We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned after a weeks holiday at the Fiesta. We had an enjoyable time, the hotel was comfortable, clean and the staff always cheery.
Before we went we read various reviews, some criticised the hotel as being a bit dated, others about the steep walk down to the beach, we didn't have any problem though.
This is a typical holiday hotel, it is clean and well kept, we had no complaints or found reasons to criticise anything about it. Our room was fine, good en-suite with a view over the pool. We didn't choose to have a sea-view room and were glad to have one overlooking the pool. The view from the front of the hotel is stunning, but at the rear you get the sun on the balcony from midday which was great, also from our room on the fourth floor we could watch the entertainments on stage without having to go down to the poolside area.
We were concerned about the comments about the walk to the beach, but encountered no problems. Anyone moderately fit can get to the hotel from the beach in a little over five minutes!
The food was good, we went half board, not all inclusive. Most other people were all inclusive, but we never bother with much for lunch so weren't bothered. We also like to buy beer and wines that we like rather than the ones that you get in all inclusive packages.
The food at breakfast was plentiful and tasty, as was the dinner buffet, which was themed differently each day and gave good choices to suit all tastes.
To hire a pool towel you pay a refundable deposit of ten euros each, to change the towels just ask the poolside life guard between 11.30 and 4pm any day. The room safe costs 4 euros per day, to arrange it just go to reception and they set the combination directly for you, so don't try and do it yourself.
As far as towels being removed from sun beds, we went out after breakfast around 9am to sit in the sun for a while as most others seemed to. When we left for lunch or a break we left the towels on the bed, as everyone else did and they were never removed, so no complaints about that.
Wifi is only available in the large hotel reception area, it is free, but quite slow.
The area is quiet, a few shops and bars. Not a problem for us as we were only there for a week. We didn't go on any excursions, as we have been to the island before and seen most of the sites.
Overall, we had a nice relaxing time, the journey to the airport was about 30 minutes, and our flight times from gatwick were perfect, with morning flights both ways.
Enjoy your holiday!!!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Guest Relations Manager at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Chris H:

First of all thank you very much for trusting us and choose the Castell Playa & Palladiumhotelgroup for your holiday

Also thank you very much for your kind comments, for us it has been a pleasure having you as a customer and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will consider your suggestions and will try to improve our service to satisfy all your expectations. Thank you very much once again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

All in all a nice hotel. Food is very repetitive and got upset stomach from the paella. Note thus hotel is on a steep hill with many steps to the beach. There us a courtesy bus from the hotel. Reception staff were pleasant restraunt staff aloof and tried to clear my plate before I'd finished and the wine was like vinegar. Pool staff rude. All so all inclusive in this hotel for food us only breakfast lunch between 1 and 3 and dinner. If you miss lunch you have to pay. So in my eyes this is more full board. Plus drinks from 23.00 you have to pay for. Eve entertainment is good daytime entertainment a bit tired on the edges. Maids clean room really well.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BeckyM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Guest Relations Manager at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Becky M:

First of all thank you very much for trusting us and choose the Castell Playa & Palladiumhotelgroup for your holiday

Also thank you very much for your kind comments, for us it has been a pleasure having you as a customer and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will consider all your suggestions and will try to improve our service to satisfy all your expectations.

Thank you very much once again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2014 and I have to say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in with views to die for. The food is spot on with plenty to choose from and all inclusive drinks to with round the clock waiter service. Also the entertainment was brilliant like Craig Harper flown in who was a semi finalist on Britain's got talent. I would highly reccomend.
Ian marshall

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Guest Relations Manager at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ian Marshall:

First of all thank you very much for trusting us and choose the Castell Playa & Palladiumhotelgroup for your holiday

Also thank you very much for your kind comments, for us it has been a pleasure having you as a customer and we are proud that your stay with us has been so special. With customers like you, all our hard work is worthwhile.

We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just returned from our second holiday at this hotel and again we have had a great time.
This hotel is great value for the price with consistent food quality ,good service and staff who work tirelessly to make sure you have a good holiday.
The pool view room we had was great but if we return again we would pay the extra for a sea view room........the view is amazing!
The nearby beaches are excellent, but be warned, it is a very steep hill back to the hotel with many steps.
The walk with Emma was worth doing to a local village ,not too far, and we caught the train back.

Room Tip: The views from the top floor are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Guest Relations Manager at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ian E:

First of all thank you very much for trusting us and choose the Castell Playa & Palladiumhotelgroup for your holiday

Also thank you very much for your kind comments, for us it has been a pleasure having you as a customer and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will consider your suggestions and will try to improve our service to satisfy all your expectations.

Thank you very much once again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

If I was to compare it to other 4 star hotels we have stayed at I wouldn't say it was 4 star and was disappointed we paid the same price for this holiday than a 4 star last year where there was a huge difference in standards. However you will still have a nice time, it's good enough.

The views are stunning, the resort is nice and the beach is lovely, just accept there is not much in the resort when you book and you won't be disappointed.

The waiting staff and bar staff do work really hard and we hardly ever had to go to the bar as both day and night they serve you by the pool or when you are watching the entertainment. The entertainment was either really good or a bit hiss and miss but you can't please everyone, they have a resident band and Amy has a lovely voice and Ludo is clearly a talented musician.

My only negatives are
-the ant problems, they seemed to flock as soon as you put any skin or drinks near the balcony.
-the complete lack of any vegetarian food (vegetarian food does not mean a plate vegetables or salad every day), for a whole week I walked down the line and couldn't find a main meal and I didn't want to ask for anything at the live stations as obviously it's cooked on the same hot plates as the meat just had, many rice, pasta dishes and even the coleslaw had meat in it, I have definitely eaten better food on other holidays.
- the disgraceful rule that men must wear trousers for dinner but women can go in showing their backsides or in skin tight backless dresses up to their armpits. We were rudely told on our first night we wouldn't be let in for the rest of the week and had to eat out until we found some trousers, bearing in mind there is nothing in this resort, my partner ended up paying £80 for jeans. It is apparently in the terms and conditions but really should be made obvious when booking.
- wearing a band for all inclusive but having to sign a receipt for every drink you order seemed daft, it annoyed us and must put stress on the staff.

If you take this hotel for what it is you'll have a good holiday, we had some issues but we still had a one, just don't expect 4 star.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkistevejimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Guest Relations Manager at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Sirs:

First of all thank you very much for trusting us and choose the Castell Playa & Palladiumhotelgroup for your holiday
We are very sorry that your stay with us has not been as satisfactory as you expected, we will consider all your suggestions and will try to improve our service. We hope that in a next occasion you trust us again and then we can satisfy all your expectations.

Thank you very much once again and hope to see you soon.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from said hotel today and can safely say im glad to be home.
I wouldnt say it was a bad hotel but just one that I thought didnt live up to the hype.
Arrived on sat 16th aug 2014 to a grand foyer area with helpful and polite reception staff, always a plus, as was that complimentary glass of orange juice.
Entered our room and although it was nice enough it wasnt of 4 star quality as we were led to believe.we stayed in room 218 which had a pool view which is where the evening 'entertainment ' takes place, you can also see the sea and to be fair was a nice view with sun on balcony all afternoon.I wont say there was a lot wrong with the room , just looked tired, oh and the balcony was infested with ants all day and night .
1st evening meal didnt go well, apparently all men need long trousers to enter, a fact that was well hidden, you will encounter a grumpy Epi and his box of ill fitting trousers if you do not have ur own , but at a cost of 20 euros, although if your female they will gladly let you in with all your bits and bobs hanging out, are my shins really that offensive???.
The food was samey, lunch and evening meals were pasta , rice and salads although the desserts were well presented and tasted great.It was actually a treat to have a mcdonalds on way home from airport !!
Bar staff were fantastic, my particular faves were jesus, ludmila and the already mentioned paco, they must cover some miles in a day.jesus always cheerful and looks like Mark Wahlberg I thought .Cocktails were ok although not overly alcoholic.
Entertainment team tried their hardest but lacked ideas for each day.resident band Mellow Yellow were fine, some good tunes alhthough ludos singing leaves a lot to be desired, great keyboardist though.Amy has a great voice and can certainly bang out a tune.
All in all its a hotel i wouldnt say dont go to because it isnt a terrible hotel but dont expect 4 star quality cause you will certainly be let down if you do.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Guest Relations Manager at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dea Steve R:

First of all thank you very much for trusting us and choose the Castell Playa & Palladiumhotelgroup for your holiday
We are very sorry that your stay with us has not been as satisfactory as you expected, we will consider all your suggestions and will try to improve our service.

We hope that in a next occasion you trust us again and then we can satisfy all your expectations.

Thank you very much once again and hope to see you soon.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent hotel - great staff and we particularly liked zelda - the bar lady in the quiet bar she always remembered what we drank and was very pleasant.
The all-inclusive option was really full board and local drinks as you had to upgrade if you wanted snacks during the day.
Food was plentiful and there was a theme everyday e.g Spanish, international , Asian etc and I there was a choice of around 12 main courses and about 7 were cooked by the chiefs in front of you.
Didn't like the entertainment very much not as good as the gold hotel we stayed In at Portugal.

We won't be going back as we found the Island far too quiet and very little to do unless you enjoyed the sun which over the last 10 days was a it of a joke as it was cloudy for most of the 10 days.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamesWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Guest Relations Manager at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear James:

First of all thank you very much for trusting us and choose the Castell Playa & Palladiumhotelgroup for your holiday

Also thank you very much for your kind comments, for us it has been a pleasure having you as a customer and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will consider your suggestions and will try to improve our service to satisfy all your expectations.

Thank you very much once again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,786 reviews
11.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
4.4 mi away
Tramontana Park
Tramontana Park
#2 of 5 in Fornells
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hotel Port Mahon
Hotel Port Mahon
#1 of 8 in Mahon
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isla Paraiso
Isla Paraiso
#2 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
618 reviews
19 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

Address: Paseo Passarell;Arenal Castell, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa**** is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. This totally refurbished adults only hotel is perfectly located to spend your best relaxing and romantic holidays with your other half ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing