We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking reformed frozen cheap packet chicken burger”
Review of Punch bowl

Punch bowl
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Earby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have been a regular customer for years have had good service every time until today that is. Ordeded the hot and spicy chicken burger at £8.45 and when it came it was a cheap packet reformed frozen burger not what I have come to expect from such a place informed a middle aged man working behind the bar (haven't seen him working there before) and he basically said what do you expect it a chicken burger really disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank clarky982002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michsjg2011, Manager at Punch bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We was so expecting this review from you.
80 % of our food is home made and says so in the description on the menu .
No where next to the chicken burger does it say homemade .
The chicken burger has been on the menu for quiet a while as they are popular. Without a single complaint . You did not give anyone a chance to resolve this complaint. So you go and put it on trip advisor instead . Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely meal in this pub which has a very pleasant dining room adjacent to the main public area. This means even if this bar is busy ( it was noisy on the night we went as lots of folk were watching an important rugby match) you can eat in a quieter area adjoining.
The food was very good and reasonably priced.My son had a huge plate of scampi and I had a delicious lasagne. very pleasant bar staff and overall a good eating experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Noranosepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michsjg2011, Manager at Punch bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review , it's nice to know that while we were on a small break away , the staff did us proud . Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Just been in for a family birthday we found all the food was very good and well presented ( i recommend the steak ) the pub was nice and cosy and the staff was nice and friendly .
My partner and i well defiantly be going again .

Thank Gseppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michsjg2011, Manager at Punch bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Michelle , Paul and staff are pleased your stay with us was enjoyable .
Hope to see you again .
Regards
Michelle & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We pass this place regular and it was recommended to us and we were extra happy.
It was a good size good atmosphere and the food was excellent.
We had the mixed grill,2 surf and turfs and 1 lamb shank and all were excellent and priced at £14-£17 and no one wanted a desert afterwards....Filling and excellent
Sagres on tap which is an excellent pint five stars all round!
Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Showme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michsjg2011, Manager at Punch bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

My self , Paul and staff are happy your stay with us was a good one .
We hope to see you again soon .
Regards
Michelle , Paul and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Recent visit to Punch Bowl with friends. Decent beer but distinctly average food. Very typical pub menu and very average presentation. Do not think this means bad, far from it. However it just doesn't seem special at all. Pretty fair value, plenty of parking, beer garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nanookotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michsjg2011, Manager at Punch bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the punch bowl (pub)
Your comments are taken on board , and as we are only a family run pub , I think your
Comments were fair .
Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punch bowl also viewed

Barnoldswick, Lancashire
 

Been to Punch bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing