We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Cafe in the Yorkshire Dales”

White Cottage Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Gargrave
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe in the Yorkshire Dales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this little cafe for tea, coffee and cakes after a walk along the canal at Gargrave. This is a well hidden gem that provides outstanding homemade cakes in a quaint and friendly atmosphere. At first I thought that the price was a tad on the high side but on reflection it was not more that any of the high street chains would charge, but infinitely better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    19
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Came across this tearoom by chance . Homemade cakes to die for! Fantastic quiche and salad for lunch . Amazing Simple, tasty, fresh food prepared and served by Allan and Vicky. We would definitely go out of our way to come here again. One of Yorkshires finest!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johno052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Divine cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We happened on this little tea shop by accident, just off the main street in Gargrave. Truly fabulous place - with a superb array of homemade cakes. I had the strawberry layer cake which was utterly gorgeous. A difficult choice, with so many freshly baked treats on offer. We also had cheese on toast with chutney - delicious, and generous. I can't think of a better tea shop - and I've been to a few. And the owners are very friendly too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank likeswalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a fantastic little cottage tearoom, with amazing cakes, all home made, and made fresh each day. Lunch is also great with home-made soup.
We've been in covered in mud after biking, and had no complaints, more recently I've had a wheelchair in there, and nothing has been too much trouble. Customer service is spot on, probably because the staff are also the owners.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tytytty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best there is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have been and stopped specifically in Gargrave so we could have cake here. All Is home cooked and probably the best cakes we have tried. I had a simple Victoria sponge with cream and gooseberry conserve and it was excellent. Place is spotless and themed very much as a small cottage. Great couple who run it as well gave us tips on setting up our own venture in Whitby.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitecottage52, Owner at White Cottage Tea Room, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit. We would both like to take this opportunity to wish you well in your new business venture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Cottage Tea Room also viewed

Gargrave, North Yorkshire
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
 
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
 
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Cottage Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing