We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Gran Palas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Palas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Orlando, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were nice but bathroom had the bad stench of a sewer smell in the toilets. No washclothes provided in bathrooms. No one to help with luggage upon arrival. Property needed some upkeep as there were water stains in various places on walls. Spa was very nice. Nicest thing about hotel. Location is not great. Breakfast was extremely limited. Service was just sufficient. Would not pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    124
    54
    21
    14
See reviews for
104
199
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

this hotel is a loverly hotel very chilled and relaxing the spa is great the nicest hotel in la pineda after staying 2 nights at the estival hotel up the road this hotel was a joy woul defo stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniseLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is an excellent hotel with a truly exceptional spa area. We were on half board and the food was very good, especially in the evening; breakfast choice was a little limited but if you ask for a cooked breakfast they will do it for you. We were there over Christmas 2011 and arrived after dark. We were very impressed with the room and the view of twinkling lights across the bay. This brings us to the location of the hotel which is situated across the bay from an oil refinery (hence the twinkling lights).
As the heading says it was difficult to fault the hotel but where it is located is not good; unless you like oil refinerys.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SensibleChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is a fabulous hotel in many ways - the decor, spacious public rooms, elegant furnishings, contemporary design - and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. For us, the best thing about the hotel was the truly exceptional swimming pool and spa complex. There are two main outdoor pool areas with comfortable sun loungers and day beds, while the indoor area is a real treat. There are numerous jacuzzi/hot tubs, a sauna, steam room, fitness swimming area and a "relaxarium" which was a dimly lit room with mattresses and gentle music. Lovely! We didn't eat in the hotel itself, apart from breakfast, preferring to stroll into the main promenade of La Pineda in the evening which has numerous pubs, restaurants and cafes. There was a very good selection at breakfast, although mainly geared to Russian tastes; I would concur with the previous reviewer who noted that the hotel and the resort are dominated by Russian tourists.

The staff in the hotel were polite but not overly friendly. There was a mix-up in our booking when we first arrived, and they were fairly frosty until it was finally sorted out. A couple of minor issues in the room were very quickly and efficiently resolved, although these could have been overcome by ourselves if there had been sufficient information available in the room.

The hotel seems to be an anomaly within the resort, which is just a quieter version of Salou. The hotel next door is definitely a "party" hotel, and often there would be loud music and other noise audible in the outdoor areas. Overall, a wonderful luxury hotel which is a real oasis of calm in a rather down-market resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LJaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed a week and liked it a lot.
Surprised by this review saying La Pineda is a horrible area. It's definitely not! La Pineda is a nice place, next to Cap Salou, quiet residential area on a very nice, long beach . It was a nice surprise for us. There is a pleasant Promenade along the beach and the area around the hotel is quite new, with nice low-rise buildings. The only criticism could be the shops along the Promenade, selling all kind of junk for tourists, nothing interesting or exciting, but that's often the case in Spain...

The hotel is new, nicely designed and landscaped with nice views, large grounds around it where you can relax... and this music playing outside, which could be a pain, but it actually isn't! The sound is very good quality and really adds to the overall relaxing atmosphere. Well done!

One important thing to know (and which was quite of a surprise for us) : this hotel is for Russians. Never seen so many at one time! Everything is written in Russian, their clientele is mainly Russian. Few Spanish at the weekend, which was good to feel, at last, in Spain. It's true that La Pineda itself is the place for Russians. Same thing : everything written in Russian in restaurants and waitresses mostly Russians. It's not the case in next door Salou though.

We also liked the rooms and... the electric curtains! In the morning you open them just from your bed and you can enjoy the nice sea view over the Tarragona harbor in the back, not bad to feel on vacations! The rooms are very nicely decorated and ours were big. One nice detail: you can make yourself a cup of tea or coffee in your room and the whole thing is replaced everyday. It's also very clean.
Quite bad though : one of our rooms was very smelly at some times, terrible smells coming out through the sewage in the bathroom, so quite difficult to stand when the window was closed at night.
That should really be cared of. Not too "5 stars"!

The personnel is friendly, knows who you are and where you come from, which is quite pleasant when you stay several days. They were all very friendly with me maybe because I can speak Spanish fluently.They seemed not to be used to speak Spanish with their foreign clients...
The 2 waiters at the bar are particularly friendly but
I have to say that the bar was too quiet at the time. It's very comfortable and big and despite the nice welcome, it felt a bit empty in the evenings drinking your little manzanilla. There's a piano but no one ever played, not even on saturday night.

One big disappointment : the restaurant "El Teppan". It's their Japanese restaurant. We wanted to go for the food experience and... were so disappointed when they told us it was already full, that we had to reserve 3 days in advance! It's only open on fridays for dinner. They advertise for it everywhere in the hotel, tell you you should go there when you arrive at hte hotel, but they forget to tell you the most important thing to know : it's small so only upon reservation. It's not written on thier documents either. And when you just stay one week, no other opportunity to go... Only 15 persons can fit.
So, we were very disappointed because we had planned it and waited for the friday to do something different. We ended up going to their other restaurant "El Racco". It's nice but this one was, on the contrary, very quiet, even too quiet! The food is good though; traditional Spanish and good quality. Their chocolate fondant should be removed from the menu, it's been seen everywhere, it's not Spanish and this one wasn't a very good one. The ice cream which comes with it is not very tasty either. So try the other desserts which might be more interesting.
It's quite expensive but good quality and a nice place to have dinner so...
The waiters were very attentive and very friendly, as usual.

The pool area is very nice, quiet to relax and the bar serves very good and interesting sandwiches for lunch (more similar to good panini than real sandwiches). For breakfast, the buffet is just full of nice things but the orange juice is not good. The "omelette & eggs" girl was nice but make sure to tell her you don't want any salt, because as it's often the case in Spain, she's very very generous on salt! And she uses liters of used and re-used oil too, so... But overall it's a nice breakfast buffet with plenty of smoked salmon, cava, ham and nice freshly-cut fruit. And the waiters would give me a nice real café con leche in a cup, just like in a normal Spanish bar.
So I don't really understand all these critics about the personnel in the reviews.
They might have improved or changed because they were all very nice to us and caring. And that's also what made our stay very enjoyable at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CedricMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Very good infrastures, brand new BUT
- "strandard" room can be 12m² as well as 30m² for the same price!
- "suites" are not real suites but big rooms..
The service... service was the poorest ever experienced..
They call you "Hombre!", nobody to welcome you upon arrival, not possible to have a drink or get anything to eat over the night! Check out took over 30mn..
Last but not least .. why suc a nice hotel in such a an ugly place???

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RevivAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Just back from 11 nights in La Pineda, near Salou. Stayed in the Gran Palas Hotel, La Pineda which is the resort's newest hotel and the only 5 star in the Salou area. Hotel has three pools including indoor Thallosotherapy pool with plenty of jacuzzis, sauna, steam room and chill out area. Two outdoor pools were too cold to use at this time of year but indoor pool and additional facilities are excellent. Went half board as there were supposed to be three restaurants but when we got there only one was open. The hotel doesn't seem to be quite completed - there were workmen putting down decking on one side of the hotel for the duration of our stay. Disappointing but the food that was on offer was freshly cooked and the best of produce - seafood, pork, lamb, T-bone and fillet steaks - and the service in the restaurant was excellent as we were two of about a maximum of 10 visitors to the hotel. Got caught out one night as well as the 24 hour room service wasn't in place.
La Pineda itself is a small enough resort but with plenty of bars and restaurants and a sandy beach. The night life was quiet enough but it was off-season. The best crack to be had was in Hennessy's Irish pub which is just off the main beach front area. Great Guinness, and fabulous hospitality from Bridget and bar man Dave. There is a nightly quiz which is designed for both adults and families with kids and it proves to be quite competitive! But is a good way of getting chatting to other visitors to La Pineda. Bridget also has a unique 'golf' game which is also good crack and usually takes place after the quiz. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank FionnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.1 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Palas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Palas Hotel

Property: Gran Palas Hotel
Address: c/ de la Sequia Major, 5, 43480 La Pineda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Palas Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Palas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Palas Hotel La Pineda, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing