We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out but very expensive for what it is.”

Aquopolis Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in La Pineda
Attraction details
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good day out but very expensive for what it is.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Now I’m not normally a person who write negative reviews and I’m not about to start as me and my partner did enjoy our day at the waterpark but we were not prepared to be ripped off.
We brought our ticket in advance from our holiday rep but still cost the same. We paid about 25 euros to get in and knew we would have to pay for a locker but 6 euros is a rip off! Then we went to find a sunbed which we would have to pay a further 5 euros for! By this point we were a little disheartened. However there are plenty of grassy areas about which is where most people put their towels.
Then they expect you to hire a rubber ring for 7.50 euros! Thank god we didn't as they did have free ones to use but did mean getting a queue to get one which we didn't mind as there are only 3 rides that used rubber rings so not worth hiring.

The rides were good but i expected more for the price. We have been to many aqua parks in the past and most of which were better.

Food is what you expect at these sort of places, burger and chips and expect to pay about 10 euros. However unlike most places you can bring in you own food which we saw many people do and is what i would advise.

The good thing about aquapolis is it did have a Dolphin show which was good and best of free which made a change from everything else.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Rexy-bexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    634
    289
    88
    83
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I usually hate waterparks, but this one is in a league of its own! It has loads of different types of water ride from open air, to closed tube and everything in between! I would recommend the one in the dark (the name escapes me) - it's fab!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank js1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unsafe”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The staff are not bothered about health & safety within the park. There may seem alot of lifeguards and have height restrictions, but underneath all that if u have an accident, be prepared to be shoved out of the door, they don't want to know. Take note of previous reviews involving accidents !

Helpful?
2 Thank Fracturedbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dangerous”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We went as a family of 4 on the 24th of July 2011 as part of the all inclusive package. The sunbed prices are ridiculous. The food is terribly overpriced. My fiancee went on the aquamania ride down the middle chute, she went down the ride in the normal way but when she hit the water at the bottom she smashed her foot on the bottom of the pool. After been rescued from the pool by myself and a life guard she was taken to the first aid office in a wheel chair. With the water been so shallow she broke both her tibia & fibia. The water park accepts no responsibility For the accident as they claim the pool is deep enough. Quite clearly not. For your own safety please do not go. My fiancee is now having an operation to have the leg pinned back together.

Helpful?
3 Thank Craggy-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has the potential to be great but is lacking”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Firstly: this park has attractions which are better for teenagers and adults than the PortAventura waterpark: there are more rides, and they provide bigger thrills, with a greater variety in the type of attractions.

And these rides are great: they provide an exciting day out.

However, the park has many shortcomings:

1. The entry price is very steep: 22 euros. However, this is only shocking when you consider the following:

2. Lockers cost 6 euros!

3. Sunbeds cost 6 euros!

4. You can reuse rings (wait for others to use them) at each ride, like at most waterparks, but the park does not tell you this; it encourages you to spend 7.50 euros on a ring which you keep for the day.

There are many more 'rentable' rings than 'reusable' ones, which means you have to wait longer to get a ring!
What's worse is that you can only use the rentable rings on two of the rides! It's a total rip-off!

5. The food is quite expensive also, and very repetitive - basically burgers and chips, with the odd chicken nuggets.


The park has good rides, but is too concerned with money. A good day out if you're loaded!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquopolis Costa Dorada also viewed

 
La Pineda, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Aquopolis Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing