We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly Vicars”
Review of Vicars Cafe Bistro - CLOSED

Vicars Cafe Bistro
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Small and friendly Vicars”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Vicars does evening meals on Friday and Saturday, so one summer evening in June we decided to treat ourselves to an evening at Vicars, we first stopped for pre drinks across the road, and trotted off to Vicars, we loved it starters we shared so we didn't miss any fantastic item! Steak was good and cannelloni was perfect goats cheese and spinach and this is a meat eater saying this,
Wine is reasonably priced and after sharing again we agreed coffee was in order, we trotted out in complete bliss.
I love Saltaire even more now!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small place to eat but BIG on flavours...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Small place to eat but BIG on flavours...
Wandering around Saltaire didn't expect to get much in the way of food but, oh boy, did Vicars Cafe Bistro come up trumps.....its small, sits on a corner plot on the main road and served some of the best food in a week of traveling in the Yorkshire area. I had the Tagine Lamb....I could have been on the main square in Marrakesh, absolutely superb....I cook and have never got these flavors, so I asked for and was given the names of the spice ingredients .......lovely people, young, vibrant and reallt rather chic...well done Vicars !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianandnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
221 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Dined here with a small party of friends. Good location in Saltaire (a wonderful place to visit) with a bistro style atmosphere. The place is quite small. Food was hot and generally very tasty. I ordered the mushroom burger, which I wrongly assumed would be a beef burger topped with a mushroom. I was wrong, it was just a large mushroom filled with melted cheese in a bun. I found the filling to be very rich and the dish disappointing. However, the others in our party enjoyed their meals.

Service was very slow, despite the small number of diners.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bite to eat”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Called in for lunch. Simple menu mainly sandwiches, soup and salads. Service was quick, food came quickly. I had chicken salad which was nice, just enough chicken, my companion opted for Cajun chicken and mozzarella on ciabatta which came with side order of very nice coleslaw (although she herself can't stand coleslaw) and crisps. Unlike myself though she found her sandwich lacking in flavour and left some. Had coffees and fresh cream, again quite nice. Overall pleasant and I enjoyed my lunch

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tooposhtowash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely little place”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Visited Vicars Bistro on a Friday evening after coming across it on my taste card. It was fantastic, the food was gorgeous and the service was spot on. We got 50% off the food bill which is brilliant for a fir and sat night, I believe it's 241 on meals through the day. A bottle of house wine is £11.50 which I think is really reasonable to be honest. I would definitely recommend the garlic mushroom starter, really tasty! Will definitely visit again, really pleased I tried it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vicars Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing