local relatives and friends. We checked in late in the afternoon, quickly changed clothes and rushed out without really checking out the room or bathroom. When we got back later that night and put on the lights, we got a shock at the state of the room (See the photos) and complained to Vadim(?), the night receptionist, who did his best to be helpful. In brief, we were totally disgusted and left early the following morning after getting a full refund. Charlotte was extremely helpful and apologetic and gave us our money back. I must thank her for being one of the very few positives of this hotel.

Not sure where to begin without sounding like I'm making this up but I'll start with the worst part, which is the actual BED. We had a kingsize bed and at first we thought that the hotel didn't put big enough sheets on the bed. However, when we asked for sheets that fit, a staff person told us that the Ibis chain now has a policy not to have sheets covering the whole mattress, but only to cover the mattress topper, leaving the mattress bare. This begs the question of who else has been in contact with that mattress and what did they leave behind? Even more disgusting was the bed bug powder that I discovered in the morning. I couldn't work out what the white powder was that had dropped onto the carpet all around the bed, so I lifted the mattress and found a thick layer of white/grey powder all over the wooden frame. (see photo) When I asked about it at reception, I was told, "Oh, yes, we use that to control the bed bugs" .......!!! Enough said!! Yuk!!!

As for the BATHROOM: the walk-in shower had a ring of mould between the shower walls and the shower basin, along with a hole about one foot up from the shower floor, underneath the shower head. (Again, see the photos.) We assumed that there used to be some sort of overflow drain there and the cover was missing, leaving a rusty, dirty, gucky hole. There was caked brown dirt along the skirting (base) boards, behind the door and under the sill of the bathroom door. The hand-wash lotion was in a large, wall-mounted squeeze tube, which presumably should have been refilled between guests but was just about empty. Given the lack of cleanliness of the rest of the room and bathroom, I wondered how many other people had been squeezing that tube and whether it could have been cleaned but not refilled?

The BEDROOM walls were streaked with dirt, including on the wall above the headboard. Yes, I know that people can be careless with luggage and "ding" the walls leaving black scuff marks and dents in the plaster, but above the headboard of the bed .....? Dents and scratches are one thing but a spilled drink down the wall is something else and there's no excuse for it not being cleaned off. (again, see the photos.)

The lift (elevator) wasn't working properly and had finally stopped altogether when we returned home late on the Saturday night.

The corridor lights are on sensors, so that when you get out of the lift, only one section of the hallway is lit, leaving the rest of the corridor dark until you actually move into it, when the lights come on. Not sure that I'd feel comfortable if I was alone. I understand the energy conservation aspect of this but, from a security perspective, long hallways have to be well lit without dark nooks and crannies.

Again, you may say we are being too fussy but we have travelled to many countries, including India, Nepal, Africa and South America and this room was the most squalid and dirtiest that we've ever encountered. A "basic, no-frills" hotel room is one thing - a dirty hotel room is something completely different and is totally unacceptable. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: There isn't one. Go somewhere else. See the photos of dirt and bed bug powder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganddoutoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am so very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, I have had a full review of the points you raised with the relevant people in the hotel and this room has been immediately restored to the way you should have found it. Regarding your comments about the bed bug powder this is a treatment we undertake on an annual basis to ensure we never have this problem in the hotel. I am happy you felt that the team members you encountered dealt with you in a proffesional and courteous manner and refunded your stay. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future so you can see this was a truly isolated incident and not the normal ibis Bradford standards.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    400
    117
    24
    16
See reviews for
180
349
94
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kyustendil, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Ibis Shipley is a great chain hotel that was clean with nice decor and comfy bed. I would not, however, recommend the food at the restaurant next door. It was a great price and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You very much for your kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As a family we stayed overnight as visited Leeds Armouries & Thackray Medical Museum on Thursday and the National Media Museum and Dinosaur Discovery on the Friday. I have never met met such attentive staff on reception that was still there the next morning at breakfast. Swift check in, excellent clean family room overlooking the canal, no noise at all. The staff were very attentive of our children who enjoyed playing Pool in the bar area in the evening. Breakfast was excellent, good choice for everyone and hot. Keep up the good work and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Excellent location if sightseeing the Leeds/Bradford area. Also a short walk to the shops and Curry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJStaniland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your very kind review of ibis Bradford, We are all delighted to receive such positive feedback. It was great for us to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight while touring Yorkshire. Price was good but you only get what you pay for. We were ground floor canal side nice and quiet with good location. However I was woken up twice in the night by what I can only think was the water system sounds like a man screaming quite unnerved me. Shower gel empty in shower (cant really ask reception halfway through a shower) the beds were not the best. Rooms well worn. Did like the shoe shine on the way out nice little touch. Some staff helpful others a bit off.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridadream04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You for your review of ibis Bradford, I will investigate your comments with my engineer to try and identify the problem. We do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I chose the hotel for a weekend stay after having stayed here in January on a business trip. The Ibis hotel is comfortable, clean and very welcoming. The hotel staff are very friendly and attentive and everything is done to make guests feel welcome.
The hotel is well situated next to the canal with boat moorings and a restaurant opposite. It is a pleasant 15 minute stroll along the towpath to Salt's Mill and Saltaire village. Just watch out for bikes as Tour de France fever has gripped this part of Yorkshire.
The rooms are well fitted out with a comfortable bed and bright, clean bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and there is a large, flat-screen TV with Freeview channels.
The Ibis budget hotels are functional and modern but don't expect to have luxury toiletries and towels - try Novotel or Mercure if this is important to you.
Breakfast is an 'all you can eat' buffet which is good value and tasty.
Overall a really nice relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The canal facing rooms are quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisdebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your very kind review. The team and I are delighted you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Very basic room but clean and comfortable - can't really fault it for the price. Location convenient for station and Salts Mill (both walking distance) and lots of affordable pubs and restaurants around.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You for your kind review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is clean and safe.
Bar, food and drinks are open 24hrs.
Hotel staff are friendly and very helpful.
Room is quite big and comfortable.

Overall, my girlfriend and I are happy with our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximusTjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBradford, General Manager at Ibis Bradford Shipley, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You very much for your positive review, we are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
56 reviews
5.8 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#15 of 27 in Bradford
523 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bradford Shipley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bradford Shipley

Property: Ibis Bradford Shipley
Address: Salts Mill Road, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bradford Shipley 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi now throughout the hotel! Ibis Bradford has a fantastic canal side location, 5 minutes walk from the Unesco world heritage site of Saltaire Village. Railway station just 3 minutes walk away and a 10 min train journey to Leeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bradford Shipley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bradford Shipley Hotel Bradford
Accor Bradford Shipley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing