We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Cannot fault this hotel apart from a few very minor points. The staff were exceptional - Very friendly and helpful but also very efficient. My wife and I both like Mediterranean food and the standard here was amazing. The whole hotel was spotless, towels changed and the whole room cleaned completely everyday. The beds were really comfortable.
There was a happy 2 hours in the Piano Bar followed by the entertainment which for us was far better than expected (We are middle aged). Tribute groups, a magician and a flamenco\ballet group were all excellent. Towards the end of our stay they moved the entertainment outside but it was really too cool to enjoy but it was only May!
The location is really beautiful although quite compact with a selection of lovely walks to nearby bays through Coastal Pine woods.
So all in all a great stay with 3 most important things for us (Food, Service & Cleanliness) all receiving 5 stars.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter which we prefer but front has arguably better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deeandjay070211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    390
    222
    61
    29
See reviews for
324
523
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just got back from a week at this Hotel. Lovely hotel but better if you get a front pool and sea view. service was fantastic. Cleanliness was brilliant and maid service every day and also entertainment. Food was plenty but not much of a variety if you like English food. Very close to beach which was awesome. Would definitely go again

Room Tip: Ask for pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pete c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just back from a week at the Hotel Cala Galdana.The resort is very clean, lovely beach with clear blue sea ideal for families with just a few shops and restaurants. It is not easy to get around outside the resort unless you have a car.There is a bus service of sorts but you have to time them as there are only two buses a day to Mahon and return. A week is more than enough both at the hotel and in this resort. The hotel throughout was extremely clean, bedrooms cleaned and new towels every day that I cant fault. However,the balcony was extremely small and open, not for the faint hearted to sit on and I felt definitely unsafe for children. We had no air con on arrival even though it was very hot.It took 2 days before our Thomson reps could persuade the hotel management to switch it on as they said it wasn't the season yet which I felt was rubbish and were trying to save money...Meat lovers were well catered for but as we are don't eat meat and only a little fish we found a lack of veggie dishes. Yes there was chip & vegetables, pasta & vegetables, boring after a week, with some salads but even the Friday Gala dinner was all meat. What fish there was there was overcooked and some dishes tended to be left to go cold. The most annoying was we had 3 early starts (went on 2 trips and early departure to the airport) and as breakfast doesn't open till 7.45 am each time we were left a cold plate of food which consisted of slices of cheese (meat if you ate meat) 2 (yes 2) pieces of bread, a choc biscuit and a wafer biscuit, a drink from the machine and a cold yoghurt that was it! So out of 7 days we only had 4 breakfasts which was unacceptable.It would be better if the hotel opened breakfast 7am til 10am instead of 7.45 til 10.45 am.Most of the staff spoke little English and we found it hard to communicate with the reception and catering staff. The entertainment was more holiday camp and mostly outside to only a handful of guests around the pool area whilst most preferred to stay in the lounge playing with their iPads or just chatting with other guests.Please do check your drinks account when you settle up as we were over charged. At dinner you dont pay direct for your drinks only at the end of your stay and you don't get a copy of what you ordered..So do keep a note of what you had as by the time you leave you may not remember and just accept the overpriced account you receive. Been there, wouldn't go again and only rate the hotel as a poor 4*

Room Tip: We had a nice view from our 6th floor room. Those at the back of the hotel have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 68SeniorTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We found this hotel to be a great place for our holiday. Clean, & we had a great view of the sea, staff were friendly & considerate. Our beds were very comfortable, room cleaned & made up every day. Beach towels available for the asking. We were there in May this year, 2014, so plenty of room around the pool. One bad day of cloud & a cold wind, otherwise warm days with a chill wind late in the day. Food was plentiful with a good variation & choice, the only thing spoiling it was having to buy water, which I did 3 times, but got on without it for the rest of the week. The service at the pool area & evening bar lounge was excellent. The beach is beautiful, with places to eat or buy ices from. For me the evening entertainment was a bit 'naff'. Just one good act, although my wife liked the Freddy Mercury tribute, but then I never did like Freddy.
All in all a great holiday & will be looking to return.

Room Tip: Booked a room with limited sea views. We had a good view from our 4th. floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Cala Galdana Hotel and I can now give our assessment on our stay. The main reception and public areas have recently been fully refurbished and give a pleasing first impression. Check in was painless, the bedrooms though are basic, nothing out of the ordinary and although still early in the season, look "tired".
Why when the room is a twin is there only one chair?
We were on 1st floor and had a patio, complete with sun loungers and canvas chairs. The area was not particularly private as an open fence was all that separated the patio from its neighbour.
Rooms on floors above made do with a very narrow balcony.
One of our main "bones of contention" however was in the timing of the meals. We were travelling with an 11 month old who was usually awake by about 6am the main breakfast was not available until 7.45am.
Similarly, the evening meal was not served until 7pm, a time that the youngster was normally in bed. This meant eating our "family" meal in shifts.
The meal times from a personal point of view were much too late and were very inflexible. The unedifying sight of guests queuing outside the dining room from about 6.45pm and pushing forwards when the doors were opened was similar to the New Year Sales in Oxford Street.
The food was plentiful, especially if you like chips, although the lack of basic vegetables was annoying.
Having to buy water with evening meal was also a sore point, surely a carafe could be brought to the table upon request.
In summary; only 3 stars, trying but could do better.








Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Northstander399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a week here at the beginning of May and would recommend it. Very small resort but in a beautiful bay. Not for those seeking night life but provides a very relaxing break. Only a handful of shops and cafes/bars but every one we visited provided excellent food and drink. The hotel itself was ideal. Very impressed that only one or two people actually booked sunbeds as hotel said they had a policy to remove towels - I wish more places enforced this!! Food was typical hotel food however on the Friday they provided spectacular seafood, veal and an assortment of beautiful cheese and sweets. This was a lovely end to our week there. Bus stop in to other places is right outside hotel and dropped off at the same place coming back. Very friendly Thomson reps, Chris and Jessie, on site. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We wanted a high room and balconies are very small however some of the lower rooms had a large terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorraine848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed with extended family for a week at the beginning of May. Hotel is as per many other 4* rated Spanish hotels, with the odd dated feature, but they have tried to update and make it look more modern. As others have pointed out, we were also moved into the villas, which put a different complexion on the holiday, as although we were literally a stones throw from the main hotel building and pool, we felt as though we had a good deal more freedom - not to mention space.
The resort was very quiet, and given we arrived just a couple of days into the new season, no great surprise. It was perfect!
The staff in the hotel were friendly, polite and helpful, and in spite of some of the other reviews I've read posted on here, we didn't find the Spanish OAP parties a problem. We never had an issue with food being cold, or queues for the show cooking stations, and the fresh bread and salads certainly couldn't be faulted. The Toboggan bar over the road (by the mini golf and the giant tap!) did fantastic pizzas - to eat in or take away, and the poolside snack bar also served up the usual lunchtime fodder of burgers, salads, pastas, toasted sandwiches and chips, at fairly reasonable prices. If you're lucky enough to be in the villas, with access to basic kitchen facilities, then there are a couple of supermarkets that can supply you with provisions for sandwiches and the like.
The local bus service is cheap and cheerful and you can get around the island that way should you feel the need to tear yourself away from the glorious beach, and within the Villa Aljandar complex there is a Menorca Ticket excursion office who offer all the usual tourist outings and round the island trips, as well as the car hire service.
Around the mid point of the week, there were 2 kiosks that opened up near the Hotel Audax, and they both offered boat trips to other beaches, with swim stops, and one being a "glass bottom boat" type experience.
If you want lively nightlife, I suspect the resort will not be suitable for you, even in the height of summer with everything open and in the full flow of business, as it's simply not that kind of resort.
The hotel did have an entertainment programme that was a bit of a mixed bag, and the in house animation team did seem to be geared up more to cater for the Spanish guests, and they appeared a little out of their depth when the clientele group changed to mostly British guests. "The Lighthouse English Pub" that is within the Villas d'Aljandar complex, was due to open on the day we flew back to the UK (10th May), as an alternative evening venue, along with Bar Oasis, which had pool tables and plenty of outdoor seating - though it was just a bit too chilly sitting out for very long under very clear skies in early May! There was another bar immediately next door to the hotel which we didn't visit (Bar Mississippi) that seemed to be offering Karaoke, Quiz Nights and the like - given it was the opening week of the season, and the resort was not busy, I am not sure if these events actually took place, although they were advertised.
If you are looking for a relaxing break, in beautiful surroundings, within a comfortable hotel, with a picture postcard beach, rugged coastal walks on the doorstep, then you probably won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadCow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Galdana Gardens Apartments
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Floramar
Aparthotel Floramar
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#5 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar

Property: Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar
Address: Urb. La Serpentona, 07750 Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Jet2Holidays so you can book your Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Galdana And Villas d`Aljandar
Hotel Cala Galdana d Aljandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing