We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We enjoyed this hotel so much - wish we could have stayed another week! Visited the other large hotels in resort and think this was the best one!! Rooms kept very clean and were very comfortable. Staff couldn't do enough to help you and so friendly. Entertainment good and finished by 11pm. Food lovely - we ate outside on the balcony every time and it didn't feel as busy....a great treat as the weather was good. Lovely beach but walked most days to our favourite, Mitjiana, about 25 minutes away.....burnt off the calories too. Also walked to Maracella beach which is lovely and my husband ventured walking to Cala Turqueta (about 6k). It was too hot for me so went on local bus Cuitedella for 4 euros return - it was market day - had a great day out!!. Would certainly return here and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 190734Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just returned today (28/10/11) from a weeks holiday at the Cala Galdana Hotel. We had a 5th floor room overlooking the pool, small marina & out to sea and really couldn't have asked for a better view. The bedroom was spacious, clean & modern & although the bathroom was rather 'tired' in comparison there was an excellent shower over the bath and plenty of room for toilet bags etc. We took our own travel kettle (thanks to previous reviews for the tip-off) as there is no tea making facility in the room, though there was a small fridge. The breakfast and dinner service was excellent, no matter what time we arrived we never waited more than a minute or two to be seated and there was never a queue for the excellent choice of buffet food. We were also pleasantly surprised at the reasonable cost of drinks (except shorts), both in the restaurant and bars. The evening entertainment varied in quality but always ended very abruptly at 10:30, which was a bit of a shame. Where this hotel scores strongly is that it is South facing so, as long as you have a front facing room, you get the sun from early morning to early evening on the (very small) balcony. The hotel is a very short, level stroll to the marina, beach, and along the river to the nature reserve area. The bus stop is right opposite the hotel for exploring further afield.

Room Tip: Front facing is a 'must' for the view & the higher floor the beter. There is virtually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

returned 24/10/11 after one week, wish it had of been longer. First impression - hotel, & room very clean. However, no ventilation in the bathroom, but there was a bath. We were on the 5th floor facing the front, beautiful view of the sea and hills. The room was quite spacious with fridge & TV, able to catch up on BBC news. Beds a little hard, but I'm a softy. Some noise from above, water running, but to be expected. Pool area clean and no hassle over sun beds. no loud music all day like some resorts. Entertainment at night was reasonable. Bingo everynight if you like that and a disco for youngsters. Good selection of food for breakfast and evening, didnt try lunch. Amazed at wine at table 2.25euros per glass. Could of had better selection of cheeses in the evening - I'm a veggy. The weather was good & we came back with a tan, although bit breezy some days. Quite chilly in the morning and evening, but able to sunbathe 11.30 to 4pm. most days. Balcony bit small but large patio doors slide open so you can catch the sun in your room. We hired a car for 3 days 66euros, and toured the Island. In some places the road runs out and access is only by bike or foot. The Hotel has large car park opposite, so easy to park nearby. The roads are not busy, quite easy to get about, as only one main road east to west of the Island. The people are very friendly & polite, the whole Island is clean no rubbish or graffiti around. It is very peacefull & relaxing. We flew from Norwich, so no hassle airport and Menorca the same, all together a stressless holiday, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

just returned from hotel cala galdana menorca. we only booked one week earlier, but have had a super holiday there. the weather was warm and sunny and the hotel very clean and comfortable. In October the resort is quiet, but the weather is still warm and sunny.We rang the hotel directly from Britain before we went to ask for a front sea view room on a high floor. We paid 70 euros on arrival at the hotel for this request and were allocated a fantastic room (602) on the top floor overlooking the sea and beach. Large comfortable room.only downside was the bathroom was rather small. if you dont have a front sea view , the back rooms face onto a rock face that doesnt have any sunshine. our front room had sun all day. Would certainly go there again in late season (hotel closes at end of October) if you want a quiet holiday, but probably not in high summer, could imagine the resort being very crowded.

Room Tip: ask for a front sea view room on a high floor.ring hotel directly and ask for one. we were charged 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isobel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We liked the Cala Galdana hotel a lot. The staff were very helpful especially the "Public Relations Officer". There was a wide choice of food and it would be difficult not to find something to your liking. The room was comfortable but the balconies are tiny.

We had two small quibbles. The entertainment was very loud and very noticeable if your room was overlooking the stage - however it did stop by 10.30pm most nights. Secondly the chairs provided around the stage (and unfortunately widely found in Menorca) have sagging seats and backs and are totally unsuitable for those with back problems,

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea are sunny hot and noisy in the evenings. Rooms at the back are quiet but almost sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The hotel is perfectly situated near a lovely soft sandy beach and a small marina,various eateries, a few tourist shops and small supermarkets,there is a bus stop just across the road.The pool is at the front of the hotel so its quite public, there are no grounds at the back of the hotel but a man-made water-fall which is turned off and on at various times of the day. I was in a room at the back which I found quite dark and basic.The only plug point was in the bathroom, the door of which, only closed if you gave it a shove. With the tv, the picture scrolled every now and then which was annoying.The first morning, I tried a cooked breakfast, and it was stone cold so I didn't try it again.There was,however,plenty of fruit, bread,pastries,cold meat,cheese etc. TIP: the hot chocolate from the drinks machine is lovely. I tried lunch at the pool-side snackbar once, which consisted of a synthetic tasting, hot dog and chips, didn't try it again. The supermarket nearest the hotel sells baguettes which are much fresher and cheaper. I found the hotel food in the evening was hot, tasty and very varied.
Overall, if you can get a good deal then this hotel is ok but if you pay the full price you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TractorGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We spent 10 days in early Oct at this lovely hotel and would recommend it for a relaxing break and an ideal base for discovering the island by car or on foot. The Gorge is a wonderful walk minutes from the hotel especially if you like birds and wildlife, we saw Kites, Eagels and more.There are many fantastic coastal walks leading to small bays with white sandy beaches and turquoise sea. The resort was very quiet and many places already closed, very peaceful at this time of year with temperatures around 28 degrees.Our room was facing the waterfall "you get what you pay for"! Food was plentiful Fish Fish and more Fish although my husband was a little disapointed with the quality of meat.We found all the staff friendley and helpful. I have never been in such a cold swimming pool it was colder than the sea.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitoldbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
6.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,362 reviews
6.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Galdana Gardens Apartments
#5 of 9 in Cala Galdana
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar

Address: Urb. La Serpentona, 07750, Cala Galdana, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range: £62 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Galdana And Villas d`Aljandar
Hotel Cala Galdana d Aljandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing