We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

The George Washington
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Washington
Ranked #1 of 2 Warton B&B and Inns
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The George Washington for 2 nights. We had the double room with private bathroom which was a nice clean room with all you would expect, tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries in bathroom. The owners had had the place for just a year and we're friendly and helpful. The downside to our room was that the bathroom was over the kitchen and the smell of cooking fat was overpowering, you had to keep the window open. Also the meals were not very good, I had the mixed grill, the chicken and sausage was undercooked and the jacket potato was microwaved to death! They claimed they were really busy so we had to eat earlier than we would of liked (although that didn't matter because we waited an hour for our meals to arrive). I think there was only one of the owners doing all the cooking, she obviously needed some help. Another couple got up to leave just as their food arrived as they had waited so long. I don't think we will be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Lovely welcome. We sampled the ale (it would have been rude not to!) And then had a lovely evening meal. We were shown to our room. I can honestly say it was the cleanest freshest hotel room we have ever stayed in. It's a credit to the couple who run this Inn. If the hotel inspector had visited here she could not fail to give our room 10/10. We had the best nights sleep then we're treated to a full English breakfast. I would highly recommend the George Washington. A little gem. Thank you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank docflaresner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We called in for a midweek pub lunch recently, having not been for many, many years. Warm welcome, good selection of cask ales and excellent value home-cooked food (which I believe is mostly sourced locally). Would not hesitate to recommend and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crayfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We called at the George Washington one Sunday night in October.They were very busy as they had a coach party in.This did not stop us getting the full and friendly service of the staff.We were soon shown to a table (4 of us) and given menu's.
I ordered the gammon and my wife ordered the Fish,Chips and mushy peas.
The food came quickly and was excellent quality.Nice big gammon with 2 eggs....GREAT !!
Thanks to the lady cooking in the kitchen who gave us a lovely personal service and the waitress who had a great sense of humour,even though she was very busy.
Well done,also,to the Landlord who found time to have a natter with us,about the recent visit by some American Firemen.
Served some excellent real ale,I must add.
SUMMERY : Great food - Good portions - Personal,friendly service - Reasonable price - Nice atmosphere........... well done........we will return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgyRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

went to the george washington @ dinnertime and had a light snack (chicken liver pate) and the place looks like its had a re paint , a lot brighter /cleaner than previous visits, luch very good and reasonably priced,, will visit again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fellclimber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warton
1.6 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.1 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington

Property: The George Washington
Address: Main Street | Carnforth, Warton, Carnforth LA5 9PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Warton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country inn with excellent home cooked food. Beer garden. Placed in the Village of Warton near Carnforth, long associated with the Washington family who lived here. Washington's ancestor of seven generations, Lawrence Washington, is rumoured to have helped build the village church of St Oswald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing