We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with little to fault.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week starting 15th of June. As written in every other review here, the hotel is 90% English guests over 50, but this really didnt bother us. Im there to holiday with my girlfriend not the other guests. Were are both 19/20 and never felt uncomfortable there.

The hotel is at the top of the hill overlooking the cove and there are stunning views from the north facing side.Rooms are an adequate size and theres everything you would need in there to keep you happy. We had a standard room with a balcony over the pool which caught the sun every afternoon. The pool area was small but never overcrowded. You could always find a sunbed any time during the day, (even if some of the residents reserved them at 8am) breakfast was brillaint with all you could ask for (cereals, full english, continental etc) We only stayed half board so weren't offered lunch but dinner was always nice. Although there was alot of the same each night the themed extras (chinese, mexican) were nice, and the food was always warm!

Staff are all very friendly and the maids work exceptionally hard. The hotel was spotless! The people moaning its far to the beach and that the bus is needed are clearly part of the older clientell. Its about 400 metres, down a hill and a few flights of stairs but its nothing thats going to kill you. We did it everyday in 27 degree heat. On the way down to the beach theres a small Spa supermarket which stocks all you'd need for your holiday and a few restaraunts. The beach was beautiful with crystal clear water and never got to busy. Its 15 Euro to rent 2 sunbeds and a parasol for a day which seemed perfectly fair.

Do not!! book excursions online or through Thomson at the hotel. They are very limited (about 3 or 4) and expensive. 26 euro for a coach to mahon?! If you follow the main road from the hotel down to the seafront road just above the spa and turn left you'll find Nura Travel run by a really great English guy called Roger. He can tell you all you need to know about getting around and things to see on the island and he runs much much better excursions every day for about half the price of the thomson ones. Your picked up from the hotel and dropped back aswell so no extra effort. I really couldnt reccoment seeing him enough!

Overall we had a brilliant holiday and I'd reccomend the hotel to anyone. Its got a warm friendly atmosphere, clean nice rooms and has great beaches close by!

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank patrick2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,737 - 1,743 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed at the Fiesta Castell Playa June 2011 for birthday and anniversary celebration.

Advertised as a 4* Gold by Thomson, however the hotel quite rightly rates itself as 3* - I have no idea what criteria Thomson use to upgrade but it's definately not 4* compared to other Spanish hotels i've been in.

First impressions when I pulled up to the hotel were that it looks dated on the outside, however inside it gets better. The receptionist who greeted us was not the most cheerful, maybe she had been there a little too long since a younger lady who was also there was much more helpful.

The hotel is advertised as All Inclusive, which again it definately is not. Full board with drinks is probably a better description since everything else is extra or requires deposits : Room safe, pillows, TV remote, towels, many of the drinks.

Rooms are fine, the air-con is a little basic and noisy and the walls paper thin but that can be a benefit as when the person next door starts shuffling around at 6am to go and park their towels by the pool (not ever say its the Germans who do this) then it reminds you to do the same.

Restaurant was ok, a little monotonous and unfortunately they appear to cater for the dreaded Brits abroad who seem to stick to burgers and chips - please be proud of your local cuisine and cook more of it as the local food that was on show was good.

The restaurant has a rule of no shorts for gents in the evening - no idea why as the restaurant could not be classed as 'posh' and women can wear whatever they wish. The waiting staff were first class, very efficient and polite.

There is another rule which says no food may be taken out of the restaurant which is understandable however the hotel need to remind their staff of this also : everyday for breakfast and lunch (12 sharp) one of the older receptionists and a lady I presume to be head of cleaning would sit together and pile their plates up with bread, meat, cheese, etc, and then put it in their bags - terrible example to set.

Pool area was okay however very cramped with little sun. Again, the staff were the saving factor with this - very good for drinks service however the pool guy was a little awkward and would not lay out the larger beds and moaned when people moved things around. Please venture out and down to the beach, it is amazing, clear and clean, however the hotel has no beds down there but the sand is fine to lay on.


Overall, the hotel is fine if you expect full board, with drinks, at a 3* standard. If you expect 4* all inclusive and base this on other resorts in the Med, Egypt, or Carribbean, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkCPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Had a great holiday in Arenal. The hotel was ok but not the usual Thompson Gold standard. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. We had a high floor room overlooking to pool. It was quiet at night except when there was entertainment outside. Breakfast was between 8am and 10am. On the whole, this was good, but the scrambled egg was powdered. Breakfast time was extremely busy. Evening meal was between 6.30pm and 9pm. The food was not very good for vegetarians and was not clearly labeled. There was a good selection of meats, however very much the same every night. There was themed nights, such as Mexican and Italian. .Gentlemen can not wear shorts for dinner, which is not ideal when the temperaure is 32 degrees. The location is great and only a short walk to the beach, although there are many steps down. There are local buses to Mahon which are regular in the summer. There is also a great coastal walk to Son Parc.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Hotel Castell Playa was a quiet relaxing hotel, The staff were very attentive and always happy and smiling with tables being waited on continuosly,
The room was excellent as was the maid service , thx Merci
The hotel location is as descibed in brochure,
Entertainment was ok but needed a bit more thought for the younger guests (over 30s)We're not oaps yet!! R we Kev n Hilary!
Food and Drink was plentful during restaurant opening hours, but dont ask for anything inbetween these hours cos theres no snacks ere!! we tried every night at 23.30 to get 4 chesseburgers but they just smiled at us..
Overall we were very satisfied.
Mal / Wendy

Room Tip: sea view rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malfox62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Fiesta for two weeks in June and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in an excellent spot and we had a room on the 5th floor with a sea view which was well worth the extra cost. The rooms are not very large but more than adequate with flat-screen TV with a couple of English channels (refundable deposit for the remote control from reception) a well-appointed bathroom, air-con and fridge, balcony with table, chairs and washing line and cleaned to a high standard every day. There is a safe which costs 4 Euros a day and if you decide to use it, DO NOT follow the instructions on the safe! They are out of date and you need to contact reception for a code number.
Food was plentiful and always well-cooked and presented and there was a different theme every night. Those who aren't all-inclusive should know that you must pay each night for any drinks taken with your meal and there's a small counter near the main door where a slightly miserable man will take your money!
The pool area looked a bit cramped and so we avoided it and went out every day. The beds are squeezed so close together that there is barely room to walk between them.
The evening entertainment wasn't our style so we went out to the local bars which close quite early (2230 to 2300) and occasionally went back to the hotel and had another drink in the "quiet bar" which is one floor down from the main bar and is equipped with a couple of TVs.
The hotel is on a hill overlooking a bay and the beach is reached by steps which are steep enough on the way down and even steeper on the way up! The beach itself is clean with a large area kept free of sunbeds which, in June 2011, were five Euros each, plus five Euros for an umbrella.
We hired a car from Toni at Arenal Rentals which is near the supermarket across the first main road from the hotel and while the car was neither brand new nor spotlessy clean it did its job perfectly well and at 117.00 Euros for five days was a lot cheaper than hiring through the reps.
There is an ATM nearby, on the road by the Outback Bar, although it was usually broken and the next one is at the supermarket in the White Sands complex about ten minutes walk away.
Smokers, remember that ordinary shops do not sell fags and the one Tobacconist in the resort is only open between July and September. The Outback bar and the restaurant/bar Copas which is on the beach have cigarette machines, but may not sell English brands.
The nearest bus stop is five minutes away and while the timetable is a bit erratic (especially on Sunday when the bus back from Mahon leaves before the bus from the resort arrives), travel is cheap at 2.10 Euros to Mahon and buses are clean and punctual and an ideal way to travel round the island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

As he title suggests,this hotel has everything.But that is dependant on what type of holiday you require.Quiet with no kids and able to relax then this is for you,wanting fun in the sun and discos then seek elsewhere.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent,the rooms are very clean.The pool area is a bit cramped so the people usually get up early and put towels on the sunbeds likely to recieve the most shade.There is an excellent beach at the bottom of the hill with clear safe waters.We have just returned after 2 weeks, and would definately return.

Room Tip: add 56 euros for safety deposit box
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sp1re1te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

just back from 2 weeks at hotel castell,read a few reviews before i went but found the hotel fine,first week the weather wasnt too clever,second week was fine,the food was really good,no one would starve,theres that much choice,the service is next to none,especially paco,you do however have to be up early for a sunbed,it was getting into high season when we left and a sign was put ouy about reserving sunbeds though.the entertainment was a bit naff,a duo every night probarbly better suited to childrens entertainment,but been to some hotels with none so cant grumble to much,only downside was that there is no where to go for a walk after tea,its also very hilly but went for a relaxing holiday and thats what we had.room was exellent,a jaccusi in bath,cleaned to a high standard every day,tea and coffee replenished every day,really exellent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mitchall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,784 reviews
11.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
19 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Son Parc
550 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,370 reviews
4.2 mi away
Carema Garden Village
Carema Garden Village
#3 of 5 in Fornells
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

Address: Paseo Passarell;Arenal Castell, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa**** is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. This totally refurbished adults only hotel is perfectly located to spend your best relaxing and romantic holidays with your other half ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing