We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to be upgraded to a 4 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What can I say about this hotel? It's in an ideal location for going to spend the day on the beach, the staff (everyone from management to housekeeping) are really friendly and are always ready to greet you with a cheery "hola!" The food is excellent, we only had breakfast and dinner last year but we are looking forward to lunch this year as well. I was a fool and after a night out in Salou I had lost the hotel room keycard in the taxi on the way home! However, the night reception staff waved this off as no problem at all and activated a new one for me without any hassle.

The drinks are not overpriced at all and if you do decide you wish to eat out it is located in a prime area for all kinds of restaurants and the promenade stalls and shops have something to interest everyone. The hotel has great activities for the kids and adults... The Golden Games are a particular highlight!

Then at nighttime, since it is located in La Pineda as opposed to central Salou, it is nice and quiet although there is still a lot of activity along the seafront until late. I saw that this place was the No2 place to stay in La Pineda... It should be No1!!! You will not be disappointed with a family holiday in this hotel.

PS. The cleanliness is 2nd to none. The rooms are cleaned daily unless you use to door sign to specify otherwise and they are left spotless.

Room Tip: Any room with a seaview is fantastic. However if you happen to get a room on either side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunWorshipper764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

One of the best hotels that I have stayed in, rooms cleaned and beds made daily.
Would urge everyone to go All Inclusive because you will not go hungry as breakfast, lunch and dinner are all great - no need to eat out.
We went as a family of 5 for one week and only spent 750 Euros and that was including 2 trips to the massive water park (10 minute walk from hotel) and a Catamaran trip on the Med which came to approx 375 euros.
Great value for money and hotel right on the beach.
The entertainment staff put on free activities - archery, piston and rifle shooting, pool, darts, shuffleboard, beach football and volleyball, water basketball and shows on every night.
Only downside would be there are a lot of Russians, most signs have Russian as the first language even before Spanish, but saying that they keep themselves to themselves and don't mingle.

Room Tip: 2 Rooms are usually together with their own closed outside door, so ideal for children as they are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is well maintained, and very clean. Food was outstanding, there was 12 in the group and a few fussy eaters, but not 1 person moaned. Never bothered with hotel day entertainment, so cannot comment. Night entertainment was not the best but helped us get to bed early for the activities the next day. Went to many places, some went to Barcelona trip with the local bus tour, which they all enjoyed. And it worked out a lot cheaper than doing the Thomson excursion. Went to waterpark, which was a 15 minute walk from hotel, paid an extra 2 euros each and had a pink band to allow us all to go in for a second day. May consider getting speedy pass next time. If pink bands snap of the kids wrists through the week, keep them and park was fine, don't panic that you won't get them in. Went to Bonavista Market, it was the worst thing we did all holidays. Got pickpocketed and never felt a thing, very scary with 3 young children. Would advise not to go with children, and do not take any thing of importance with you (ie.passports, all your money, or cards). Did put a dampener on the holiday. The market is over crowded and the stalls are full of fruit and junk! If you would like to see thieves in operation, take no money and just an empty wallet and see if it is there at the end! Apart from that, and not getting my luggage on way home, hotel and holiday was awesome.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank mission b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel for the first time, as a complete random pick, based on price and location. We are a young family with an 18 month old daughter and 12 year old daughter.
We went with the all inclusive option, and a family room for the four of us for two weeks.
We were part of a large group, with all ages there so was a bit sceptical about the hotel, but we couldn't be happier with the selection, and had a fantastic time.

Where to start;

The Restaurant:

Very impressed with the selection and quality. There wasn't any repetitive items at dinner (apart from chips!) and there were plenty of different meats/fishes available each night. The chefs freshly preparing items in front of you was a surprise, and very tasty, the gammon was probably the best I'd ever had, carved straight off the joint in front of me. Having to cater for a toddler aswell was a bit of a worry, but the selection was wide enough that there was always something different to choose from. The only mealtime which came repetitive was breakfast, but there is enough available to mix it up. The restaurant service is also superb, being waited on a soon as you arrive and continually until you leave. There were also plenty of high chairs to make use of.

The Rooms:

We had a family room for the two of us, a 12 year old girl, and a toddler. The fairly small room had a double bed, a single bed and a cot waiting for us. The rooms are not luxury at all, the beds were uncomfortable from what we were used to, but we made do. The bathroom was large and adequate enough for us. We were worried about the balcony before coming with a toddler, but once we'd seen it there was no problem. The balcony height is around 4ft, and very sturdy.
Our room overlooked the main beach road, which also gave us a view of the beach and pool area.
It took us a couple of days to figure out the aircon, and had the patio door open. Noise wasn't really an issue for us, and we were probably downstairs creating it! The only early night we had, did give us a problem with noise from the shows, but its all wrapped up for midnightish.
The maid service isn't anything special, beds made and fresh towels. A lot of the sand we brought up from the first day was still there when we left, and the room didn't get a thorough cleaning, but it didn't create an issue for us.
There was a TV with a selection of different channels, Disney Channel was a result for us! There is a safe you can pay a deposit to use; there isn't much hanging space or draw space so be careful of that. Other than that, nothing really to tell you about; pretty basic.

The Beach and surroundings:

In a word, superb!
The water was so warm, we were in it more often than not.
Nice soft sand, and plenty of room to sunbathe. You can hire a sunbed for €5 for the day.
The water is very shallow for a good 50-60 yards before it drops off, so safe enough for the little ones.
The looky looky men were all over the place which became irritating; FYI they'll sell anything for €5, so if you pay anything more than that you're not haggling hard enough!
I'd definitely recommend a massage of one of the ladies, only €5 for a decent 10 minute massage.
La Pineda is a 5 minute walk away, and has nice restaurants and shops.
The Aquopolis waterpark is a 10 minute walk, and is a great day out. There is a specific toddler section for those with toddlers.
Salou is worth a visit, not much different from any other spanish town, but plenty of English bars around for a drink in the day, and a night on the tiles if you fancy it.

The Pool:

Looks small on the website, but big enough to accommodate us. With the hotel being right on the beach, you'll never get everyone from the hotel at the pool at the same time. Be careful of the slippery tiles around the pool! There is a small baby pool aswell if you have little ones. Never had a problem with it; get your towels down early if you want to stay there all day though.

The Bars:

Being all inclusive, we made full us of the wristband. The main bar was good, and you could get pretty much anything you want locally branded. If you are AI, you can pay €1 for branded drinks. There is also a bar by the pool which is open a certain times in the day. A good selection in there aswell. There is a waiter service during the evening entertainment which was bang on.

Facilities:

The hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful and sorted anything we asked; extra pillows, small problems etc.
The lifts are a bit temperamental; a bit of nuisance with a buggy at busy times, but only had to wait 5 minutes at the most.
The snack bar is good for the kids; serving chips, hot dogs, toasties, burgers etc all day.

AND FINALLY, The Entertainment (saving the best for last):

The Entertainment team are just brilliant. We had the pleasure of meeting David and his team, and grew to love them by the end of the two weeks.
During the day, they ran activities in and around the hotel, pool and beach, which kept us all entertained for two weeks. For the little ones, there is a kids club with a wide variety of things to do. The pool games are a big hit; water polo/volleyball/basketball. They also run beach football/volleyball, and also boules on the beach, rifle/pistol shooting, archery, poker/blackjack....the list is endless.
They do a presentation of medals and certificates for winners also, which is good fun.
From around 19:30 each night there is facepainting then a kids mini-disco where they dance on stage to kids music; decent fun for the littles ones, (and the adults who have been on the beers all day!).
From 20:00 there is bingo each night, then from 21:00 there is a different show. The Beijing Acrobats was a personal favourite; there was a different show every night for two weeks.
They really do a fantastic job all day, and made our holiday great fun. A special mention to David, Jose and Aneta, for managing to put up with us for two weeks, and getting involved with the banter!

Overall, the shortfalls in the hotel are covered by the fantastic location, superb restaurant and fantastic entertainment team.

Would definitely recommend this for family looking for an eventful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking reception and the terrace are quieter. The AirCon only works when the patio door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank HitmanHeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from the Golden Donaire Beach Hotel after our second visit after out first visit which was excellent.

Room
We stayed in a room on the sixth floor and it had an excellent sea view, pool view, and a spectacular view of the La Pineda sea front, we could not have asked for a better room as far as views are concerned.
Everything in the room was clean and tidy, we being a group of 3 asked for one single bed and a double bed, which we got.
However, although it was not a major issue, the beds we're basic, with very thin covers and a pillow smaller than you will see anywhere else! Overall we slept well in our room apart from the last few nights where a group of French yobs we're talking and playing cards ALL NIGHT which kept us awake. They even did this on the eve of our flight back home so we got little sleep.

Pool(s)
There are 3 pools in the outside area of the hotel, the largest being for all ages, a smaller one for the kids and a jacuzzi-style pool in another area. The largest pool was without a doubt exceptionally cold (even in Spain) so it was extremely hard to relax whilst entering the pool especially if there was a breeze; sometimes we just got out and got back on our sunbeds because of the cold. The jacuzzi was no better, even that was very cold.
There was (as in most hotels) a rush to get a good sunbed in the morning when they open the outside area at 8am. There are plenty of sunbeds so as long as you are down there by 8am you should get one. There is also a row of shaded sunbeds but they are quick to go.

Bar
The bar serves a wide range of soft drinks, alcohol and cocktails so take your pick. If you are staying all inclusive (like we did) you have unlimited soft drinks and alcohol until 11pm. After then you have to pay. We had no problems with the bar.

Snack Bar
The snack bar is situated next to the bar and serves fast food such as hot dogs, chips and pizzas which we're all very nice. The items that we're lower in price (such as the hot dogs) we're free to AI members so we often just popped into the snack bar for lunch whenever we needed something quick.

Beach
If you want a hotel on the beach, it doesn't get much better than this. Literally after taking a few steps outside you are on the beach which is great especially if you have a lot of beach stuff to carry such as loungers or drinks. However, I particularly did not like this beach, simply because it is choking with tens of salesmen nagging you ALL DAY to buy their sunglasses/caps/watches. I even saw one selling DRESSES on the beach. Who would want to buy a DRESS on the beach?! There we're also a bunch of women going round asking you if you want a massage. Literally in the space of an hour, we had about 10 of them ask us if we wanted a massage. Once the sun went down all of the salesmen/women simply travelled to the front promenade and laid their stuff down on display, and tried to sell you stuff there!
It can also get very windy on this beach and if it does prepare to face numerous sandstorms, the sand literally gets everywhere and it is very uncomfortable.

Food
The restaurant is where you would get your breakfast, lunch and dinner on a daily basis. The (continental) breakfast was very good and served all of the stuff you would want in a typical full English, such as beans, sausages, bacon etc. The bacon was served in strips and half of each strip was fat, and the fat would often stick to the edible part so was difficult to cut and eat properly. By all means if you like to eat the fat, there's no problem, but we didn't. The sausages we're a little undercooked and we're often hard to cut into pieces because of this. One day the sausages we're better cooked and they tasted a lot nicer but this was a rare occurrence. Everything else was fine.
Lunch and Dinner was very random, and I mean, VERY random. One day there was cod portions in batter, chips and BRUSSELS. It seemed there was often be a random meat or vegetable completely unrelated to everything else which was put out. The meat we did eat was nice, especially the Turkey which we got on a Sunday. If there's one day you eat at this restaurant it should be Sunday, as this is when they serve roast meats which are very nice. It was sometimes difficult to get a table, but when we did we we're served drinks efficiently by one of the waiters. It was VERY loud in the restaurant and it was especially annoying when kids would run around unsupervised or cry constantly while their parents didn't care.

Reception
The reception staff we're welcoming and we checked in at 12pm when we arrived at 11am; if you arrive early there's a luggage room where you can put your suitcases while you go and have a drink or a walk on the beach. You are given your AI wristbands even if you arrive early which is good.

Arcades & Facilities
All of your typical arcade + entertainment facilities we're present. There are many computers in which you can access the internet for a time depending on how much money you insert into the machine, there was a stacker machine full of keyring prizes (DO NOT go for the Major Prize. It is proven that it is impossible to win it so don't waste your money!). There are a few grabber machines, 4 pool tables (these can get busy in the evening but are usually empty around mid-day) and other entertainment machines.

Entertainment
The day-time entertainment was excellent and the entertainment team worked well together, apart from one chap called Fritz who didn't seem to do anything with the others. He would usually sit in silence when he did an activity to do with people. However, David, Jose and Anete we're fabulous entertainers and did activities throughout the day for people of all ages. The evening entertainment stated with Bingo with less than impressive prizes considering how much money they get for the tickets. The best prize you got was a bottle of wine or a t-shirt. There is an act after the bingo which is either performed by the entertainment team or by an outside group. About the best outside group we saw was 'Beijing Acrobats' which was very impressive. Other than that, the entertainment team did the best acts, all of the other outsider groups we're either a repeat of the previous night or we're terrible overall.

Thomson
We flew with Thomson and I have to say their reps we're not around as much as we would have liked. They only seemed to be around in the evening time, or when they wanted some of your money. They would claim that they would provide better deals for excursions but this was not always the case. The reps we're helpful when they we're around however and solved any problems we had.

Staff
The best part about this hotel is the staff. All of the bar waiters we're nice and served drinks efficiently, and they we're happy to have a conversation with us at any time. The poor guys work over 12 hours a day and we're not miserable in any way. The reception staff as previously stated we're welcoming and helpful. The restaurant staff also work 12+ hours a day and never seem to relieve their smile which was very impressive. They also served you drinks efficiently and happily.

People
Our fellow stayers and people around the hotel we're fine, we had no problem with the local Spanish people or any other British Tourists in the area. However, it was the French and Russian tourists which seemed to always look miserable and we're annoying to us personally. For example, most of the French tourists we're groups of teenagers or young adults and we had one group literally start playing football RIGHT NEXT TO US on the beach, and didn't seem to care when the ball inevitably hit us. They just said: 'excuse me' rather than 'sorry'. Very rude. Another group of French we asked to be quiet after they we're making so much noise in their room at gone mid-night. They quietened at first but then progressively got louder. They obviously didn't care about other people in the hotel.
The Russians we're just generally rude, giving you dirty looks if you we're British and pushing themselves around as if they think they should be first in line for everything.

Overall, we mostly enjoyed our stay apart from the large amount of screaming kids everywhere in the hotel, FLIES which would continuously land on you no matter how many times you swayed them away, and other rude tourists. We may be returning here, but if you want a peaceful holiday, I wouldn't recommend coming here as it is mainly aimed at kids. If you have kids, here is probably the best value for money you will get.
Thank-you for reading.

Room Tip: Rooms which had a view of the pool and the resort we're the best. They we're situated on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have been going on holiday with my family for years, we enjoy most of our holidays but always look forward to trying somewhere new the following year.

For the first time ever the whole family want to go back next year ! our group consisted of two Children aged 5 and 7 3 adults aged 31, 33 and 62. We all loved this hotel, the staff the food ! it really was that good.

How this is a 3 star I have no idea, rooms basic yes but how much time did we spend in the room, 1hr a day maybe max.

I would like to thank the entertainment staff for everything, they work so hard ! David and his team were faultless, we felt safe there ! friendly kind and nothing was to much trouble.
We never let our kids go to kids club and for the first time we did here ! Madara was fantastic with my daughter and both kids had an amazing time.

There is always something to do, never a dull moment !!

The food was 5 star for me, we stayed two weeks and we always go out 2 or 3 times for food as all inclusive can be a little repetitive! Not here, we never eat out once ! for the first time I went to the kitchen area and thanked the head chef as the food was faultless.

There is not much shade next to the sunbeds but you can walk 5 meters towards the bar and there are seats to sit in the shade.

If I could rate this 10 stars I would, Amazing !

Cant wait to see you next year.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room if you dont get one and they will change it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been visiting this hotel since 1995, (quite often twice a year) when my parents introduced us to it.
I have never written a review as I feel the amount of people who holiday here, usually people like ourselves who visit regularly say it all.
I am writing this as somehow on trip advisor I was taken into the terrible reviews, which I have never read before!
Well I was so shocked I can't tell you. I am one very hard person to please, I am picky and sometimes told I am a snob!
The people who have written these reviews must of stayed in a different hotel because I can not relate to the majority of their complaints/upsets. Particulary about rude staff, they have always been pleasant friendly and unbelievably helpful. This is from Pepe on reception (who used to be a dining room waiter) to the bar staff and chambermaids.
If I have ever had cause to complain i.e. hard beds, more pillows needed, we have just reported it to reception and the problem was sorted within a couple of hours. If you don't ask you don't get, simple!
Regarding the food - well there is always something good to eat even if your picky like me or faddy like my youngest daughter who lives off ham! The dining room staff work very hard to keep it turning over so you dont have to wait long at its busiest times. I will say that the last half hour for breakfast produces a queue as people want to stay in bed longer, but this queue soon diminishes.
The hotel is immaculately clean, we have never seen it dirty. When it is windy the reception can become filled with sand but what do you expect with a hotel that is on the beach! There are ladies continually sweeping the sand out of reception and off the stairs.
The entertainment has always been great from the many daily activities for all ages to the different acts on in the evening. Granted it will not be to everyones taste, but again there is something for everyone. The only evening I don't like it is karaoke night, a pet hate of mine! This is solved by going for a stroll along the Pineda Drink to La Pineda itself were we will browse the shops and have a couple of quiet drinks. Yes the hotel does get noisy when the entertainment is on but that is what I associate with a good family holiday.
All in all this is a great family holiday, a brilliant hotel sitting on the beach within close proximity to a water park and a fantastic theme park. Tarragona, Salou and other places of interest are a short bus ride away. Barcelona is about an hours drive away, well worth a visit but we advise you take the train, bus or coach, don't make the mistake we made and take the car!!!
Book now and enjoy, we always do : )

Room Tip: Ask for pool view if your happy with the pool noise and evening entertainment. If you like a quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.1 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#3 of 8 in La Pineda
451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Golden Port Salou
Golden Port Salou
#5 of 93 in Salou
1,691 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.0 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Donaire Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Donaire Beach Hotel

Address: Platja del Raco, 43840 La Pineda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Family Hotel in La Pineda
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range: £39 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Donaire Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Donaire Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Donaire Beach
Golden Donaire Park
Golden Donaire Beach La Pineda
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel La Pineda, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing