We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives and Negatives”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golf del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palms Golf & Country Club
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Positives and Negatives”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. The complex is new. The architectural design of the apartment was very modern and enjoyable. The second toilet in the apartment was a definite plus. The apartment we rented was very tastefullu decorated with a huge plasma screen. And wee very impressed with cleanlyness and with the quality of everything in the apartment. The complex is 5 minute walking distance from Gulf De Sur Golf Club.

The only negative was noise. Our apartment was situated by the road. The bedroom was facing the road. Despite the patio wall we were disturbed by the noise of the passing cars. So much so that we could not sleep in the bedroom and tried to sleep in the saloon. This time we found the evening entertainment noise coming from the club house disturbing till late at night. On top of all of this there was noise from rather low flying airplanes. It was a high decibel noise and we could not get used to. Fortunately airport is closed a few hours during the night and some days there are not too many flights so that we had a break from this.

Our owner and property manager were nice and friendly people.
I recommend this compleks to those who are not sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 villas one via friend who are owners and another for my mom and dad via owners direct. Great value for money and loved the golf del sur !
Would recommend booking a car from airport to adventure to south and north !
Water park sian park is great fun for all the family as is the Loro park up north !
We had drinks with Keith at Legends bar and next complete diwn Green Park most evenings.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsmlgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband and I were at The Palms on holiday on November 2011. We had a lovely time there and would recommend it to you if you can put up with the planes flying very low as you are in the flight path. They didn't bother us. The restaurant had nightly entertainment and the food was reasonably priced but the staff and Babs couldn't make you more welcome. We weren't very keen on the food but everyone has different tastes. We are going back to Tenerife for several weeks in a few months as we love the place. We would certainly recommend The Palms. Give it a try,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maidmarianScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INVERBERVIE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I have never written a bad review on trip advisor as I've always been happy with the properties we have stayed but on this occasion I have to write this as the property spoilt our holiday and wouldn't want that for anyone else. The Palms is a lovely complex with plenty of pools but stay clear of number 39.

The pictures which are shown on the advertisings for this bungalow must be very old as it in need of decoration and maintenance but that was not the main problem. What it really needed was a very good clean!

These were the problems:

1. There is no direct telephone number for the owner of this property only an email address. I'm still not sure who it is as the name on the email is the same as the property but each correspondence say's 'I will contact the owner'. I had to email them to ask for confirmation that payment was received 1 week after transfering funds and for the number for the lock box which contained the key. When we arrived I had to go and find wifi to email them and then go back to check for replies. We were given a telephone number for the local agents but when we phoned about certain issues we were told that they only cleaned it!!

2. The safe isn't actually attached to the wall so anyone could take the whole box away, but in the 12 day's we were there, we still didn't received a number code for it nor instructions on how to use it even thought I requested this twice on email.

3. There was a broken table (presumably from the living room) propped up against the wall in the small bedroom. We put it outside on the front patio and advised them by email but it was never taken away.

4. There was no key for the front shutters leading to the patio so we couldn't go out there till they supplied the key - almost a week after we arrived.

5. Cockrochers are a way of life in the Canary Islands but these owners don't seem to have done anything to prevent them coming into the bungalow. We had 4 in one day!

6. The en-suite bathroom had such a vile smell that we closed the door and never used it! My husband put a cloth over the shower plug hole which seemed to reduce the smell slightly but still not enough to use it.

7. They advertise that a 'Welcome Pack' will be supplied ........ it wasn't supplied for us!.

8. It is advertised as Air Conditioned but all it has is a standing unit in the double bedroom which is too noisy to keep on at night. In the living room, there is a unit which we thought was a dehumidifier but we are still waiting for a response as to what is was as there was no instructions. The single bedroom which has no openable windows or roof fan is like a sauna.

9. Towel rail in the main bathroom kept falling off so we just stopped using it. The fan in the bathroom also needs a very good clean!

10. Not much kitchen utensils - also the knives kept breaking.

11. On the advert it say's there is a sun terrace at the front but there are no chairs and table supplied so cannot sit there at any time.

12. In general the overall cleanliness is terrible; ie the rug in the living room was disgusting and should be thrown out, (I used the hoover on it but the smell from the hoover was not very pleasent), about 1cm of crumbs inbetween the sofa cushions, the cushion covers are also in need of a good wash, we lifted the rugs in the bathroom as they were also dirty, the chest of drawers in the double bedroom were unusable because of the smell when the drawers were opened.

13. The front door and the patio door to the front are hard to open as they get stuck on the floor tiles and the plaster on the walls is falling off. Lots of bulbs not working in the lights.

14. We sat outside the back terrace looking onto the resort but the light is a PIR light which means having to wave your hand every 60 seconds to make it come on!!

15. The double bed is very very uncomfortable.

As mentioned at the start, The Palms is a beautiful resort (bit noisy with planes but that didn't bother us) but stay well clear of No. 39. I seen a bad review for this property before we booked it so I emailed to enquire about it and they said that it was the local agents who cleaned and that they were now using someone else; I don't thing so!

Room Tip: Plenty other lovely bungulows in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IRENEHWHYTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M M, General Manager at Palms Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
We agree that the usual high standards of our villa were not met in this instance and we have therefore made significant improvements to this property. We have addressed the issues listed by the reviewer as follows:

1. We have implemented a new system to make our booking process easier.

2. The safe is now attached to the wall. Instructions and number codes are now provided to guests.

3. The broken table has been replaced with a new one.

4. Keys for the front shutters leading to the patio are now available for guests

5. Yes, cockroaches can be a way of life in the Canary Islands .The owners worked with a major pest control company on the Island to address this issue at the property.

6. The en-suite bathroom issue has been addressed.

7. The portable air conditioners have been replaced with new wall mounted air conditioners in every room - living room, master bedroom and children’s bedroom.

8. New flat screen TVs have been installed in every bedroom.

9. Brand new back and front patio furniture now at the property

10. The walls have been re-plastered and the damp issue resolved.

Some of the planned improvements to the property in 2012:
1. Brand new leather living room and dining room furniture
2. Free high speed internet access
3. Game consoles in the Children’s bedroom


We aim to consistently deliver a professional service to our guests and we will continue to try to ensure that our guests have a confortable pleasant stay at the villa.

We wish our guests a very happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

On arrvival at the club we where very pleased with the level of service and attentiveness the staff showed. We stayed in a two bedroom bungalow which had a beatiful outlook over pool area . Gardens were beautiful and well kept. The airport is not far although aicraft does fly over regulaly but was not a probem for us and access for disabled persons is excellent. We had a very enjoyable plesant stay over the 7 nights we holidayed for. We would reccomend this resort .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank violinstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stayed for two weeks on the complex the second week was in bungalow 16. This is a one bed bungalow sleeping four people, put you up in the lounge. everything you could need was available from lovely fresh white towels, large TV, DVD. very comfortable beds, with air con in the bedroom. Fully fitted kitchen, and great bathroom with walk in shower. the bungalow was spotless. Two patio areas and a roof terrace. Palms is a gated complex with four pools, and a bar/restaurant with entertainment seven nights a week all excellent value for money. Yes it is on the flight path for the airport, but we soon got used to the planes lets face it no wheres perfect.
Will we return? yes definately, will we use bungalow 16? Yes. We also looked at number 15 which has two bedrooms, and I would recommend that.
Do your research because a few of the bungalows do not come up to scratch, we stayed at one the week before and we would not recommend it. See my other review.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bandaenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Visit number 5 was just as good as the previous 4.
People are very friendly.
The club serves excellent choice of food and have entertainment every night, with some of the best acts on the island.
Was taken ill during this visit and was so helpful (even supplying me with food that wasn't on the menu)
I would recommend this complex.
Only negative (for some) is being so close to the airport - the complex is right under the flight path. Kids find it great fun (and some big kids too). Never spoilt our enjoyment and very rarely have flights during the night.
Accommodation all privately owned - so no two bungalows are the same.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malamajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#5 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Select Sunningdale
Select Sunningdale
#2 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Golf & Country Club

Property: Palms Golf & Country Club
Address: Urb Golf del Sur, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Golf del Sur
Hotel Class:4 star — Palms Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Palms Golf And Country Club
Palms Golf & Country Club Hotel Golf Del Sur
Palms Golf & Country Club Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing