We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for a week. We had the mandatory half board, which turned out to be waste of money. We exchanged the dinner to lunch, as the standard of the buffet was really mediocre. I would characterize the buffet with the words "it serves a function", ie. you do not leave the place hungry. But do not expect a culinaristic experience. We even skipped the lunch on three days as we were so fed up with the ... stuff.

The room on the other hand was really nice ! The cleaning lady did a really nice job every day, although we were at the beach on most days bringing sand into the room, she was really efficient in removing it ;-) We had a two bedroom and a living room villa in the shopping center area. Soundproofing was good, the noice from the restaurants did not penetrate the room.

The hotel also had a pretty nice pool area. Although they had the rules for not booking sun beds (like every other place in Spain does), they did not actually enforce it (like no other place in Spain does either). That really bugs me as by 9 am all the sun beds were booked with a towel or book (or both) but people were nowhere to be seen.

Hotel is very well located in the center of the city .. eh village. The village itself was pretty nice, although it lacks truly excellent restaurants. I suppose that is due to the fact that all the hotels seem to require the half board.

The hotel lacks internet access in the rooms, which in this day and age is a big no no to me. They really should fix that for the future !

Room Tip: Some of the villas are situated on a busy walkway between the pool and the shopping area. Avoid thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PetriS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here during the last week of June; although it was quite good, I was surprised it was listed as a 4* and even more surprised it was one of the Thomson ‘Platinum’ range.

Hotel Location: Fantastic location; a few minutes level walk to the beach, and the resort with tapas bars and shops. The beach is gently sloping to the sea which is shallow, clear and lovely to swim in. On the last day we couldn’t go in the sea because of Jelly fish which was a shame.

Rooms: We had a limited sea view room, this was extremely well equipped including fridge, easy chair and table, two sun loungers and patio table and chairs on the patio. There were plenty of plugs, and the air conditioning was very effective.
The room was a bit shabby and could have been cleaner I felt. Several times we had to go down and ask for Toilet rolls because they hadn’t been replaced.

Bars: The piano bar has got to be the most unorganised and badly run place ever; they have a happy hour and a half from 6.00 – 7.30 (I think they extended it because it takes half an hour to get served!) There is one barman and one young boy whose sole job is to crush ice it seems. People order cocktails which are individually made and which take about 5 minutes each. By 6 .30 when we went down, there was a queue of about 8 people, after 20 minutes we gave up and went two doors down to the Bar Mississippi which also has a happy hour and a half from 7 – 8,30.This is a lot more efficiently run and is outside which is nice. Because it takes so long to get served people understandably order more than one round, which in turn lengthens the queues.

Food: the dining room had plenty of tables including some outside and seemed to cater for the numbers when we were there. It isn’t particularly well organised, for example eggs are not next to the main buffet area, but over in the far corner, as is the freshly cooked meat/fish in the evening. Once you knew this it wasn’t a problem but it took us 2 days to work this out. The breakfasts were lovely; they have drip trays so everything isn’t swimming in fat which is a pleasant change. They also warmed the plates. We did find the evening meals quite unadventurous and bland but we find this a common problem with holiday hotels.

Public areas: plenty of easy chairs, table, free Wi-Fi (you pay €7 per week per device if you want it in your room) which seemed to work well. Two lifts and stairs to access the dining room and bedrooms.

Swimming pool: - Not particularly big, and there was the customary line of people at 8.45 waiting the reserve the sun beds and then disappear for half the day. In this case it didn’t really matter because the beach is so close.

Entertainment: - We only saw the evening entertainment which was very good, there was also plenty of tables and chairs from which to enjoy it.

Special Mentions:

Thumbs up: to Chris the Thomson rep for being such a good laugh, but helpful and friendly as well. Also to Owners cars, - a local friendly car hire place which didn’t rip you off but offered a good service.

Thumbs down: Thomas Cook airways – If you are thinking of paying for priority check in and baggage reclaim don’t bother; the priority check in desk was the same as online booking and the queue was twice as long as the normal queue, and our bags were in the last batch to be delivered both on the outward and return journey.

Room Tip: We had room 106 which overlooked the pool area and had a limited sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cg26Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Cala Galdana has not changed a great deal in 34 years, (the last time we visited) great to see its not over commercialised, but we were a little disappointed with the services as we could only get a bus to Mahon that would get us there at about 12p.m and the shops shut at 1p.m and we could get several buses to cuidadella but had to get the 1.30 return or wait until about 6p.m. to return, we thought there might have been other buses from Cala Galdana that would have taken us to other places and we were quite expecting there to have been a water taxi that could take us to some of the beaches we could not get to by road and maybe pick up around 4.p.m. but there was no such service. The Cala Galdana Hotel was reasonable the rooms were a bit small and if you got a room at the back you had a wonderful very close up view of a rock. We were put into one of these rooms but into a double and we had booked a twin, so after a word with the very helpful Thomson rep we were asked if we would like a villa, it was very nice lots of room to move, bigger balcony and very quiet, we enjoyed the rest of our holiday very much, the pool was good, warm with a jacuzzi at one end, we thought there might be water arobics or water polo but not on this holiday there were a few other activities on offer but not a lot of people took them up, I think they must think up something different to what they were offering.The umbrellas around the pool were digusting with not enough of them and what there was were in shreds (literally). The evening entertainment was on the whole quite good some good some not so good. The drinks were very expensive for Spain

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room at the back of the hotel unless you like looking at a rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thebattledowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a thoroughly lovely stay at the Hotel Cala Galdana! The staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough to make our holiday a memorable one for all the right reasons. The food was buffet style and lots of variety, catering for most tastes and everywhere was spotlessly clean. It amused us no end to watch the decking area being swabbed over in the morning before the sun loungers (for which there were plenty) were brought out! Equally amusing was watching the sun loungers being put away for the tables and chairs to be brought out for the evening entertainment on the stage near the pool. The entertainment was varied, something for most tastes. It's not a late night resort, so mostly lights out by midnight which suited us just fine. The pool was routinely checked and pool towels freely available. We spent a great deal of time on the beach which although the sun loungers and parasols were a bit pricy at 17 euros per day, the beauty of the sea, sand and surroundings made it well worth it. We came home relaxed and re-energised and would definitely go back again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a Thomson Platinum Hotel. Thomson will accept only adults for this hotel but be warned other operators may accept booking from families with children. If you object to lots of small children in the pool area (we don't) be advised it can get loud at times.
A good hotel which is placed close to the beach. The pool area is generously proportioned but lacks enough umbrellas for those needing shade.
Food is very good with a wide range to suit all tastes. If you like to eat about 8 pm you will experience large queues and will have to wait.
A very good entertainment programme with professional acts to a high standard.
Friendly staff and a well managed and clean building add to the enjoyment.
Free WiFi in the reception area is good but it would be nice if it was extended to the bedrooms.
The resort of Cala Galdana is beautiful. Reasonable links by public bus means you can find your own way about the island if you wish.
No tea making facilities in the room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We'll done hotel cala galdana...

Accommodation... Very good modern ish.not fantastic, but nice and pleasant...very clean and hats off to the cleaning staff as it was kept that was for every day of our trip. Hotel was very nice I would recommend
We've just got back 22nd June 2014
Food... We'll a good variety every meal, however other than paella no rice to be seen. Hot and cold loads of fish for those who like it. Fruit...fantastic loads of it...cherries in season wow. Cheese selection amazing. Breads superb. English sausage complete rubbish... If anyone from catering in the hotel reads this you can buy fantastic tasty English sausages not those cheap rubbish ones. And chips every night.. It's hard to stop kiddies eating them if there isn't any rice to offer them
Staff...every single one was more than helpful, really full marks
Pool... Usual early birds claiming all the beds and left them empty half the time... Mainly Brits... Be ashamed. The hotel did claim they would not allow this....but you don't stop it!
Hotel is Full of older middle to old aged folk when we were there but in 15 to 20 years time I'll be one myself
Evening entertainment varied and pretty good... Some dodgy singing, and come on a boy band... We see enough of them on cowell factor. All quiet at 11:00 for those with little ones....appreciated.

Drink... Cocktails, wines, but two beers...is that it and one was Heineken ...who drinks that?? Poor selection
Lounges and bars all very nice to sit in, nice sofas outside at the entrance I liked these after a meal.

So all in all yes book this hotel and go enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room, a little extra, but you can watch the show from your balcony.. Draw back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beesoviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from a second visit to the Hotel Cala Galdana. We were surprised to be told we had been upgraded free of charge to one of the hotel villas and what a lovely surprise this was! The villas are spacious and spotlessly clean. The two bedrooms were well decorated and there was plenty of wardrobe space. with two full bathrooms it made life so easy. It was also a joy to be able to make a cup of tea whenever I fancied one! The views from the villa were delightful and although they are situated above a bar the noise never went on too late. We enjoyed staying in the villa so much that we are planning to upgrade to them for our return visit in September!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
6.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
2,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Galdana Gardens Apartments
#5 of 9 in Cala Galdana
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Floramar
Aparthotel Floramar
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
529 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar

Address: Urb. La Serpentona, 07750, Cala Galdana, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range: £66 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cala Galdana & Villas d'Aljandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Galdana And Villas d`Aljandar
Hotel Cala Galdana d Aljandar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing