We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party”

Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Yo Yo Bar and Restaurant, a Shipley Restaurant situated in the heart of Yorkshire. Combining locally sourced produce with globally inspired dishes, Yo Yo’s is a modern Oriental Restaurant offering a unique mix of Japanese, Chinese and Thai cuisine.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Having been to Yoyos several times now I have to say that the food remains a high standard with many options to choose from. We were a party of 10 dining with many other large partys on the night. The waiting staff were all very attentive, helpful and the atmosphere was buzzing. The platters are delicious and ideal for trying out new things from the menu - the quantity of food is just right. Following the three courses we relaxed in to the lounge area which is very comfortable and again the staff were helpfull and great at mixing cocktails.

Hot spot for Shipley !

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoYo_Restaurant, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Hi Yogirich,

Its fantastic to wake up in the morning, turn on the PC and see a review like this about our restaurant. We're so glad that you keep coming back to Yo Yo's and always have a great time, with nothing but nice things to say about us. I'll take this opportunity to wish you and yours a happy Christmas and New Year from all at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant.

Regards,

Simon Dunn
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    102
    34
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another lovely meal - well done!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We arrived early and because my mother walks with crutches they were incredibly sensitive and found a table straight away. It was busy but service was acceptably timed. Food was lovely. My mother comes from Wales and we come to eat every time she visits.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoYo_Restaurant, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Hi Sian,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your experiences with us. Its always a pleasure to welcome you and your family into our restaurant and we look forward to the next time your mum makes the trip across from Wales.

Have a great Christmas & New Year

Simon Dunn
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Somewhere good in Shipley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Classy decor, atmosphere a bit low, but excellent staff who knew all about the menu. Good food. A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRbaildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoYo_Restaurant, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Hi JRbaildon,

Thanks for leaving a review of your experience with Yo Yo's. We really appreciate all feedback we receive and take this into consideration when making future changes. We're very pleased you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Simon Dunn - Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Asset To Shipley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Me and my boyfriend go to Yo-Yo's occasionally on a Friday or Saturday early evening....and its such a lovely bar to just sit back and relax in.The decor/lighting/ambience is all fantastic.We have eaten there aswell and the Vegetarian Red Thai Curry that i have is DELICIOUS. Its so nice to have a bar like this near to our house.The staff are really friendly,and its nice touches like bringing your drinks to you at the table, and remembering what you ordered when you ask for a 2nd round of drinks,that make it a great place to go.
I have never been in later on in the evening, so dont know whether the clientele changes much or not,but when we are there its a really nice mix of diners, and couples/ adult families drinking there. ( the cocktails are AMAZING!)

All in all, i would recommend this bar (and have done so) to anyone visiting the Shipley area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FifiC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoYo_Restaurant, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Hi FifiC44,

Thanks for taking the time to review your experiences with us. We're delighted to hear this brilliant feedback and I will inform the bar team how well they're doing with the repeat order memory! Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best from the team at Yo Yo's.

Simon Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Intriguing fusion with calming ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Shipley is not known for its up-market services, but this place is actually quite cool. Roomy and spacious, with multi level layout and an impressive range of food from (at least) 3 continents, Yo Yo makes for a pleasing and appetising meal event. A little pricey though (hence the 4 stars), but recommended for its classy ambience, which wouldn't look amiss in more upmarket locations (Leeds! - or even Manchester!!).

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ijhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing