We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

spotlessly clean hotel, perfect if you have kids, we don't but still loved it!! Rooms cleaned every day with clean towels even when we didn't ask for them. All the staff were really nice nothing was to much trouble.would recomend to anyone. Food was presented well and all very nice. Only downside for us was not much going on in La Pineda in the evenings, but the hotel entertainment was good.

Room Tip: we had a first floor room overlooking beach lovey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    545
    194
    58
    44
See reviews for
818
342
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just arrived back from the hotel today I would just like to make you aware that I am a person who is known for telling it how it is. This hotel is a very good quality 3 star hotel, people on previous reviews have said it s a bit dated well they are very clean and the décor is not that bed hence people are only paying for a 3 star so what are they expecting. The food is plentiful something for everybody. Entertainment going on all day for all ages if you want to join in even aqua aerobics to keep the weight off food must be good as I have managed to gain 7 pounds and I am hard to please anybody who knows me knows that's a fact . The all inclusive is very good variety of ice-creams for kids ,slush puppies. All in all this is a very good 3 star hotel right on the beach and a beautiful promenade to walk on a evening market also good on a Sunday short bus ride away.

Room Tip: wi fi in certain area in reception although we got it on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glorialeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from 26 July for 10 nights. 2 adults and 3 children aged 4,8,10.

Rooms: We stayed in 106 and my sister in 101. We had a beach view that was lovely. The rooms are basic and the bathrooms need upgrading as we had black mould on the grout. We were rarely in the room so it didn't bother us

Pool: lovely pool area with a large pool, baby pool and jacuzzi pool. Yes the Sunbed rush is true, but we went in July. If you weren't queuing by 8am you would struggle to get a Sunbed. There are plenty of chairs around the pool though.

Bars: the pool bar and inside bar are open throughout the day and night (pool bar closes at 5 and re opens at 2130). I didn't find many queues at the bar, max 5 min wait. The drinks are nice. The service is good, especially susana who was fabulous. If your AI you can only get ice cream and coffee from the inside bar (which I thought daft). They stop serving AI people from 11pm prompt and I cannot get a drink until 10am even though the bar is open.

Snack bar: this was fabulous. Open 4 times during the day for AI, my kids didn't like breakfast but had something at 10am from there, and they could have a toastie at 10pm for their supper.

Beach: 9 steps and your on it!! Clean and safe. Loads of water sports on the beach.

Busplana: don't book any excursions with your rep. There is a busplana shop opposite the beach and they sell fully guided excursions for half of the price of your rep. We went to Nou camp with them and they were fabulous.

Aquopolis: buy your tickets and meal deal before you go from their website at it's half the price if your rep and the door price. There is something for everyone. It's very expensive inside so bring plenty on drinks. I have reviewed this separately on here if u want more info.

Restaurant: very strange food combinations sometimes at dinner and tea. For example cheese balls, veg and chips?!? They had fish every night but I like proper dinners (ie meat, potatoes etc) but these happened rarely. You never had to queue or wait for a table and there were 5 of us. Waiters were nice but they cleared your plate away as u were still eating. The kids always had something to eat like pizza chips hot dog burgers.

Reception: Check in is from 12 md. But u can use all the facilities from when u get there. We rarely used reception so cannot comment about their efficiency.

Arcades: plenty of pool tables and arcades in the snack bar. We had to stop our children from going in there due to too many nasty unsupervised kids,

Kids clubs. Wowsers . You can choose from thompsons and the goldie club and they run along side each other. All ages can go into goldie club together but thompsons seperate them. Under 8 11-1pm and over 8s from 2-4. Goldie club runs most nights from 930pm-11pm. Thompsons run 3 nights from 7-10 but charge you from 5e per child. Our kids used both.

Daily entertainment: this is non stop from 1030am. They separate people into under 11s, teenagers and adults and they have all sorts from 1030-330. Kids disco is from 730pm, bingo from 9pm and an act from 10pm. Kids disco is torture and repetitive and we had young children too.

Thompson reps: you only saw them if they wanted money from you ie kids clubs etc. the reps tell u to go to them with any complaints and they will deal with it, pure rubbish, Our air con was not working and I reported this to the reps and after nothing happening in 24 hours I went to reception myself and it was repaired in 20 min.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Would I return-no. But I never go back to the same place twice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Reilly-Family3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for 10 nights, good family hotel. All Inclusive package well worth it as proper drinks and slush etc for kids along with decent ice creams! Have stayed in 4 stars that have not been so good as this hotel, nothing fancy but you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first family holiday in 2005 (late review) with 5 and 1 year old and it was fantastic. We arrived to find a load of work vans outside and thought disaster already !! We woke up next morning to find a little wooden bar hut had been built on the beach right outside the front door and more all along the beach. They were fab! The hotel (right on the beach) the food was great, it was clean and the entertainment and kids clubs were fantastic!! We went straight to book up the day we got back but ended up in the same group hotel in different area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank birchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went to this hotel in early June was very very busy, never seen such a clean hotel it was beautiful everywhere was always very clean
Food -
We went all inclu and wasn't really worth it breakfast was ok dinner was a bit iffy and the evening meal was awful great fruit selection but cat fish dog fish or deep fried cheese balls this was the only let down of the holiday study the drinks menu very carefully as somethings aren't included and the snack time food was also not to good the location was great 8 euros in taxi to salou. The thompson rep dean needs a gold badge he was brilliant always sorting things out nothing was ever too much,not much night life around the area but that's not what we were looking for lovely place for food about 6mins walk from hotel called water front beautiful English food we eat there most days. Rooms were nice and brilliant air con!! Only problem is you don't get a fridge or a kettle so can be a bit frustrating keeping drinks cool in the room but they are available to hire shops over the road are brilliant and sell so much for small shops ...hope you all enjoy holiday as we sure did :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunshine1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a multi national family oriented fun hotel. It's not the poshest or most modern hotel but it's not trying to be be. It's casual, laid back welcoming and relaxing.
The beach is literally on a gorgeous clean, long white sandy beach. The waters are clear and are shallow for quite a way out which is good for children.
The hotel itself offers a daily range of activities run by the best animacion team we've seen, they work tirelessly to ensure you and your kids have a fantastic holiday. If it's not your thing then you don't have to get involved but it's lots of fun if you do! Huge thanks to the fabulous David, Jose, Dominika, Anete, Madara, Inta and Fritz oh and Goldy too :-)
The mini disco is fab for the kids and the songs are infectious and will stick in your head for weeks to come.
There's loads to do for the kids - 4yrs+ can get involved in the hotel run activities which run on and off from 10.30am to 11pm at night. There is also a Thomson kids club which takes 3 -12yrs which runs alongside the hotel one. Both were hugely enjoyed by our daughter who is 7.
There is entertainment every night at 10pm ranging from the usual karaoke to the Bejing Acrobats who were great. Every Tuesday the Animacion team do their own shows which are really quite funny and the Popstars evening is one not to be missed!
For the first time we didn't really have a problem getting a sunbed near the pool which was refreshing. The pool iteself is on the smaller side, considering the size of the hotel but with the beach on the doorstep it's not too much of a problem. Beware though the sides of the pool are pretty slippy so take care!
The Thomson reps were really helpful and there is a swap section by there desk in reception where you can get lilos, bucket and spades and inflatables for the beach so check here before buying new ones from the shops.
The dining area is big and there's a good selection of food to cater for most palets, it can get very busy though and again the floors can be a bit slippy so take care. Drinks are a bit on the pricey side but as you'd expect from a hotel. The waiting staff in the dining area are really nice and very efficient.
There are two happy hours during the afternoon for those guests visiting on a Half Board basis. 1pm - 2pm in the outside bar with the lovely Jose and 5pm to 6pm in the main bar.
The rooms on the whole are not the biggest or most modern however they are kept spotlessly clean by the friendly daily maid service (if required) as is the rest of the hotel.
If you have a poolside room which overlooks the terrace it will be noisier in the evening due to the entertaiment. You can always request a room on the other side of the hotel in advance if this is a problem. Transfer time is 15-40 mins depending on what order you are dropped off in which is good.
There is wifi reception, bar and some of the terrace but the connection was hit and miss, probably to do with the volume of users.
The resort itself is quiet with a few bars and restaurants and some shops selling the usual holiday consumables. For those looking for more in terms of nightlife Salou is around 10 minutes away.
This is was our second visit to this hotel and we would love to go back which seems to be a running theme when speaking to many of the other returning guests.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms get a good view of the beach or entertainment area but can be noisy in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#3 of 8 in La Pineda
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.5 mi away
Golden Port Salou
Golden Port Salou
#6 of 93 in Salou
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Donaire Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Donaire Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Address: Platja del Raco, 43840 La Pineda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Family Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Donaire Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Donaire Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Donaire Beach
Golden Donaire Park
Golden Donaire Beach La Pineda
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel La Pineda, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing