We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments - wrong area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice apartments - wrong area”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from a week's stay at the apartments (12th-19th July) and had noticed instantly how much nicer they were than the Aguamarina Hotel next door.
We were surprised at how spacious the apartments were and the size of the balcony. They were both kept clean to a high standard throughout the week along with plenty of fresh towels in the bathroom.
Breakfast was great, there were plenty of choice so you could have something different every morning. We were only b&b so couldn't comment on the evening meal.
The pool was cold meaning if there was a slight wind it'd be too cold to swim. The water was also sea water meaning it was extremely salty.
Previous reviews have stated how quiet the area is but we weren't expecting just how quiet it really is. Restaurants in the area didn't look great so we only visited two all week.

We couldn't really fault the apartments however won't be returning again due to it being in the wrong area for us. Staff were helpful but not overly friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamielee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    563
    179
    60
    28
See reviews for
379
630
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I recently spent two weeks in these apartments on half board and found no fault. The apartments are large and reasonably well appointed. Some of the décor is beginning to show it's age making these 3 star rather than the advertised 4 star. The staff were more efficient than friendly and all enquiries and problems were dealt with quickly.
I will certainly use these apartments again but would take bed and breakfast rather than half board. Dinner was fine apart from the Spanish tradition of requiring the purchase of expensive drinks to accompany a half board dinner but there are many small restaurants around the hotel and I can recommend The Wild Geese Irish Bar opposite. This is not Las Americas or Los Christianos and anyone looking for an entertainment based holiday should look elsewhere but the Hotel does have the Volare Showbar that we enjoyed on a number of occasions and the Wild Geese opposite has music every night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just got back from a lovely week at Aquamarina Golf Apts Golf Del Sur, was a little worried after reading all the negative reviews on here but there was no need to worry the apts were lovely massive balcony plenty of space only thing was there wasn't a kettle or toaster but I took my own kettle after reading that there wasn't one in the apts on here, there is a grill in the microwave if you want to make toast. Everything is on the doorstep lots of eating places and an Irish pub and a supermarket across the road, although there is a better supermarket 20 mins walk away at San Blas also a little shopping area there too. There isn't a beach as such but there are pools in the apts and hotel and you can use the facilities of the hotel, It's a lot quieter than Las Americas and Los Christianos but there is a free bus which goes there 3 times a day if you want a bit more hustle and bustle but make sure you book it in advanced as it gets pretty full, I really did have a lovely holiday and was suprised at how nice the apts were, the air con is free but the safe was €2 a day. There's maid service 5 times a week, the whole place is kept very clean. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShazaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Rooms were very big .... some on here have placed import on age of décor .... OK not brand new , but it was ok for the money ... could do with a kettle yes... and some cutlery etc. Water in pool was not heated so if cold ... pool soon gets cold too....I like a swim or gym in morning neither was open until 10am
We were on left side so above night club.... worth a visit..... noisy till early hours .. should have complained and moved!!! But overall Ok ..well worth money ... not too far from airport

Room Tip: Chose right side as you look from reception ... take a kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misha345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Have just arrived back from a lovely week staying in these apartments. First these apartments are massive the biggest i have ever stayed in although a little worn but that wasn't a problem as very clean. The kitchen was a little lacking in equipment but as i had read previews before leaving knew to take a travel kettle but did miss not having a toaster. We stayed half board and found the food good and tasty and well prepared and had no concerns with luke warm food or that it had been there for hours and there is a chef to cook your meats, burgers and sausage to order at night and eggs and pancakes at breakfast the only downside was that it became a little boring after a few days so did eat out a couple of times. The pool area was was clean and tidy. All staff were polite, friendly and helpful at all times and if you need to do flight check in and print boarding passes you can do this at reception for 1 euro and 20 cents for each page printed. The area around the apartment is was very quite there is some resturants on the seafront and only the irish bar across the road for entertainment at night, san blast is the main entertainment area and costs about 5 euros in a taxi and has plenty reaturants and bars. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks! Was disgusted from day 1.
We was self catering with no kettle no toaster nothing. There was 6 off us staying and only had 5 towels between us as they wouldn't give us 6.
TV was broke so had to hire remote. You have to pay to use the safe, bed sheets don't get changed the whole stay.
The staff was rude, after ringing reception to ask for fresh towels the reception said "sorry I have to go I'm busy" then had to wait hours for the towels to come, no manners what so ever. I would advise people to go elsewhere, it had a big impact on our holiday so definatly won't be making the same mistake again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Hels9419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The appartment, was big,spacious and clean, it was in a good location. Curtesy busses came in very handy, the pool area was very clean with a large pool and a smaller one for little ones, the staff were nice but not overly friendly.our breakfast was included and was very nice on all mornings, the best place to eat and have snacks was pancake cafe where the staff were very nice and friendly. My only grip was we asked for a kettle but they only had 6 for the whole complex and as u can imagine the were all in use, but we where offered a toaster lol, the beach is not a beach just stones and rocks, but that never stopped my husband and I from having a thorough relaxing and enjoyable holiday, we would recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#5 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,699 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Marino Tenerife
Marino Tenerife
#2 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4,752 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf

Property: Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
Address: Avenida del Atlantico, 3, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Golf del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguamarina Golf Apartments Hotel Golf Del Sur
Aguamarina Hotel Apartments
Aguamarina Hotel Golf Del Sur
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing