We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartments, Super friendly Staff”
Review of Talayot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talayot
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala'n Forcat
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Apartments, Super friendly Staff”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here in June 2014, 3 adults and 2 young children. We had 2 one bedroom apartments which gave us lots of space. The kids club was amazing and there was entertainment every night which was suitable for all the family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbfuncasinos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    348
    98
    28
    18
See reviews for
703
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just got back from a week at Talayot (14-21 June). We travelled with Thomson and booked 3 weeks before we left so it was a bit of a late deal and we got a good price. I wasn't expecting too much due to the low star rating but I was very pleasantly surprised.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment and I had e-mailed prior to arriving to request a room near the reception and near to the kids splash pool on an upper floor. As soon as I gave my name at check in the lady on reception told me they had put us in between the 2 since they are at opposite ends. Check in was busy but quick and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. We had a brilliant location (room D2) overlooking the main pool, accross from the pool bar. It was quite noisy in daytime with music and kids playing but we liked that and it was nice and quiet at night when the little one was asleep. The room was lovely and clean and there was loads of space inside and on the balcony. Maids came most days and chenged towels as often as needed.

The pools were busy but since there are so many there was plently of room. There were a lot of people who left their towels on the sun loungers all night and that would have been a bit annoying but we were literally 10 steps from our own balcony and room so it didn't really matter to us. There were also plenty of play areas which my 2 years old loved.

Cala N Forcat itself is ok. We spent most nights in the shopping bar where we could have a drink (the hubby could watch the world cup) and my daughter could play on the bouncy castle next to it. Most of the bars have something for the kids but we liked this one, bit quieter. There were plenty of nice restaurants too however it's not really 5 star dining, all perfectly nice though. We did go to one place a couple fo times (and I can't remember the name, something like Rodan?) and that was really nice, just past the dolphin roundabout on the left. There are a lot of places which seem to have closed down which is a shame and it was quite quiet in general. I'm sure it's a bit more bustling in the summer holidays but I have no idea how these businesses survive.

All in all it was a lovely holiday and I would definitely go back to Talayot if I was to go to Cala N Forcat again. The facilities, cleanliness and space were way above 2 star in my opinion and we paid a very reasonable price for a last minute holiday. Just to give a bit of praise to Thomson tto - the rep called our room midway through the holiday to ask if we were enjoyign ourselves and if there was anything else we needed which I thought was nice, I've never had a rep give that kind of individual attention before.

If you want a nice, easy, cheap family break then I would recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the middle of the action during the day then go for room D2 - nice and quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishbone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

really nice resort, very relaxing. great for kids. the apartments were really clean, tidy and spacious. staff were very friendly, the thomson reps were fantastic. i totally enjoyed my week stay, so much so im booking to go again next year for 2wks!!! only thing i would say, is that staying in the A block, i got woke up by birds most mornings, but it really wasnt a big problem!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from a week stay at this fabulous family resort. We had a two year old and a one year old that just loved the pools, the play area and all the bouncy castles around the resort. We stayed in S block an did have a slight problem with the shower going hot and cold but that was easily sorted. We loved the pool next to our apartments it never got crowded or noisy which was perfect for us with the little ones. The disney show was our favourite entertainment my daughter was mesmerised. The resort has so many lovely places to eat, Frankie's is the most welcoming place the staff there are second to none. We felt like family every time we went there. Lauren who does the bingo an karaoke is just lovely, and Diego an the other waiters can't do enough for you. I also recommend Haiti restaurant the food is gorgeous. The food in Los delfines is excellent I recommend the menorcan sausage on honey toast!!!! Overall we were so sad to come home I feel like I could have stayed a lot longer, We will definitely be going next year if not sooner xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie28Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLERAINE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We travelled to the Talayot apartments on the 11th June for one week, my husband, 15 and 11 year old daughters. It was a last minute deal and I am glad I didn't pay too much for this holiday. Not due to the aparetments but due to the resort itself. Very dull and tired, not much to do if you have children over the age of 6 or 7. Great for families with small children as bouncy castles in nearly every restaurant. The square was great for some live entertainment but lack of restaurants and entertainment bars in general was a real disappointment.

Negative points over - the apartments itself were fantastic. We had a 2 bedroom apartment block A 5 - with views over the main pool and one of the splash pools. Apartments were clean and lovely and bright. Great balcony and we really had no problems with the room. No rush for beds in the morning but don't know what this would be like in July/August. Lovely atmosphere to the apartments and the reps were fantastic with the kids. Our 11 year old had a fantastic time doing different activities every day. Never seen her much had to always go looking to see where she was! Not much for 15 year old but once we got her the Wifi she was happy enough to lie by the pool and sunbathe. Had to pay for the Wifi for the week and you had to buy it for every device - my daughter thought she could log in on her ipad and phone at different times but she had to pay for another voucher. Thought this was a bit unfair as my younger daughter wanted wifi as well so we ended up paying again. Pool bar and snack bar were sufficient enough for lunch and we ate in the hotel restaurant few times and it was lovely no real complaints.

Dont think I could have spent 2 weeks here just because of the resort think we would of struggled finding different places to eat every night and I hate going to the same place over and over again. We did miss a beach front but thats our own personal choice. The coves were lovely - went a day 'jumping' at Cala Brut great for older teenagers but take all with you because there aren't any shops around this and nowhere to buy a bottle of water! Pirates Cove Beach lovely not overcrowded.

Overall a brilliant holiday and would go back if the price was right! If you have a young family this is definitely a brilliant complex for them!

Room Tip: Block A if you want a view overlooking the spash pool and main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMILYHOLColeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've just returned from the Talayot and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Greeted by the reps were transferred to the Talayot and had a speedy check in albeit there were only two families arriving from our transfer. We were given room T15 and were told to wait for directions, we were taken across the main complex and over a road into a smaller complex with two pools (kids and adults (deep)), feeling a bit like poor relations! Whilst the apartments are basic and could do with a bit of modernising they have usual facilities, kettle, toaster, fridge/freezer and towels are provided. They were cleaned every day with clean towels provided with a change of linen after 7 days. The aged ceiling fans were neither use nor ornament but we managed fine even with a heatwave (35 deg). The first few days were spent around the main complex (splash area) with our 5 yr old until the novelty wore off and this is when the T Block showed its worth - away from the noise in your own little area getting the opportunity to meet your neighbours around the pool with a few stragglers from the main complex seeking some peace. Our 5 year old didn't participate in the kids club which seemed popular but made plenty of like minded friends.

In terms of location, 10 minutes slow walk slightly downhill to cala'n blanes beach and on the edge of the strip. The resort itself is showing signs of the recession and all inclusive obviously has its affect on the area with a number of empty premises, that said what was there was fantastic for families - a number of pubs offering bouncy castles/trampolines/go karts free of charge if you are buying drinks which aren't over priced! A lot of the restaurants serve similar food and also have play areas (often hidden at back) - we loved Cuore and Frankies but all comes down to personal preference.

Beaches - cala'n blanes is the larger beach but still small but excellent for families, we often took bread to feed to the fish off the cove. We also went to another beach which is located just off the main strip just past the water park which was beautiful, great for exploring, scenery and snorkelling.

We will definitely return to Menorca and probably to the Talayot if we decide on the same area. If I was going to give any tips they would be, hire your beach towels from reception (5e per stay and changed when you want for a clean one) and wait a few days to buy your kids inflatables as the families going home often off load.

This is our third holiday from the Thomson handpicked - already looking for the next destination....

Room Tip: If you want somewhere quieter T Block - T15 gets the afternoon and evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachaelvchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from our second trip to Talayot, with two little kids (6) and two big kids (almost 40!). What can I say? We had an amazing time, made even better by the lovely Jem Jem and Ro Ro, and the kids club ladies.
The accommodation is spacious enough, we had a two bedroom ground floor apartment in A block which was ideal for us being next to the splash pool. The beds were made every day and the maids were really friendly.
Little shop over the road sells everything you will need, little bit dearer but worth it for the convenience.
Entertainment wise there was something different every day, kids loved the Disney show and the bubble man. Watching their little faces was magical. We only ventured out of Talayot as there were so many good kids play areas down the main strip. Favourite being the whale bouncy castle with the opening mouth that swallowed them!
Best food outside of complex is definitely Es Replec. Had some lovely dishes here, best hope of a Menorcan meal without chips and they were very welcoming.
Best beach to walk to is the pirates cove. About ten mins away. Nice beach bar, huge palm trees, showers, toilets and if your feeling energetic you can walk part of the Cami de Cavalls path.
Overall had the best ten days, would return again tomorrow and have started saving for next year! Just one thing, if Talayot the Bear could make a few more appearances, that would be fab. the first time we went he came out at the snack bar every day at 3pm and the kids loved it. We only saw him once this year Mucho graciasTalayot! xxx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Forcat
0.5 mi away
Globales Binimar Apartments
Globales Binimar Apartments
#12 of 56 in Ciutadella
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Globales Club Almirante Farragut Hotel
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Apartamentos Los Delfines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,000 reviews
5.5 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
HYB Sea Club
HYB Sea Club
#11 of 56 in Ciutadella
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talayot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talayot

Property: Talayot
Address: Cala Picas, 116, 07700 Cala'n Forcat, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Forcat
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala'n Forcat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talayot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talayot Hotel Cala`n Forcat
Talayot Cala n Forcat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing