We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an expensive hotel on a overcrowded beach”
Review of Gran Palas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Palas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
Kursk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“an expensive hotel on a overcrowded beach”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

everything was perfect, especially meals, just for information- the closest gate to beach was closed- you should make a walk to the main entrance, no kids activity at all- I would not mind small mini-disco for my 5 years. The dinner was served three times a week outdoors- much more better than inside!!!! and in august- 99% present russians.

Room Tip: we lived in a duplex garden view (two bedrooms- one with a shower and one with a bath) - the most su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    130
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
116
208
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel back in May 2012, as a birthday present. My boyfriend and I just stayed for the night, but got this special offer that included dinner, champagne (cava), strawberries and chocolates in the room and a special treat in the spa. The receptionist was really really nice! She started speaking in Spanish but, as my boyfriend is English, she apologised and explained everything in English so we could both understand.

The room was really big, and so was the bathroom (with separate bath and shower, and a separate cubicle for the toilet). It was a very modern, stylish room and the bed was really comfy. The TV was huge and had plenty of channels.
One of the best things about the rooms is the incredible balcony, absolutely huge! We could see the sea from it and it was just perfect to relax!

The hotel, in general, is just absolutely stunning. The 5 stars are indeed very well deserved!

The spa that the hotel offers is one of the best ones I've ever been too! You've got spacious changing rooms with loads of lockers and then, you open the doors to the spa and there it its... huge swimming pools with plenty of hot tubs, really amazing! It was very quiet when we went there, with just a few people there, so it was really relaxing! We could have spent all day in the spa, easily.
The special treat that we got was a chocolate bath tub for two. The receptionist at the spa desk was very attentive. The experience was very special, although you're only given half an hour to enjoy it, but well, it's enough I reckon!

Dinner was nice! It was really really quiet, with just two other couples there, but the food was really good, although the menu is quite reduced. Breakfast offered loads of options (buffet) and it was also excellent.

The only complaint that we had was the fact that we got ants in our room, probably coming in from the window in the bathroom. With summer coming up and the balcony full of plants and flowers it's understandable... but we expected more than an insect spray to get rid of them. That, I have to say, was a little disappointing; luckily we were only spending the night! Hopefully, they'll probably consider other sort of solutions against this problem in the future.

Overall, a 5 star experience, mainly aimed for couples, good location (next to La Pineda beach and 5 to 10 min away from bars, shops and club) and 100 % recommendable, I'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunais V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I've been staying at Gran Palas Hotel for a couple of days in 2 occasions for a business meetings. The rooms are huge and very nice, with a modern decoration. The quality of the food is above the standard for this category in Spain. Breakfast is excellent, with a variety of choice. I could not test the Spa or the swimming pool, but the water had a strong smell of chlorine.
To be improved : lots of things have to be fixed in the rooms. In my group, I 've heard about the heating system not working, or the curtains bloked in open position with the light of the terrace iluminating the room all night.. In my case, the shower temperature tap was blocked the last day on cold water.. My tip : check everything when you arrive and ask the reception to fix what's not working.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IoDaGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

a bit empty in wintertime, but beautiful hotel, real big rooms (i had sea view), nice and modern bathroom, and a real good breakfast (fresh fruit, all sorts of nuts, raisons, muesli, juices yoghurt,...) will go again if in the area!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The hotel is situated almost on the beach yet close enough to see the ocean from a well positioned room. The grounds are nice, the rooms, we had a two floor suite which was really nice for stay a full week, was also very well appointed complete with remote controlled draperies. Nice touch. Everything about the "resort" was nice with exception to the staff... on occassions.

One minute they were nice, very nice, the next, very unprofessionally impolite. I'm going to go out on a limb and say they, due to it being the slow season, were really understaffed. Still no excuse to be contrite to us and other guests in my opinion. Had this not been a consistant theme observed over 7 days, I would have given them 4-5 stars respectfully.

Would I recommend it, sure, providing you just "had" to stay in this area. The outer-lying area/ The Strip, having no bearing on the hotel itself, reminded us of Daytona, Florida circa 1980 with all the shops selling cheap trinkets and inflatables.

So go, stay, enjoy yourself but go during the high-season! :)

Was this helpful?

Room Tip: Insist on an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FuninPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were nice but bathroom had the bad stench of a sewer smell in the toilets. No washclothes provided in bathrooms. No one to help with luggage upon arrival. Property needed some upkeep as there were water stains in various places on walls. Spa was very nice. Nicest thing about hotel. Location is not great. Breakfast was extremely limited. Service was just sufficient. Would not pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

this hotel is a loverly hotel very chilled and relaxing the spa is great the nicest hotel in la pineda after staying 2 nights at the estival hotel up the road this hotel was a joy woul defo stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniseLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.1 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
787 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Palas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Palas Hotel

Property: Gran Palas Hotel
Address: c/ de la Sequia Major, 5, 43480 La Pineda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Palas Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Palas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Palas Hotel La Pineda, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing