We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr & Mrs Barlow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs Barlow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had a thoroughly lovely stay at the Hotel Cala Galdana! The staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough to make our holiday a memorable one for all the right reasons. The food was buffet style and lots of variety, catering for most tastes and everywhere was spotlessly clean. It amused us no end to watch the decking area being swabbed over in the morning before the sun loungers (for which there were plenty) were brought out! Equally amusing was watching the sun loungers being put away for the tables and chairs to be brought out for the evening entertainment on the stage near the pool. The entertainment was varied, something for most tastes. It's not a late night resort, so mostly lights out by midnight which suited us just fine. The pool was routinely checked and pool towels freely available. We spent a great deal of time on the beach which although the sun loungers and parasols were a bit pricy at 17 euros per day, the beauty of the sea, sand and surroundings made it well worth it. We came home relaxed and re-energised and would definitely go back again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    390
    222
    61
    29
See reviews for
324
523
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is a Thomson Platinum Hotel. Thomson will accept only adults for this hotel but be warned other operators may accept booking from families with children. If you object to lots of small children in the pool area (we don't) be advised it can get loud at times.
A good hotel which is placed close to the beach. The pool area is generously proportioned but lacks enough umbrellas for those needing shade.
Food is very good with a wide range to suit all tastes. If you like to eat about 8 pm you will experience large queues and will have to wait.
A very good entertainment programme with professional acts to a high standard.
Friendly staff and a well managed and clean building add to the enjoyment.
Free WiFi in the reception area is good but it would be nice if it was extended to the bedrooms.
The resort of Cala Galdana is beautiful. Reasonable links by public bus means you can find your own way about the island if you wish.
No tea making facilities in the room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We'll done hotel cala galdana...

Accommodation... Very good modern ish.not fantastic, but nice and pleasant...very clean and hats off to the cleaning staff as it was kept that was for every day of our trip. Hotel was very nice I would recommend
We've just got back 22nd June 2014
Food... We'll a good variety every meal, however other than paella no rice to be seen. Hot and cold loads of fish for those who like it. Fruit...fantastic loads of it...cherries in season wow. Cheese selection amazing. Breads superb. English sausage complete rubbish... If anyone from catering in the hotel reads this you can buy fantastic tasty English sausages not those cheap rubbish ones. And chips every night.. It's hard to stop kiddies eating them if there isn't any rice to offer them
Staff...every single one was more than helpful, really full marks
Pool... Usual early birds claiming all the beds and left them empty half the time... Mainly Brits... Be ashamed. The hotel did claim they would not allow this....but you don't stop it!
Hotel is Full of older middle to old aged folk when we were there but in 15 to 20 years time I'll be one myself
Evening entertainment varied and pretty good... Some dodgy singing, and come on a boy band... We see enough of them on cowell factor. All quiet at 11:00 for those with little ones....appreciated.

Drink... Cocktails, wines, but two beers...is that it and one was Heineken ...who drinks that?? Poor selection
Lounges and bars all very nice to sit in, nice sofas outside at the entrance I liked these after a meal.

So all in all yes book this hotel and go enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room, a little extra, but you can watch the show from your balcony.. Draw back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beesoviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from a second visit to the Hotel Cala Galdana. We were surprised to be told we had been upgraded free of charge to one of the hotel villas and what a lovely surprise this was! The villas are spacious and spotlessly clean. The two bedrooms were well decorated and there was plenty of wardrobe space. with two full bathrooms it made life so easy. It was also a joy to be able to make a cup of tea whenever I fancied one! The views from the villa were delightful and although they are situated above a bar the noise never went on too late. We enjoyed staying in the villa so much that we are planning to upgrade to them for our return visit in September!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Upon arrival we were told that, instead of a hotel room, we were to stay in a villa. This worked well for us, the villa was kept spotlessly clean by daily maid service, there were ample kitchen facilities, and good sized accommodation. The room had air con, which worked quite well if not brilliantly. Being ground-floor, it also had a small well-maintained garden area. Although close to the main road, it was handy for the shops, but the bars could be noisy in the evening, esp when England were playing football ! The main hotel was very clean and well furnished, there is a gym and free jaccuzzi (ask at Reception for access). One down side was there was no Wi-Fi in the villa, and the Safety Box was E30. I would expect these as standard in a 4Star hotel. The food whilst not being fantastic was adequate, and good meals could be had thru wise choices. We were not ill, which is always a relief ! The general attitude and politeness of staff was excellent. All in all, for an early break in May, I would say this is a good choice, altho the town is extremely quiet and the evenings can have a "Groundhog Day" feel after a week. The walks round to the adjacent coves of Mitjana and Macarella on the Camis de Cavall are lovely, but sturdy footwear is adviseable. There is a café with showers at Macarella, but nothing at Mitjana, altho a fruit seller did appear whilst we were there. The local beach at Cala Galdana is safe and beautiful, and the local cafes are very good.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are limited, so if you want one pay the extra - don't leave it to chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bertienotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Mt partner and I have just stayed a week at the Cala Galdana. We had booked a hotel room through Thomson but on arrival we were allocated a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment in the villas complex by reception.

While the apartment was kept spotlessly clean, I have to be brutally honest and say that the furniture was dated and some of it was very shabby. However, everything worked! There was a kitchenette with a fridge, 2 cooking rings, an oven, crockery and cutlery, We only used this to make tea and coffee. The 2 bathrooms both had a bath/shower and towels were changed daily.
The beds, however, were rather hard so unfortunately I can only give sleep quality a rating of 2. as we spent a lot of time tossing and turning to get comfortable.

The apartments overlook a courtyard with several shops and a couple of bars but usually everything had quietened down by 11.pm. If you like to spend your evening sipping a quiet drink on your balcony be aware that the kiddies disco is held in the courtyard from 8.30 - 9.15pm each evening and this is loud.

There is a very nice pool area with a main pool and a smaller children's pool. The pool has 2 manually operated waterfalls and a jacuzzi. The deep end is 1.8 metres. The pool is area is roped off until 9.am so there is no 6.am reserving of sunbeds, There is, however, a queue forming at the rope for about 20 minutes before it's taken down. We never had a problem getting a sunbed and we never saw any shortage while we were there. There is a pool bar where you can order drinks and they are brought to your sunbed and it serves very reasonably priced snacks, which again are brought to your sunbed if you want. Like most people, we chose to eat ours in the pool bar in the shade. The barmen are very courteous and work very hard and provide excellent service so tip them well!

We stayed half board so ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Although it is mass catering we found the standard of the food to be very high, in fact some of the best hotel restaurant food i've had anywhere. Both meals are buffets. Breakfast is the the standard hotel breakfast of cooked and continental items, fruit juices, tea and coffee. For dinner there is a salad section and cooked food including meat, fish, pasta, rice, vegetables and pizzas. There are always two items being cooked on display as well as the main buffet. Desserts consist of the small cakes, mousses and ice creams. I am not a dessert person but the cakes are delicious and the pastry is very obviously home made.

All the staff were friendly and courteous and work very hard - cleaners, waiters, bar staff, reception staff, animation team. Once again, our special thanks to the staff at the pool bar with whom we probably had most contact.

There is entertainment by the pool each night, usually tribute acts of varying quality. The best, in my opinion, was the Take That tribute group and there was also as team of african acrobats.

The client group at the hotel was mainly british and mainly older couples with a smattering of young families. My partner and I are in our 40s and we did joke that we were in the lowest 25% of the age bracket lol ( we are not agesist by any means, all the people we spoke to were very nice).

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Be aware that sunbed/ parasol prices are outrageously high (5 euros per sunbed and 6 for a parasol).

So, all in all, we enjoyed out stay and even with the hard beds we would do back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steddiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just had 10 nights in Cala Galdana. On arrival we were upgraded to a ground floor villa. It was great, we had a large room with settee ,easy chair, and kitchenette and a dining table and 4 chairs. The very spacious bedroom had plenty of storage, and we had a lovely big bathroom. Out side we had a patio table and chairs and 2 sunbeds.
The food was very good, loads of choice and plenty of it for all tastes.
The staff were all very freindly and helpful. Phillipe in the piano bar was great,we had a couple of shows in there because it was to cold outside, but the rest of the shows were around the pool.
Bar prices were not bad either. Only down fall was the exchange rate they offered. We got the best rate next door in the Audax hotel
Great hotel all round

Room Tip: Pool and sea views have small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Galdana Gardens Apartments
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Floramar
Aparthotel Floramar
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#5 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar

Property: Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar
Address: Urb. La Serpentona, 07750 Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Galdana And Villas d`Aljandar
Hotel Cala Galdana d Aljandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing