We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with lovely swimming pool”
Review of ILUNION Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ILUNION Menorca
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Guildford (UK)
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel with lovely swimming pool”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with our 2 boys (3.5 years and 21 months) in the first two weeks of June. The rooms are very spacious and the beds firm but comfortable. There was well functioning air-conditioning in every room but as pointed out by others it made the balcony rather hot when in use! The rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard and staff were helpful but spoke very little English as most of their customers are Spanish. There is not a playground on-site as that area was turned into a tennis court. The best thing about this hotel is the lovely swimming pool and it has a lifeguard on duty daily which is reassuring when you have to keep your eyes on two small kids. My one comment would be that it could do with a few more sun umbrellas or to create a permanently shaded area for those of us who do not like to sit in the full sun or have small kids. Temperatures were around 28-30C when we were there. The location is great with many supermarkets nearby and a 10-15 minute easy walk to the beach (a bit harder uphill on the way back!) There is a small playground a few minutes’ walk away but the best one is at Toboggan near the beach and the water slides are great (not too fast to go down with small kids). There are plenty of restaurants around and it’s a very family friendly area and I would go back. If anyone gets talked into walking to one of the other beaches please do not take a buggy, take a back-carrier!

Room Tip: Free wifi in the restaurant but would reach as far as the pool area and often up to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HipKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Menorca, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Client,

thank you very much for the nice comments you do regarding your recent stay in the hotel.

We are very glad you had a great stay with your kids and we would like to thank you for the suggests you do in order to give a better service to our clients.

Best regards,
Mar Almagro, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    211
    83
    33
    19
See reviews for
210
176
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel/apartment for a week at the beginning of July 2014. The hotel was quite basic - all the necessities but nothing fancy. Our room was very spacious, with a separate bedroom, bathroom, small balcony, then a dining/living/kitchen area, which had everything we needed for self catering (we made breakfast and lunch there, but ate out in the evenings) - we didn't try the hotel restaurant so can't comment on that, but there were plenty of decent restaurants in the area, all reasonably priced. There were plenty of supermarkets all located within a few minutes walk too, so very convenient.

The hotel was in a good location, on the top of quite a steep hill, but not a problem for a young/fit couple (maybe more problematic for someone with mobility issues). The surrounding area was beautiful - the beach (and town) about a 5-10 minute walk with perfect clear water, great for sunbathing and swimming. We split our time between the beach, and the hotel's pool, which was very well maintained - the pool crystal clear and clean, and really lovely! Some mornings they did have activities set up for children so it could get a bit noisy, but there was still plenty of room left in the pool for everyone else. Our room was on the 3rd floor, near the back of the complex, so it was completely peaceful, but also meant our view was limited to the rest of the apartment buildings.

The rooms were cleaned every day by friendly efficient staff (they usually came when we were in the middle of lunch which was a bit awkward, but they were in and out in no time). My only complaint about the stay was the shower - the water would run scalding hot then freezing cold no matter how high or low the temperature was set.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel, and would happily come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAM_1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for a week in June 2014 Bed and Breakfast, No complaints, Clean rooms , friendly staff, good choice for breakfast, good value, would stay again . we got used to the walk back up the hill
by the end of the week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice hotel, very clean, (my friend and i are housekeeping managers!!), modern and nice staff!
Only one small thing, the room attendant kept moving all our things, putting items in bags etc, put my toothbrush head down in the glass with everyone else's eech, then only left towels for one and no loo roll, its was the running joke for the week to see what had been moved around and not left! But overall a nice hotel and a great price, would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strabrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one week at the beginning of June. We thought the hotel was excellent and deserved more than a 2 star rating. We had a lovely, large, self catering apartment overlooking the beautiful foliage at the back of the hotel, totally secluded with lots of evening sun. The swimming pool was large and spotlessly clean as was everywhere in the hotel. Plenty of sunbeds if staying at the hotel.
Cala Galdana itself was peaceful and the sea was crystal clear and calm. We arrived before the peak season started which was a great time to do the the coastal walks from here. Temperature about 28c and getting hotter towards end of week.
Car hire cheap, 50 euros (£42) for three days, fully comp, car hire place on the hill down to the beach.
Lots of lovely, nearly deserted coves to explore especially in the north of Menorca and Cuitedalla is also well worth a visit. Binibequer Vell in the south east is a must, a maze of whitewashed houses and narrow cobbled streets.
For us this was a perfect holiday. The hotel was quiet, no entertainment, not many kids, very relaxing. Staff helpful and friendly. Free air conditioning and tv.
We would have given this a five star rating if it wasn't for the hotel food. We tried the evening buffet once and was so glad that we'd booked self catering. It was tasteless and uninspiring. Unfortunately the food in the town was also poor quality, apart from a great tapas restaurant which was very good but expensive.

Room Tip: Choose room at the back of hotel, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidays186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Menorca, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Client,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We are very glad you had a pleasant stay at Confortel Menorca and that you enjoyed our beautiful island. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear you did not like our food either food´s island.

We hope you can come back to Menorca in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Mar Almagro, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for 11 days in June 2014. It was a very relaxing place to stay. Our room was basic but clean with good air conditioning and most importantly for me, I saw no creepy crawlies. However it was on the third floor which was a bit of a challenge in the daytime heat, especially after the walk up the hill from the beach. The staff were as helpful as they could be but some had limited English so it helps if you know a little Spanish. There is free wifi in the reception area. The pool area is lovely and whilst we were there we had no difficulty getting a sunbed, however we found it much better to go down to the gorgeous beach. The restaurant and food looked very nice but we didn't eat in so can't really comment. There are a couple of very good bar restaurants just over the road from the Confortel on the way down to the village/beach area.

Room Tip: Lower floors (1 &2) are more manageable as there are no lifts. You can pay extra if you want a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topranking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Menorca, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Client,

I would like to thank you for the nice comments you do about our hotel.

We are very glad you enjoyed the area and the beautifull beach close by and we are glad to know our staff was helpfull for you even if we need to improve our english ;-)

We do hope we can wellcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Mar Almagro, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago now. Hotel is quaint. Entertainment was great especially for the kids at the mini disco. Pool is cold but very clean! And there was always plenty of sun beds. Breakfast was lush! Lots of options of what to eat and always a spare table. The rooms are quite bare, but have all you need in them with nice balconies :) however you can hear the entertainment in the room so it's very loud. The hotel is in a great location not too far walk to the beach and right next to a supermarket. The beach was full of jellyfish though :(

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,024 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
4.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,834 reviews
13.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Menorca

Property: ILUNION Menorca
Address: Urb. Serpentona solar 18A, 07760 , Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ILUNION Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ILUNION Menorca apartment hotel is situated in the privileged spot of Cala Galdana, with the best beaches of Menorca surrounding it such as Cala Galdana, Mitjana or Macarella. Cala Galdana is characterised for its accessibility and for its shallow, clean and crystal clear waters, which makes it the perfect place for families with children. It has 123 one or two bedroom large and comfortable apartments with terrace balconies. They have large balconies, a bathroom equipped with a bath and living room with an integrated kitchen, which is equipped with microwave, fridge, toaster, kitchen utensils, etc. If you are travelling with children (over 4 years old) you will be able to enjoy all of the activities of the Mini-club and the children's animation programs The hotel has a snack-bar, restaurant with buffet service, an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi in the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Menorca Hotel Cala Galdana
Confortel Anabel Cala Galdana
Confortel Anabel Hotel Cala Galdana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing