We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for 10 nights, good family hotel. All Inclusive package well worth it as proper drinks and slush etc for kids along with decent ice creams! Have stayed in 4 stars that have not been so good as this hotel, nothing fancy but you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first family holiday in 2005 (late review) with 5 and 1 year old and it was fantastic. We arrived to find a load of work vans outside and thought disaster already !! We woke up next morning to find a little wooden bar hut had been built on the beach right outside the front door and more all along the beach. They were fab! The hotel (right on the beach) the food was great, it was clean and the entertainment and kids clubs were fantastic!! We went straight to book up the day we got back but ended up in the same group hotel in different area.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank birchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went to this hotel in early June was very very busy, never seen such a clean hotel it was beautiful everywhere was always very clean
Food -
We went all inclu and wasn't really worth it breakfast was ok dinner was a bit iffy and the evening meal was awful great fruit selection but cat fish dog fish or deep fried cheese balls this was the only let down of the holiday study the drinks menu very carefully as somethings aren't included and the snack time food was also not to good the location was great 8 euros in taxi to salou. The thompson rep dean needs a gold badge he was brilliant always sorting things out nothing was ever too much,not much night life around the area but that's not what we were looking for lovely place for food about 6mins walk from hotel called water front beautiful English food we eat there most days. Rooms were nice and brilliant air con!! Only problem is you don't get a fridge or a kettle so can be a bit frustrating keeping drinks cool in the room but they are available to hire shops over the road are brilliant and sell so much for small shops ...hope you all enjoy holiday as we sure did :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunshine1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a multi national family oriented fun hotel. It's not the poshest or most modern hotel but it's not trying to be be. It's casual, laid back welcoming and relaxing.
The beach is literally on a gorgeous clean, long white sandy beach. The waters are clear and are shallow for quite a way out which is good for children.
The hotel itself offers a daily range of activities run by the best animacion team we've seen, they work tirelessly to ensure you and your kids have a fantastic holiday. If it's not your thing then you don't have to get involved but it's lots of fun if you do! Huge thanks to the fabulous David, Jose, Dominika, Anete, Madara, Inta and Fritz oh and Goldy too :-)
The mini disco is fab for the kids and the songs are infectious and will stick in your head for weeks to come.
There's loads to do for the kids - 4yrs+ can get involved in the hotel run activities which run on and off from 10.30am to 11pm at night. There is also a Thomson kids club which takes 3 -12yrs which runs alongside the hotel one. Both were hugely enjoyed by our daughter who is 7.
There is entertainment every night at 10pm ranging from the usual karaoke to the Bejing Acrobats who were great. Every Tuesday the Animacion team do their own shows which are really quite funny and the Popstars evening is one not to be missed!
For the first time we didn't really have a problem getting a sunbed near the pool which was refreshing. The pool iteself is on the smaller side, considering the size of the hotel but with the beach on the doorstep it's not too much of a problem. Beware though the sides of the pool are pretty slippy so take care!
The Thomson reps were really helpful and there is a swap section by there desk in reception where you can get lilos, bucket and spades and inflatables for the beach so check here before buying new ones from the shops.
The dining area is big and there's a good selection of food to cater for most palets, it can get very busy though and again the floors can be a bit slippy so take care. Drinks are a bit on the pricey side but as you'd expect from a hotel. The waiting staff in the dining area are really nice and very efficient.
There are two happy hours during the afternoon for those guests visiting on a Half Board basis. 1pm - 2pm in the outside bar with the lovely Jose and 5pm to 6pm in the main bar.
The rooms on the whole are not the biggest or most modern however they are kept spotlessly clean by the friendly daily maid service (if required) as is the rest of the hotel.
If you have a poolside room which overlooks the terrace it will be noisier in the evening due to the entertaiment. You can always request a room on the other side of the hotel in advance if this is a problem. Transfer time is 15-40 mins depending on what order you are dropped off in which is good.
There is wifi reception, bar and some of the terrace but the connection was hit and miss, probably to do with the volume of users.
The resort itself is quiet with a few bars and restaurants and some shops selling the usual holiday consumables. For those looking for more in terms of nightlife Salou is around 10 minutes away.
This is was our second visit to this hotel and we would love to go back which seems to be a running theme when speaking to many of the other returning guests.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms get a good view of the beach or entertainment area but can be noisy in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

for the first time ever i am moved to give a review. just back from a two week holiday with our 7yr old grandaughter.She absolutely loved it. Nothing but praise for the Thomsons kids club and the hotels own club. There are activities from morning to night. The staff work so hard to make sure everyone enjoys themselves.The food is good with something for everyone. We were half board but are considering all inclusive next time. The beach is literally on the doorstep and the sea is quite shallow for a good way out so great for younger kids.. The atmosphere is laid back and friendly. La Pineda is quiet and there is a lovely waterpark a few minutes walk away.The rooms are basic but clean and we took our own travel kettle for that early morning cuppa!. Perfect family destination. We are hoping to go back next year. . We did go to Portaventura but we found it too hot for that kind of theme park. We much preferred the aquapolis waterpark

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank igiveupn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Went on the 11th of July 2014 with a large group of 6 adults and 3 children. Thought the hotel was spotless plenty to do throughout the day from football on the beach to rifle shooting. Evening entertainment was good most nights. Food was good plenty of variety. This is the second time I've been the first was 5 years ago and I think the hotel has improved a lot. All ready thinking of booking for next year.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

just back from 2wks holiday with my 10 yr old son and it was the best holiday we've had......hotel is really clean (rooms cleaned daily) friendly staff....great entertainment day/nite....they have the greatest animacion team that keeps kids of all ages really entertained all day (david,fritz,jose,anita) they make the stay at this hotel really worth it......hotel is located directly on the beach which is beautiful.......we stayed half board and the food was top notch even fussy eaters will b pleased with d choice available......if your planning a family holiday this is the place to go its really family friendly.... aquapolis is 10 mins away....local bus goes to salou every half hr or so (ask about t-10 card at bus plana)....will definitely be returning next year

Room Tip: we stayed in room 531 which faced the street and beach and caught d sun all day....1st floor faces p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank louise352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.1 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#2 of 8 in La Pineda
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
904 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Pineda Park
Apartamentos Pineda Park
#1 of 8 in La Pineda
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Donaire Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Donaire Beach Hotel

Address: Platja del Raco, 43840 La Pineda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range: £50 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Donaire Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Donaire Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Donaire Beach
Golden Donaire Park
Golden Donaire Beach La Pineda
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel La Pineda, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing