We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway to heaven!”
Review of Salts Diner

Salts Diner
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Shipley
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
W Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stairway to heaven!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I visited with friends and family on a Saturday lunch time.After a steep climb with a six year old we shopped a little in the bookshop then through to the diner. We hadn't booked but got in early, 12 o'clock so we were ok. It got very very busy soon after. I had a mushroom burger which was juicy and delicious. The others had sausage and mash( they do small portions for children) large pizzas and a large burger. We still had room for pudding and 3 of us ordered sticky toffee. Now I have made it my life's work to sample ST P on every menu I see it and grade it 1 to 10. When this one came it was the size of a small brick swimming in a sea of toffee soup. It was amazing ,gorgeous and I gave it a 10 easily!!!! My granddaughter had choc cake which she devoured with gusto and the other friend ice cream.We had coffee and with the drinks before lunch it came to about £90 for 5 of us. The staff were friendly and although it was so busy we were not made to feel rushed at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgeWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    164
    70
    32
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful surroundings, mediocre food, terrible service”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have had many lovely meals at Salts diner - unfortunately this was not one of them. Granted the restaurant was busy (Saturday lunchtime) but that does not excuse poor service. Waiting times were long and staff could certainly benefit from some customer service training. However the sore point for myself was the desserts being dumped onto our table without plates being cleared away. In addition we were not provided with any cutlery - not sure when the diner became self service? The standard of food was not great - burnt pizza and dry cake, the atmosphere was poor and we couldn't get out of there quick enough. I really hope this doesn't reflect the general service as that would be a terrible shame.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bull27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have been coming here for years for a relaxing Sunday breakfast.Our family of 4 and assorted guests over the years are always impressed with the food and location.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places ”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The title says it all...I've been here more times than I can remember but live it each time. The atmosphere, food and service are all excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“smashing place”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Good solid reliable high quality menu, extremely helpful staff, timely service and a lovely place just to chill out with friends and a coffee. Never been disappointed with the Salts Burger, Frshly made soup of the day, Niscoise salad or the daily specials. Excellent range of beverages and the cake just mmmmm :). Thank You for always making a trip to Salts Mill an extra delightful occasion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ketchuperus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salts Diner also viewed

 
Shipley, Bradford
Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Salts Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing