We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay but avoid the Anchor Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gargrave
Certificate of Excellence
Rutland UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant stay but avoid the Anchor Inn”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights - Premier Inn up to its normal standard (I use them for business travel regularly). Wherever possible I try to avoid the hotels adjacent to a Brewers Fayre restaurant. The Anchor Inn does not disappoint in being the poor relation (we ate out three of the four nights). Dirty toilets, very poor help yourself coffee from a cheap machine (certainly not up to Costa standard). Almost everything is serve yourself. The Anchor desperately needs a makeover, ideally to a Beefeater - avoid the restaurant if possible.

Room Tip: Excellent Premier Inn (and Staff), severely let down by the Brewers Fayre next door.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abbey1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    199
    46
    11
    7
See reviews for
152
244
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abergele
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This Premier Inn was clean, quiet and comfortable. Finding it was not easy as the restaurant is in front of the inn so look for the Brewers Fayre sign. The staff were all friendly and efficient although I arrived late and left early.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Perfect base for a long weekend in the Skipton area. Perfect spot, lots of safe on site parking, friendly and welcoming staff. We stayed in the new extension and the room was great, everything we've come to expect of Premier Inn now. Gargrave is just lovely - the local Indian, Bollywood, is to be recommended for both great food and service. Busy Friday night but still got a table without a problem. Opted for the lovely walk into Skipton beside the canal (approx 4 1/2 miles) which should be on everyone's list too. Totally recommended and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here after a very long day's drive (7 hours), and were very happy with comfortable standard of room. Restuarant next door was adequate (full of children, but that's to be expected at Easter), and mostly we were just glad we didn't have to go very far to get a hot meal. Breakfast next morning was pretty ordinary, no pastries, no coffee!!, but waitress friendly and helpful. Room itself was great, warm, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights as a base for some walking in the Dales.
Modern building. Nicely furnished rooms. Comfy bed. It is not in Skipton but I think that';s pretty clear from them. It is a lovely 20 min stroll along the canal into Gargrave where these are 2 pubs plus an Indian (closed Mondays) or there is the Brewers Fare attached to the hotel which is good value. Unlimited breakfast there is enough to fill you for the day - and free for u16s

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was triple glazed so there was NO traffic noise. But the window could not be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Fantasic premier inn in a great location. Stayed in a family room which was really nicely decorated and the bathroom was spotless. Lovely staff who were very accommodating. Only downside is the restaurant next door - very poor in my opinion but lots of lovely eateries within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived late at night with no reservation and were welcomed by a young receptionist with a Polish name, he helped us with our luggage and explained everything. The room was very clean and the bed was veeeery comfortable but our tv didn' t work properly. We had breakfast in the morning which didn't taste very good but the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a good, unexpected stay for us and we would love to come back in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susannewto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargrave
5.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
4.1 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
8.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Address: Hellifield Road, Gargrave BD23 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gargrave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gargrave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the world drift by at Premier Inn Hotel Skipton North (Gargrave), right next to the scenic Leeds to Liverpool canal in the quiet village of Gargrave. And with great nearby transport links, you'll be well placed to get out and explore business and leisure destinations around the Yorkshire Dales. Take a trip through time at Skipton Castle. Get your walking boots on and explore Malham Cove National Park. Or enjoy an afternoon's stroll or gentle bike ride along the Leeds to Liverpool Canal. Then relax with a meal in our tasty restaurant and a great night's sleep in your extra-comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel Gargrave
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing