We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet Again”
Review of Salts Diner

Salts Diner
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Shipley
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yet Again”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

You can generally forgive slow bad service if a place is packed. It's Thursday afternoon and at a 10th of its capacity with more staff than customers yet the service at Salts Dinner really is shocking.
Yes the place is pleasant but please get over yourself's and sort your dreadful service out. It really does spoil what could be a very enjoyable place to come. Andrew Smith

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew-Triga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    164
    69
    32
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The food - Niçoise salad, burger, lemon drizzle & coffee & walnut cake were all very good, excellent value for money & well presented. The staff were polite but lacked interaction with the customers. Not too keen on the primary coloured furniture, but that's personal taste & the room has very bad acoustics but that can not be helped given it is set inside an old industrial building. The latte was nice but there is a lack of barista training. The food is good & this shows in just how busy it is & I will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank tweeky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Are you sitting comfortably?”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Salt's Diner - set alongside the excellent book shop, ground floor arts shop, Hockney Gallery and other fascinating shops specialising in design, this is a good place to spend time with friends - if only the chairs were more comfortable. For a restaurant set amidst excellent and innovative design, surely they could offer a more comfortable sit. I left with aggravated back ache!

The food is a good standard, if a little on the expensive side. Service could be a little more attentive and careful - I was brought the wrong tea, but this was corrected without fuss.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Reasonable selection of foods and drinks. Many people were present and the noise level was considerable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank revision05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stairway to heaven!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I visited with friends and family on a Saturday lunch time.After a steep climb with a six year old we shopped a little in the bookshop then through to the diner. We hadn't booked but got in early, 12 o'clock so we were ok. It got very very busy soon after. I had a mushroom burger which was juicy and delicious. The others had sausage and mash( they do small portions for children) large pizzas and a large burger. We still had room for pudding and 3 of us ordered sticky toffee. Now I have made it my life's work to sample ST P on every menu I see it and grade it 1 to 10. When this one came it was the size of a small brick swimming in a sea of toffee soup. It was amazing ,gorgeous and I gave it a 10 easily!!!! My granddaughter had choc cake which she devoured with gusto and the other friend ice cream.We had coffee and with the drinks before lunch it came to about £90 for 5 of us. The staff were friendly and although it was so busy we were not made to feel rushed at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgeWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salts Diner also viewed

 
Shipley, Bradford
Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Salts Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing