We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Al's Golf Del Sur”
Review of Big Al's - CLOSED

Big Al's
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Big Al's is a family run restaurant on the Golf Del Sur. Fantastic food, great value for money and warm friendly staff. We have one of the most amazing views on the Golf Del Sur great for special occasions. We are always very busy so please reserve a table if you would like to dine with us. You can eat inside or if you prefer you are more than welcome to eat on our outdoor terrace. Hopefully we will see you soon.
Uphall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Big Al's Golf Del Sur”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Food is great but portion size is a real challenge. Great location and steaks are good value for money although at times quality can vary to wonderfully succulent to bit tough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleydoll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another good place to eat”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Was lovely sitting outside eating our food good choice of menu service quick highly recommend but a little hot inside if you where eating in

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestway666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had a wonderful meal here with my family. My wife loved the Seabass and the rest of us had steaks which were lovely and tasty. The only bad thing is that the portions are huge and none of us could manage to finish our meals. The waitress Donna I think her name was, couldn't have been more polite and helpful, plus kept making our young grandson laugh.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a good experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We dont know where some of these people have eaten, but it certainly was not at Big Al's,we go for a month every year and the 4 of us (who by the way eat out quite regularly at hotels and restaurants in England) even phone from home to make sure we eat there on the day we arrive,we have had celebration meals there which also includes our 2 french friends from Paris who come with us every other year and always insist we eat there. We have tried many other similar places in the area but always agree this is the best, especially for steaks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What's happened!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Myself and my family have been travelling to Golf Del Sur for many years now and other family members have always recommended Big Al's as one of their favourite GDS restaurants. Up until this year, I had never eaten in this establishment and certainly wont be going back!
We reserved a table for 8 (don't know why - it was August and virtually empty), the service was very quick (always a bad sign in my book), the prices were cheap and thus the food was re-heated and of poor quality. Several members complained about their food, one complained directly to the waitress who seemed totally disinterested. The chips were anaemic and just about cooked and the fajitas were like nothing I had ever seen before. It would appear that a change of ownership/staff has taken it's toll on this previously well admired restaurant. We finally had the misfortune, when leaving, of seeing two of the kitchen staff sitting smoking almost directly outside the entrance door, and trust me they didn't look too wholesome!! I would suggest you avoid this restaurant until standards are raised - go to Electra, Dabda or Rendezvous (at the Winter Gardens) if you want a top quality restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Al's also viewed

Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
 
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing