We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"see for yourself"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arenal d'en Castell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“"see for yourself"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

After reading some previous reviews that were not so good of this hotel, my partner was not at all convinced it was the place for us. We were travelling with her son (J) who has Down's Syndrome, so she is wary of going anywhere people appear 'unfriendly'. Well...... those reviews could not have been further from the truth! On arrival, we were made more than welcome by the reception staff, we had asked for a low floor/quiet room, and that is what we got. Our room had a large double bed, and a standard size single.Other hotels were only offering a camp bed for the third bed, not ideal for a strapping 24 year old for 10 days.The room was well equipped, cleaned/tidied daily. Yes, you had to pay extra for remote (didn't bother, as tv still worked without, and besides your on hols!!) Safe was extra, again, didn't use as we kept money on us.
Restaurant staff were extremely friendly especially Epi, Antonia, Juan and Mateo who looked after us, and spoilt J on his 24th birthday with a bottle of champagne, decorating our table in the evening and making him the most beautiful chocolate cake! The food was plentiful, with different dishes each night, and the chef cooking fresh most evenings. Even the pickiest of eater would be able to find something to eat I am sure. Yes, they clear your plate away quite quickly after you have finished, but far better than having to sit with dirty plates on the table for ages. At no time did we feel that we were being rushed to vacate our table.
On to the entertainment staff ; Selina and Adam are the stars of our holiday, outstanding and excellent at their jobs. We have been on lots of Thomson Gold hols, and this is the only one that we have got involved in ALL the activities/games throughtout the day. They encouraged J to take part in everything. Totally agree wth Ed2010, may be a 3 star hotel, but you get 5 star service. The acts we saw during our stay were very good Fake That, Whitney and the Brothers of Soul were excellent, although 'Rod Stewart' left a lot to be desired. He appeared to be using his own sound system and sounded like he was in a biscuit tin.No fault of Adam and Selina who were trying hard to rectify the problem, to no avail Bar staff service was excellent, and unlike previous experience of AI, we were never sitting with an empty glass. Paco, Mateo and Toni were great and a special mention and thank you to Zaida, who took a shine to J and wouldn't do the La Bomba waiters dance unless he was with her.Not much more to add except that we had a fantastic time, J was in his element and we made a few friendships along the way, which we hope will continue over here. Thanks everyone,

Room Tip: Sea view would probably be best, although we never had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sheddylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
There Sheddylondon!
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa and are pleased that you were satisfied with our staff, food, facilities and service of the hotel. We hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    618
    276
    52
    30
See reviews for
170
1,246
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just got back from 2nd visit to this hotel and agree with all the good comments on staff, particularly the waiters, barmen(and women) around the pool and the evening bar.

There are a few things which caught my attention. The outdoor jacuzzi doesn't work, the gents toilets near the pool have a strong odour of wee because the urinals don't flush and the showers around the pool do not work so if Thompsons and management read this please fix as it's the small things that soon at up.

Nothing much else to say as it's all been said other than that I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragster45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear dragster45!
Thank you very much for your comments and advice. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa and are pleased that you were satisfied with the staff of our hotel. We hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Wonderfull island stunning views, everyone should visit it once, quiet,definatetly not for those who like the Benidorm type of resorts, lots of walks, easy to see the whole island. Our hotel was situated high up on the side of a beautiful bay with stunning beach, I would not recommend it unless you are totally mobile reasonably fit and able to climb hills and steps. The hotel was very clean rooms cleaned to a high standard, hallways quiet as they are carpeted bars, reception , outside area, pool,lounges all clean and well maintained, all the staff were very obliging and helpfull, you met the management team and what thier roll was. A special mention must be made of our drinks waiter Pacco always quick, very courteous and always with a smile a credit to the hotel also the Thompsons entertainment staff work ver hard all day to entertain guests, the evening entertainment was a bit holidy camp and the resident duo Double Trouble amased me as dispite having backing and Carol playing the organ they always sang out of key in harmony, but there is nothing outside, and their is an alternative quiet lounge. The food was a good selection but a little tedious after ten days soggy vegitables every day and only one chef in the morning frying eggs, ommelettes and pancakes, to long to wait so eat early or late. but overall we as a group enjoyed the holiday

Room Tip: if you want a room which gets the morning sun but cool in afternoon pick one on the front with a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy, that you had a nice time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our location of the hotel, the staff and rooms. We hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

It's a 3 star hotel in the brochure and 3 stars is what it says on the front of the hotel..but it's a 5 star service you get. The staff are just fantastic.. nothing's too much trouble..always smiling and ready to help no matter how hard pressed they were. .No queuing for drinks at this place..the bar staff are outstanding.. you can sit around the pool all day or in the bar at night and watch the entertainment and not have to move.. they're constantly shuttling about seeing if you need another drink.. superb! For that reason alone..'all inclusive' is the way to go. This is a nice place.. they really look after you.. for example.. on our departure day.. the coach pick-up was 7.45am. The restaurant doesn't open for breakfast till 8am.. but they opened up early at 7.15 so we could have some breakfast.. What can you say about that?
We went for a week for my wife's 40th birthday.. and without us telling anyone .. reception sent up a bottle of sparkling wine - a nice touch. (they saw from her passport her date of birth)
Sea/Pool view? I'd go for the sea view.. as long as you're on floor 2 or above you'll be ok.. 1st floor is above the restaurant/ bar.. so well worth avoiding. From what I could make out of the pool view.. yes.. you DO get a view of the pool.. but you also get a nice view of the derelict.. half-built building behind the hotel.. together with the abandoned crane! so on balance for the very small extra..Sea view is well worth it.
As for the rooms..ours was the basic twin room. .and yes.. they are on the small side and basically furnished.. whirlpool bath and flat screen tele excepted! The tele had ITV.. Channel 4 and Sky news.. For 10 Euros you can get a remote control from reception (refunded when you hand it back) the remote allowed me to switch from analogue to digital.. this gave me BBC1/2 the BBC news channel..and some foreign channels..so get a remote..it's a no-brainer!
The restaurant is well set out..plenty of space between tables.. Queues sometimes form at the food area.. so go when it opens and you'll be ok..and yes.. the staff are a bit too quick sometimes.. by the time you've put your cutlery down and reached for your napkin.. they've taken the plate away!
What can I say about the entertainment staff? Led by Adam and Selina.. they are truly outstanding.. fantastic at their jobs. Highlights of the week were "I'm a Thompsons rep - get me out of here" done around the poolside on the Sunday.. if you're a fan of Hi-De-Hi - you will love this...and on one evening they did their version of "Thompsons got talent".. very funny.. in fact.. they're better than the so called 'professional' acts Thompsons have on there of an evening.
My only small gripes about the hotel are that EVERY drink has to be signed for.. tiresome at first.. but you get used to it.. and the pool IS small.. it slopes gently at both ends.. so the actual swimming area isn't that big.. but not many use the pool so it's no big deal. No problems with sun beds here and you can't get up early to bagsy the best places either... it was nice to see the staff remove the towels from those selfish gits that tried it.. would have been nice to see them throw the towels in the pool but that would have been asking too much!
The week we were there it was mainly older people and all Brits.. to be honest tho.. I don't know why young people would come here.. the hotel entertainment is geared towards the older clientele.. and there's nothing in the resort.. it's the smallest resort I've ever been to..it only has one bus stop..it's that small! with just a couple of shops.. bars and restaurants. The beach is nice.. good quality sand.
If you're looking for a nice quite holiday where you don't have to leave the hotel other than for a stroll along the beach- This place is definitely for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ed2010NorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy that you had a great time at our hotel and we are pleased that you were satisfied with our hotel services, staff, rooms and entertainment. We hope to see you again at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa or at another Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

On arrival this hotel didn't look pretty - a lot of concrete but inside it was fine . Rooms were clean & tidy and public rooms were very comfortable. It is not up to the usual Thomson Gold standard but having said that I had a great holiday.The staff were very helpful , especially Jesus in the quiet bar and in the restaurant despite the fact they spoke very little English they were always smiling and willing to help.

Adam and Selina ( the entertainment reps) were lovely - providing plenty of things to do throughout the day & you need that as the hotel is fairly isolated. Would I go back - yes I would .

Room Tip: The views across the bay are fabulous - worth having a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

we agree with all that the previous review said by Kaypee. The staff were fantastic , they all worked very hard and were lovely . Adam and Selena were great fun but if you didn't want to join in that was fine. The entertainment in the evening was good double trouble were good and everyone had a good laugh with them . we had a brilliant time and would recommend this hotel to anyone .
Would go thomson gold every time from now on .
mills508

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stella m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our services and we hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Just back from two weeks at the Castell Playa. The Hotel was fine, if in places in need of a little TLC, but the staff are great. We read some of the previous reviews and can only say, in our experience, that some of the staff must have changed! The reception staff were very friendly and always acknowledged you if you walked by, the waiting staff in the restaurant were attentive and quick in clearing places and making tables available (well done Epi, Kuki, Magda and Nina ) and the bar staff...wow. You would think in an all inclusive holiday they would be reluctant to get the drinks served....not here Paco, Juan, Jorges and everyone else were always on the going offering more drink.

The food was good albeit in week two there was a bit of repetition, but there was always something that took our fancy.

The balinese beds were super and added to the luxury round the pool. There is a "no reserved beds" policy and any towels left to reserve sun beds were removed by Ben doing his "towel police patrol" every morning - well done Thomsons.

There have been a number of comments on trip advisor about the entertainment. We enjoyed most of it. Double trouble were very versatile and when requests were made they seemed to be able to pull songs from the hat! The speciality acts were well presented, although not all were to our taste, but this is a personal choice.

Adam and Selena.....what can I say. I normally detest the company "animacion" team but they were great. We were chuckling at their antics, lifted by their enthusiasm, impressed with their memories of names and stories, and we loved their quips. They worked really hard to engage with all their guests. They organised a number of activities around the pool such as petanque, bean bag throwing (!), shuffleboard, water polo and the 4 o'clock quiz, but there is no pressure to get invloved. The hours that this pair work are amazing....Thomsons take note. With so many guests to please, they will not get it right everytime but, those who have commented negatively on their performance need to get a sense of humour injection.

On the negative front - the safe deposit boxes are expensive, as commented on by others, the pillow menu is a bit OTT, and the all inclusive drinks list is a little more restricted than other AI hotels we have stayed in...no cappaccino, no baileys etc. The hotel wifi is very expensive..the fortnight would have cost 60 euros. We signed up to the local Menorca wifi network and were only 16 euros for the fortnight. The rooms were a little on the small side and some days the room cleanlieness was not up to standard.

The resort itself is very quiet....not a clubbing destination, but the beach and the walks along the cliffs are amazing. Ideal if you just want to get away from the crowds and have a quiet peaceful holiday. Also, be aware that the hotel is on a hill and walking back up from the beach can be an effort. That said, the hotel do lay on a minibus that does hourly trips up and down from the hotel to the beach.

Overall....we had a great time and would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kaypee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.4 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
13.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Paraiso
Isla Paraiso
#2 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
10.5 mi away
Globales Lord Nelson
Globales Lord Nelson
#3 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
10.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

Property: Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Address: Paseo Passarell;Arenal Castell, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa**** is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. This totally refurbished adults only hotel is perfectly located to spend your best relaxing and romantic holidays with your other half ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing