We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be yoyo'ing here again”

Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Yo Yo Bar and Restaurant, a Shipley Restaurant situated in the heart of Yorkshire. Combining locally sourced produce with globally inspired dishes, Yo Yo’s is a modern Oriental Restaurant offering a unique mix of Japanese, Chinese and Thai cuisine.
Bingle, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will be yoyo'ing here again”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We visited mid week early evening. My wife and I her 70+ year old mother and our fussy youngest son (12)
The service was brilliant and informative as the dishes are many and varied. The starters were served without delay and both these and the main courses were excellent. We all ordered from different parts of the menu and all were complementary on finishing.
Keeping three generations happy not an easy task I can tell you, and they did this with ease. The place it's self is warm and welcoming as are the staff, we will be back and soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevieboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Stevieboy44,

Many thanks for your review and so pleased your entire family had a great experience. We do not always get it right, but pleased on this occasion we did. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Yo Yo's again soon.

Kind Regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    102
    35
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely way to end a night out”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I live in Portugal and visited Shipley for a weekend to meet up with friends. We finished off our night in here, and what a good finish to the night it was. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, fantastic cocktails

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Ted L,

Many thanks for your recent review, and so pleased you enjoyed our Cocktails which as you say is a lovely way to end your evening with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Yo Yo's again next time you return to England.

Kind Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
452 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice after hours cocktails”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Only came for a drink after we had a curry, but very pleasant bar, nice staff, not too pricey, relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Blueval,

Many thanks for your recent review, so pleased you enjoyed our Cocktails when you visited us recently. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit. It took some time for me to park my car as I struggled to find any allocated parking for this establishment. Finally parked and had dinner with a friend. The place was quiet but never the less the food was very nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davesmithy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear davesmithy444,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. With reference to car parking we have free on street parking at the front and rear of the restaurant, as well as a 60 space free ( after 6pm) council owned car park at the side of the Restaurant, so ample parking available.

Kind Regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire england
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ate here last night with friends and, being regulars, received the usual warm welcome from owner Simon and Bar Manager Hassan. This was a very last minute booking and despite the restaurant being very busy they managed to squeeze us in.

I have always gone on about how good this place is in previous reviews but, honestly, it really is that good and if you are looking for somewhere to eat in the Shipley area give it a try.

As usual the food, service, and ambiance were all great despite the waiting staff having to help 2 trainees who, even though they were so busy, didn't do a bad job at all.

Well done to little Alesha as well for her pleasant manner which our friends commented on (although I must admit to being a little biased as she is actually family)!

Carry on doing what you are doing Yoyo's and enjoy the positive feedback. You deserve it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIMON D, Owner at Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 1 sue 22,

Many thanks for your review, so pleased you had another enjoyable evening with us and hope we can welcome you back again soon.


Kind Regards


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yo Yo Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing