We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Son Triay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Son Triay
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We were delighted with our stay. A beautiful house in a tranquil countryside with warm and helpful staff. Every evening we felt like we were coming home. There are kitchens as well as a delicious menu. The homemade paella is a highlight. Couldn't recommend more highly.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Robinodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a great welcome from the manager and he was very helpful throughout our stay. We stayed in the Guardian house which was charming if basic. The location within the grounds and the impressive manor farm house with its lovely pool area added to the experience. The bumpy track to the property was interesting to say the least, an especially sharp contrast to the otherwise excellent roads in Menorca. Son Triay is a good location for exploring the Island and we would stay there again on our next visit to Menorca which we hope will be soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Of the four places we stayed during our 10 days on Menorca, this was by far the best. It was in fact perfect. The grounds were spectacular, the location convenient for some beautiful beaches, the food excellent (especially the dinner Carolina cooked for us; however, even though she scaled it down somewhat, it was still too much food for our North American stomachs!). We loved the pool, the landscaping, the comfy bed, and the price seems reasonable. Carolina took us on a walk to the quarry and, to my delight, arranged horseback riding for me. If we come back to Menorca, we would book Son Triay for our entire stay.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We only decided to go to Menorca 10 days before our flight left and we really wanted to stay in a charming small hotel with our two children of 8 and 10. We looked for accommodation on the web, but there was not much available so late in the day, however Son Triay stood out. They were fully booked for the first two nights, but we spent the last five nights of our week there, and we could not have chosen better if we had started looking a year before. We mentioned to Carolina over our delicious breakfast (that changes daily) that there were negative reports about her and the hotel on TripAdvisor to which she replied (in her perfect English) "You can't please everybody". I really don't know what the whingers expected, but we thought that the place was lovely - a beautiful setting with lovely gardens, nice pool, tennis court (although a little bumpy!) in the middle of the countryside. We were more than pleased with the quality of the apartment to which she upgraded us, although the rooms in the main hotel are all beautiful with many original features and modern facilites. The pool was perfect for lounging around, pulling ripe figs off the tree and reading in complete tranquility and the kids loved playing with the two dogs Chop and Lula. It was difficult to pull ourselves away to go to the many lovely beaches on the island, and we were always happy to get back for a last swim before going out for dinner. One thing - you need a car to get to the Son Triay, and be prepared for the 1.2km drive down the bumpy track off the main road. It might not please the most pampered souls, but if we ever go back to Menorca, we will try to stay there again - we loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DamianGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at Son Triay, on the South-West side of Menorca, for one week, at the end of May, and we loved it.
I read some of the criticisms put forward by previous guests and could see why the place is not to everyone's taste. If you're looking for a four star hotel, with all amenities that go with it, you will be disappointed, but if you are looking for a great time, away from it all, in a beautiful house set in a magnificent garden and surrounded by unspoilt landscape as far as the eyes can see, then this house is for you.
It is true that there is no air-conditioning, no reception desk as in a hotel, no "English" breakfast served in the morning (although I'm sure, if you asked, you could get exactly what you wanted), that only Carolina, the owner, speaks English… but it might also be good to remember that Menorca is in Spain, and that visitors could make a little effort and learn a few words of Spanish, something, I've noticed, that is always much appreciated is any hotel, restaurant and shop on the island. On the more positive side, you are staying on a working farm, and the products served at breakfast (local sausages, eggs, cheeses, yoghurt) are all home made and totally organic. Maria, who prepares and serves breakfast, cooked us something different every morning: pancakes, doughnuts, local croissants and cakes. Having seen chicken running about the yard, I asked for soft boiled eggs… and I had soft boiled eggs, cooked to perfection.
In spirit, Son Triay in more of a B & B than a hotel. Carolina is a wonderful hostess with great knowledge of the island and her recommended restaurants or places to visit were always excellent. The house is a XIX century mansion, and feels like it hasn't really changed since it was built by Carolina's family… except for all the modern amenities that you'll find in the rooms (although, blissfully, ours had no TV–but some have and there's one in the foyer), most of them newly redecorated, and for the fantastic swimming pool overlooking the fields where cows wander about during the day. There is also a tennis court, and the nearest beach is a 10 minutes drive away.
Menorca can be very crowded in the summer and Son Triay not as peaceful as it were during our stay. If you can, go off season, when the weather is good, but not too hot, when the roads are not full of rent-a-car vehicles clogging the place, the beaches not overcrowded and the numerous archaeological sites a must and pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

The location was lovely but the arrival was not very welcoming as the staff could not speak either english or spanish.... and the room was very damp to the point of having to request a different room and the staff had to call the owner who was in bed. In the end we could not be moved as no room was prepared, so we had to stay in a damp room with not much sleep as the humidifier was on! the following day we were moved to a small room which had a tiny shower and smelly toilet. so all in all we wouldn't recommend it, shame because it had beautiful gardens, surrounding fields and the building was beautiful from the exterior but with a run down interior and layout.
Another thing, the breakfast was so expensive and extremely basic, but there was nowhere nearby, so we were forced to eat breakfast there!
it consisted of toast, jam, strong cheese, sobrasada (cured pork), coffee!
all in all it was VERY expensive, we had no mini bar, no aircon, we had a smelly toilet, this could've been a cheap hostel! except for the peaceful location in the countryside, which is all it was!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Mighty_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PedroP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
0.4 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
529 reviews
6.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Alta Galdana
Apartamentos Alta Galdana
#1 of 1 in Serpentona
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Galdana Gardens Apartments
#5 of 9 in Cala Galdana
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Triay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Triay

Address: Carretera Cala Galdana Km. 2.5 | Ferreries, 07750, Cala Galdana, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Cala Galdana
Price Range: £83 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Son Triay 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house of Son Triay it is located on a small plateau surrounded by 126 hectares of crop fields, pastures and forests and a few km to the virgin coves of south the island. 8 rooms and 6 apartments, ideal for couples, families or groups who want to spend your holidays in Menorca. All apartments have independed access and are designed and furnished according to he rural tradition of the area. Son Triay is a nice farmhouse since 1995 and has been maintained to preserve their original and traditional features. The farm is located between the village of Ferreries and the urbanization of Cala Galdana. Its gardens an terraces make Son Triay, an ideal place to spend your holidays in Menorca, join peace and quiet is this beautiful estate-agrotourism to enjoy it and its facilities. Breakfast in the garden with typical products of the island and handcrafted in our farm (a privilege) We are happy to open our doors, expect them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Son Triay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing