We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

my husband and i took our two children here at the beginning of June and i must say i thought the hotel was fantastic.when we arrived the first thing i noticed was the spectacular lobby and it smelled beautiful. the rooms were spotlessly clean and were serviced every day. it was very quiet the week we were there and the children mostly had the pool to themselves which was great. there was a large selection of food in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly and attentive.the bar staff were lovely and always very friendly.I was so impressed with the childrens entertainers they were absolutely fantastic and they made my children so welcome and treated them so well. It was my sons 7th birthday while we were there and they had a party for him at the mini disco with cake balloons etc.The kids club was from 11.00am-1pm and then again from 3.30pm-7.00pm so it gives parents time to themselves.the beach is a short walk away and there is a nice relaxed strip, although if you want more lively you can take the bus into salou which is not far.I will definitely be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank elaineo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    313
    145
    56
    52
See reviews for
533
182
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel at the end of May 2014 with my daughter and must say it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very clean and well maintained and the food was good with a wide selection at all times.

I'm always a bit baffled by reviews which seem to be unhappy with the fact that staff and other guests are Spanish - it is in Spain after all! We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly, and all the guests were similarly pleasant. I also have to pay special tribute to the animacion team - while my 5 year old daughter didn't go to the kids club (which was recommended) the team were fantastic with all the kids of all nationalities at the mini disco. My daughter had a ball, and they made her very welcome.

The hotel is well located in La Pineda, about 5 minutes from a nice quiet beach, 15 minutes from Aquopolis and adjacent to a bus stop connecting to Port Aventura, Barcelona etc. We visited Port Aventura a few times and tended to taxi rather than get the bus - 5 mins versus 45 mins and around €10 rather than €5 for the two of us. Pineda itself is fairly quiet, but a nice enough place. There is a nice, clean beach and a water park and plenty of choice for eating out. Not a lot of English pubs or fish and chips, so if that's your thing probably best to stay in Salou.

All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for families for a quiet break

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the pool was nice and quiet. Some of the outward facing rooms would have a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

went to this hotel in april of this year, read some of the reviews some people had left for this hotel and couldnt believe they were talking about the same hotel, some had left messages berating the hotel i found none of this the hotel was lovely the staff outstanding and couldnt do more to help with anything you wanted, it was just me and my husband that went for his birthday had an exceptional time and want to go back asap, so guys dont believe all you read from bad hotel reports.

Room Tip: all rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kazstu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Me and my mum visited this hotel for a week in May. Upon arrival after a very stressful transfer experience we were welcomed by a nice gent who checked us in and gave us a pacl lunch as we arrived at 1am and had not eaten. The rooms and the communal areas of the hotel are spotless!! The outdoor pool area was also very clean. We arrive on a thursday and the hotel was very quiet on the Friday day time, we were the only people around the pool. From Friday eveing until Sunday the hotel was very busy with Spanish families visiting for the weeekend which made the hotel a bit more lively. The food was good at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Cooked breakfasts not quite like you get in UK but thats to be expected. There was a chef at the buffet every lunch and dinner freshly cooking meat and fish. Sometimes the food could be cold but that would be my only complaint. The buffet would be good for kids with a separte mini buffet section. Waiting staff were very good and efficient. Selection of drinks such as soft drinks, wine and beer available. I did not really have any snacks between meals but I know crisps were included in the all inclusive which you could get from the bar. The bar area was big and the bar staff lovely although it did have a bit of a cold feel due to the hard seating. We only sat to watch the entertainment on one night and there was bingo with a kids disco. The entertainer spoke a variety of languages so everyone could join in the bingo. A noisy couple were in the room next to us and kept us awake on 2 occasions, we mentioned this to the recceptionist who moved us straight away to another room. In terms of location the hotel is on the edge of a quiet resort about 15 mins from the busier Salou. There is a fantastic bus service from just down thr road from the hotel. You can buy a bus card for 15 euro and it gives you 10 trips on the bus to any stop. Overall a fantastic break away and would recommend this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are lovely but can be nosy from the entertainment at night. The other rooms face ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

When we booked this hotel through LowCost Holidays, we thought that although it was classed as a 4 star, it would probably be a 2.5 or 3 star such has been our experience in Spain. However, we were most pleasantly surprised when it did indeed turn out to be 4*. The rooms were spotlessly clean with two 3/4 beds. The public areas were also spotless as was the pool area. The hotel bar was functional but not comfortable. I would class it as having a "canteen effect "with lots of amusement and games consoles. The breakfast buffet was well provided for although dinner was not up to much. In fact we ate out for 3 of the 7 nights we were there.
If you wish to go to the livlier resort of Salou, busses stop right outside the hotel and take about 10 mins. The fare is cheap (euro 2.15) and the service is very frequent.
The staff including the room maids were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The only downside as far as we were concerned (although it is not a big deal) is that apart from BBC News Worldwide, there are no English language programmes.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definately book again

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies although south facing rooms overlook the pool and can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I went with college on the trip the room was great and the facilities, I did not see the spa/indoor pool and gym but was told the indoor pool wasn't very nice.The food improved towards the end of our stay but at the beginning the food was rubbish.We were told we had to pay for drinks and we found out towards the end of the trip that we could have free milkshake and fruit juice.Service could be a little bit better as we were waiting to order drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We Staying for 7 nights which I think is an ample amount of time at this hotel on an all inclusive package. When we arrived we were told that the room wasn't ready, I asked if we could go and get a drink at the bar etc and was told this wouldn't be a problem, however I would need to pay for this as they wouldn't give us our bands until check in was finished. I was a little taken aback with this, it's never been a problem in any other hotels. We finally got checked in around about a hour later, room was lovely and clean and we had a view over looking the theme park in the distance which brought many nights of enjoyment watching the rides etc.. The hotel is situated at the end of the resort close to an oil refinery, this didn't cause any bother no smell etc came from the plant so it was put out the back of our minds, apart from that it's only a small stroll to the closest bars and restaurants. La Pineda is a lovely quiet resort it's very popular with the Spanish as this seems to be their holiday resort of choice. For quite a few days we were the only British people in the hotel. It was a struggle to get a sunbed in the morning around the pool so we would walk to the beach which was only 5 mins away then head back in the afternoon when they all disappear for their siesta, then you have the pick of the full pool where you wanted to relax. The food is nothing to write up about, I think this was mainly because it was catering for the Spanish taste buds, but I always was able to find something, the salads were extremely fresh and there was always plenty of fish dishes. The only thing that annoyed me about the all inclusive part was the snacks that were promised during the day, this included a packet of crisps or a stale sandwich and ham, cheese if you were lucky. Not really all inclusive at its best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leanne96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
1.1 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
764 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#3 of 8 in La Pineda
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
290 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Pineda Park
Apartamentos Pineda Park
#1 of 8 in La Pineda
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Hacienda

Property: Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Address: Plaza de la Union Europa 1, 43481 La Pineda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
#4 Family Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel La Hacienda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel La Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel La Pineda
Gran Hacienda Hotel
Gran Hotel La Hacienda La Pineda, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing