We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couple of unwanted surprises!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial

The Imperial
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couple of unwanted surprises!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Had the early bird menu, which is on website as 3 courses. Turns out third course is tea or coffee.....Come on, that's not really 'a course' is it ? My wife had a chicken dish. She wouldn't eat the chicken, saying it was weird. I tried some and it didn't seem anything like chicken. The texture was more like crab stick or quorn. Google search for 'weird chicken in Chinese restaurant' gives plenty of clues as to what is going on....not the old ' cat in the freezer' nonsense, but more to do with reconstituted stuff that is plumped with chemicals and spun to give it some texture. Some of this stuff has been found to be only 51 per cent chicken in previous studies. Staff we're very attentive and helpful and food was good apart from the pretend chicken and the tea or coffee 'pudding'. Shame they can't rule out these niggles. Won't be back unless I hear that they have.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WaferthinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    61
    20
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful as usualfood alwasy spot on been a few times. if you havent been you must go. Staff always friendly.

Helpful?
Thank mick240905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

we went here for a meal on Friday and we weren't disappointed, really tasty food. I had the dim sum and my friend had the mushrooms they were both delicious. We followed this by crispy duck with prawn meat in an oyster sauce and my friend had spicy chicken both were nice. The service was spot on really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would definately eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Bags1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The nicest Chinese I have ever tasted! Friendliest staff catering to your needs! Fella called edy is a real character passionate about his job :)

Helpful?
Thank Englishandy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Staff very friendly atmosphere lovely and food very nice would recommend not tried the buffet yet but will defiantly try this not had a good Chinese like this in a long time

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_williamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Imperial also viewed

 

Been to The Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing