We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Masons Arms Gargarve
Ranked #1 of 2 Gargrave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Always a friendly welcome from the owners, Food is always spot on, tried quiet alot of the menu now and everything has been lovely, real good home cooked food, Always empty plates when we leave. the staff are really helpful too.Theres sometimes a band on a Friday, the one we saw were really good. Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funksoulsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    38
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
24
75
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I needed a room late notice on Easter Saturday and luckily just one was available. The pub was friendly and John and his staff were very attentive.
Cracking little place to stay in a beautiful little village

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Masons Arms.
Great atmosphere - locals very friendly.
Lovely food and great service.
Brilliant hosts.
Rooms - very comfortable. Bonus having separate entrance. Comfy and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sqiuggle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnb252, Owner at Masons Arms Gargarve, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay it was most important when we bought the pub last year that the rooms are totally independent from the pub to allow 24 hour access. Good to know it was what you liked.and look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked this place for a weekend break on the strength of the 5 star reviews on tripadvisor. Unfortunately, for the second or third time, we have been left wondering whether we went to the same place that the other tripadvisor contributors had visited. It can't possibly be worth 5 stars after 11 reviews! The room was pleasant, clean and absolutely adequate for our needs. the bathroom in particular was bigger than in most similar accommodation and the shower was excellent. However, the bed was uncomfortable with a strange slope in it that made me feel as if I was falling out of bed in the night. The noise from the other rooms (mainly plumbing noise) caused us both to sleep using earplugs. The breakfasts were adequate and reasonably well cooked but the generally grubby feel to the pub side of the business caused us to avoid eating here in the evening. The chap running the place was standing in for the couple who own it and was pleasant enough but wore the same shirt for three days whilst working 12 hour shifts. A definite put off. certainly not a five star experience for us.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnserinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Masons Arms Gargarve, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
obviously we are now back from holiday and I am sorry to hear of the problems you experienced at my pub and if you would care to be in touch I will try to resolve some issues. No one has ever complained about the bed being on a slope but I need to know what room you were in so I can investigate it. I will also check out the plumbing. It is always disappointing to read a review where there are issues and we always take them on board. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and be assured it will be looked into. Next time you are in the area please give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This olde english pub is excellently located for both the lakes and Yorkshire Dales. The rooms are spotless with very comfortable beds. Food is good quality and very reasonably priced, Full English breakfast was very good value at £5.00 extra, all local produce. The landlord and lady made us very welcome and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzyBHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Masons Arms Gargarve, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Good to hear you had a good experience at our pub and we are pleased to read good things about our place. Look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We only had one night here unfortunately. The man I spoke to on the phone when booking was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived 2 hours earlier than agreed we were shown to our room with no problem. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The bedwas huge and very comfortable. We booked breakfast for the following morning, it was cooked fresh and was delicious with local produce. A lovely place to stay, run by lovely people in a lovely place. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnb252, Owner at Masons Arms Gargarve, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thanks for the good comments we strive to treat all our guests the same if they stay for one night or a week. Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Terrific "proper" Pub, very nice accomodation, best Pint of Real Ale for a very, very long time. Johna and Nicola the Landlord and Landlady very friendly, hard working and great hosts, not many of these type of places left, atmosphere as a local really good as are the locals themselves, all very friendly.
Great location, a good walk along the canal to Skipton and back 11 miles, just lovely.
Cannot wait for my next visit.

Room Tip: Room number 6 is the one to have, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnb252, Owner at Masons Arms Gargarve, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thanks for the review we are always keen to hear what people think good or bad and we are pleased the experience with us was a good one. Hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargrave
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#2 of 2 in Bell Busk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms Gargarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms Gargarve

Property: Masons Arms Gargarve
Address: Marton Road, Gargrave BD23 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gargrave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gargrave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Masons Arms Gargarve 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round,The Masons Arms opposite the church in Gargrave, is ideally situated in the Yorkshire Dales between the thriving market town of Skipton and Settle.A warm welcome is offered at The Masons Arms Gargrave, complete with its oak-beamed ceilings and open fires, our traditional bar is just the place to relax and unwind in the company of friendly locals. A great range of traditional ales from the regions breweries, plus a wide choice of wines and spirits, awaits you. Not to mention a delicious menu of home-made food and daily specials, making the Masons Arms the most popular venue in the area.Our six En-suite bedrooms offer a comfortable level of accommodation. Each room has a television, tea and coffee making facilities and all have their own separate entrance from the pub.We can accommodate every one, from single guests to family groups and are always happy to welcome dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Masons Arms Gargarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Gargarve Gargrave, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing