We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salts Diner

Salts Diner
Ranked #8 of 70 Restaurants in Shipley
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A very enjoyable visit, good food and coffee, surrounded by David Hockney artwork. Very friendly staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scotty992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    160
    67
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the diner on a Sunday and the customer service was very poor all round.Left to stand for 10 mins before anyone acknowledged us. Food wasn't great, took a long time to come to the table and over priced. Overall not impressed at all

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liamfraynthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Can get very busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

A welcome restaurant in Salts Mill. Not as pricey as expected, they offer a reasonable menu and good service, at least when we were there. Good stopping off point when visiting Salts Mill, Roberts Park and Saltaire Village. But it's the kind of restaurant that you go to because it's there, as part of a larger attraction, rather saying to yourself "I know, let's go over to Salts Diner for lunch." and start driving.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best burger I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Really cool venue, but I wasn't expecting to stumble upon the nicest burger I have ever eaten. Extremely flavoursome and perfect texture, really was excellent. Bravo!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gifter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place, average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We love to visit Salts Mill and Saltaire. It is a wonderful place. We have always eaten at Salts Diner but may look elsewhere in future. There are plenty of places just outside the Mill. Today, Good Friday, it was surprisingly only half full. Soup came very quickly but then our main took over half an hour to arrive. The staff, plenty of them and front of house there, were wandering around looking but not actually seeing who wanted service. We were not the only ones trying to get attention. Actually, a couple of the younger males were far more aware of what was required than their female counterparts or the manager. Food was fine. Service not so.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GillWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salts Diner also viewed

 
Shipley, Bradford
Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Salts Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing