We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food, small rooms, very clean, resort quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, small rooms, very clean, resort quiet”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here as a couple (mid thirties) for some relaxation time at the end of May.

On arrival we were disappointed with our room allocation (our view was a dark courtyard). Now we almost never complain but we were insistant that we get another. Fortunately, due to us having a private transfer from the airport, we beat the crowd so after biewing two other rooms, settled on another higher up with a partial sea view.

The reception staff were more than helpful and we did not feel that we were being annoying by asking for a room change.

We found the food in the hotel to be second to none. We were half board, so had breakfast and dinner included. Both were phenomenal. There are two restaurants to choose from, both with fairly similar food, and the staff were excellent.

There is a wide choice of fresh salads, fruits to choose from. A hot counter where a chef would cook you fresh fish or different meats, veal, lamb etc.

I even saw a fussy eater being cooked some pasta and tomato sauce (each to their own) by the accomodating chefs.

We tried the spa once, nice - but i'm not really a spa person. Didn't have any gym gear with me but the gym itself in the hotel looked like it had everything you would expect.

The swimming pool was nice but there were the usual idiots who would turn up at 7am, put sunbeds on the best seats and then disappear to the beach all day. On the second day i saw a couple turn up at 4pm to get their prime seats that had been taken all day. (this was an elderly ENGLISH couple i might add).

SO sure enough the next day i was down at 6.45 and took said seats, much to their annoyance and enjoyed them till mid afternoon, where we left, taking our towels away with us so someone else could enjoy.

Cala Galdana is nice, but in May it seemed very quiet and being outisde of school holidays was full of old people. Nothing in the way of nightlife, whatsoever.

We used an independent car hire next to the pharmacy which was much cheaper than europcar and - does contain full insurance - so don't believe what the tour operator tells you.

We seldom go back to the same place, and in this case we wouldn't, purely because we like to see other new places

Room Tip: ask for one on the top floor as these are the only ones with any view to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeymooncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAUDAX, Director General at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday, I am very happy you liked the food and the resort.

It is very nice to know that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Audax.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    526
    112
    27
    9
See reviews for
124
1,417
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had 10 day stay in July. Really nice modern comfortable hotel. Our only complaint was food could have been better very bland and warm. Plenty of choice, perhaps it would be better too have less choice and better quality. Saying that you could swap evening meal for lunch, then go out to one of the local restaurants, Tapas very good and reasonable. Drinks in hotel not highly priced. Staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Good class of people. Cala Galdana very nice area, beach very safe, and nice walks around hotel. All areas of hotel kept very clean. Being couples hotel very nice relaxing time had. Would recommend for mature couples. Wifi not in rooms.

Room Tip: Wi fi in reception, sometimes in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeV493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAUDAX, Director General at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I truly value the opinions of our customers because they are very useful for us. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, so, thank you for trusting us!!

I hope to see you again at the Audax.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved our stay at Audax,super adults only hotel in Menorca. Amazing difference of a holiday without the noise of children if relaxation is the order of the day. I love my Grandchildren, but it is so worthwhile to have time for just the two of us . My wife thought the wellness centre terrific, we both enjoyed the walks through the pine forests at the hotel,beaches spectacular and convenient. Food at the hotel's two special restaurants could not be faulted.The Audax is brilliantly positioned in Cala Galdana ( a resort which might get very crowded in high season.) Hotel rooms on the small side butvery clean and staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAUDAX, Director General at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. I was delighted to read your positive comments about the hotel, the staff and facilities. I will ensure this feedback is shared with the whole team.

Gracias!

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booking the Audax for our honeymoon was a bit or a risk for us. We are only 25 so were aware that we would be a fair bit younger than the average Audax clientele but we wanted somewhere adult only, luxurious and somewhere we could really relax. We needn't have worried, the hotel was fantastic and really isn't age specific, there's something for everyone. Jade works very hard to plan and lead tours, activities and events to keep you entertained. Although I was very surprised how few people actually attended her sessions as they were very good. James, the house musician was excellent. Blankets on the beach was such a lovely way to spend a Sunday evening and he made the Friday night romantic spa session all the more enjoyable. The Thomson reps Hannah and Aston were great, a brilliant source of local knowledge.

The room was excellent, very spacious with plenty of storage space. I found the bed very comfortable although my husband found it a touch hard. The location of the hotel was very good, just a short walk to all the local amenities and lovely views of the bay from the pool area. All of the staff were very friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work and the whole hotel was kept exceptionally clean. I particularly liked the eco elements, only changing the towels and bedding when requested to prevent wasteful washing.

The food was exceptional. My husband and I are both 'foodies' and love to try new things which meant we put on a fair bit or weight staying here! Every day there was a fantastic selection with something to suit every taste and the special evenings (tapas, sushi, Menorcan, chocolate, cheese) were a really nice touch.

There were just a couple of small disappointments. The pool bar was really quite expensive and there was some variation in how things were made by different staff (e.g. one pina colada made with pineapple juice, another made with fresh blended pineapple both charged at the same price) so we rarely used the bar. Also, we upgraded to a jacuzzi room and were immediately disappointed buy the view. We enquired about changing rooms but the other jacuzzi rooms didn't have great views either. I also think it is a bit of a stretch to call it a jacuzzi. I personally felt 'whirlpool bath' would be a better description as it was not much bigger than a standard bath and a squeeze for two smallish adults. The instructions in the room were not relevant to the model of jacuzzi installed in our room and when we called reception there was no body who could tell us how to make the jacuzzi work. Thankfully the free wi-fi meant we could google it! That said, Thomson don't seem to advertise that the jacuzzi room comes with the added benefit of a bigger room, a bigger balcony and lovely rattan balcony furniture so we did feel it was worth having.

Overall we absolutely loved our stay at the Audax, would recommend it to anyone looking for a child-free relaxing holiday and would definitely return ourselves. It is definitely suitable for younger guests as long as they are aware of how quite the resort is on a whole.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms are larger and also come with a larger balcony and better balcony furniture. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELA1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAUDAX, Director General at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks, they are always useful for us. I am happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you and once again congratulations on your wedding.
Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A super child free hotel in a lovely location. Food was plentiful and of a high standard. Bedroom very comfortable and roomy. The hotel was spotlessly clean and all staff extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent facilities including outdoor pool, bar and spa. Ideally located for beach which was a 3 minute walk away, very clean and litter free with a couple of beach cafés. Some nice shops in the resort. We had a great time and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms have a view of the pools or beach, either of them being very good. Found room to be very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAUDAX, Director General at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

All your comments and remarks are an extremely important element for us to be able to improve our service continuously, with the final aim of being your preferred hotel, so, I must thank you for your great comments!

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This all adult hotel was perfect from the time I made contact until checkout. Prior to my arrival I was in contact with staff by email to make appointments for spa services and to arrange for transport from the airport to the hotel. The staff was responsive and carried out my requests flawlessly. The spa was spotless, uncrowded and serene and besides the treatments, the 90 minute circuit of pools, showers, jacuzzis and saunas was wonderful. I chose the full board option and the meals were delicious, fresh and abundant with chefs at the ready to cook made to order items to supplement the amazing buffets. While the beach is nearby, my preference was to stay by one of the pools, under an umbrella or sunning on one of the many chaises. The bar offered beautiful music in the evenings and little shops are within steps of the hotel. Cala Galdana is not the place for night life, but if you want a quiet, restful place to chill, I highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side higher up have an ocean view, but a suite with access to the pool was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAUDAX, Director General at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I truly value the opinions of our customers because they are very useful for us. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, so, thank you for trusting us!!

I hope to see you again at the Audax.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, a good and interesting choice of food from the buffet, lovely resort with a beach to die for. Two slight reservations: some of the entertainment was not up to standard and the dinner dress code was not applied to the men.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 552RobertG552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAUDAX, Director General at Artiem Audax Adults Only, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers because they are very useful for us.

As you know, regarding the dinner dress code, we do highly recommend long trousers, but we cannot force our guests to wear them.

I hope to see you again at the Audax.

Best Regards,

Víctor Mayans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 8 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
18.1 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
4.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
6.3 mi away
PortBlue La Quinta Hotel & Spa
18.3 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artiem Audax Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artiem Audax Adults Only

Property: Artiem Audax Adults Only
Address: Urb. Serpentona s/n, 07750 Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Galdana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Artiem Audax Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artiem Audax in Cala Galdana is located in front of the sea. The adults-only Hotel in Menorca has become a meeting place where you are allowed to relax. It is exclusive for adults, couples, friends or lovers. From there you can enjoy one of the most spectacular beaches of the south coast of the island of Menorca, Cala Galdana, and nearby pristine beaches of Macarella, Macarelleta or Mitjana. Surrounded by an Area of ​​Special Interest (ANEI) and full of "fresh" people, the Audax Hotel Menorca is willing to make a stay an experience to remember. A terraced area, solarium, relaxation area and the best panoramic views of Cala Galdana. The pool at the adults-only Hotel Audax is located on the 6th floor and is a luxury to rest in one of the comfortable hammocks. In high season we organize parties around the pool spectacular ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Artiem Audax Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audax Spa And Wellness Hotel
Audax Hotel Cala Galdana
Hotel Audax
Audax Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing