We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galdana Gardens Apartments
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cala Galdana
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Holiday”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just arrived back from 2 weeks in the Galdana Gardens with the wife and 2 young kids. If you want somewhere quiet and kid friendly then this is the place for you. The apartments are well equipped, clean and ideally located for the beach and all local amenities. Cala Galdana is a beautiful resort and very popular with Spanish tourists as well as us Brits.
The apartments are predominantly occupied by Brits and Spanish, this was evident as there were plenty of pool side sun beds available throughout the day (no need to get up early to get your towels out).
If you want somewhere with organised entertainment for the kids on site this isn't the place for you, no bar on site and reception keeps very minimal hours. Having said that there are plenty of bars within spitting distance and the hotel across the road holds a mini disco 6 nights a week for the little uns.
Overall we had a wonderful time and would definately go back to these apartments.

Room Tip: Upper floors have wonderful views, we had a poolside room which with 2 young children was ideal, con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    88
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
117
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a week, the apartments are in a great location overlooking the beach and small harbour area. The apartments had enough stuff for you to be ablke to make lunch and basic dinners and the living space was generous (although there were only 2 of us, it may be more crowded with 4). Go for an apartment on the top floor to get the best views- but be prepared for a bit of a climb up the stairs! On our last day the recpetion allowed us to use a free aprtment to have a shower and get cahnged in the evening aftre a day on the beach which was very helpful. There is also a small car park at the side of the apartments which could prove handy when the public car parks get busy in the peak season.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We have stayed at the apartments for the fourth time and got back yesterday. They are the best apartments in the resort by far, very basic but all you need for a relaxing holiday. We had noticed how expensive the resort had become this year, however if you take a bus into the next town of Ferreries there is a spar with much cheaper prices than in resort. We also noticed how much quieter it had become but not a problem to us. It's ideal if you have children as the beach is ideal and the best on the island. We hired a car from the car hire past the Mississippi pub and paid £87euros for 2 days but were quoted £120 in the shops in the square. Es Barranc is by far the best restaurant in resort, and we go back year after year, although the corner one by the apts is also good. Do not let the cost put you off going, this is a family holiday all will love. Not good for teenagers or gangs of kids as nothing to do, which can also be a plus point in some ways. The supermarkets in resort are a little more expensive but fresh hot bread every morning for pence is great value and lovely for breakfast. Go to Anna and Pepe's bar in the square, lovely people, lovely atmosphere and kids welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susieq023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

just got back from the cala galdana garden apartments and cant fault them at all. They are ust basic apartments but have everything you need and are very clean. Oue 2 year old loved the pool and it wasnt too busy the time we went so could always get a sunbed even late morning/afternoon. The resort of cala galdana is really lovely and pretty b ut is very quiet. We spoke to people who go back year after year and someone who has been going for 20 years. Even though it is very nice there is not enough selection of restaurants for us and there are only 3 bars. Our 2 year old loved the mini disco in the square everynight across the way. There was entertainment in the cala galdana hotel everynight after the mini disco. The beach is the best thing about the resort is very shallow clear water.. The resort itself is very very expensive . As the resort is very quiet an d there are only a couple of supermarket s they have a captive market. A loaf of bread was £3.30 and a bottle of coke £2.50. We ate out everynight and tried a different restaurant everynight and our favourites was es barrac ( very good with our daughter) and la luna up the hilll though all o f them were very nice and didnt have a bad meal while there. On average our meal bill was £70 for 2 main meals a half bottle of red wine and half jug of sangria and a dessert to share. The cheapest pint was £3.30 and the average drink with a mixer was £4.50. Enjoyed the holiday but have been to better places that are as scenic and less expensive .

Room Tip: we stayed in a 1st floor apartment overlooking the pool and it was fine , all the rooms look as good...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank joannelexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have stayed in Menorca twice before, in Arenal D'en Castell which we loved. As we went minus kids this year we wanted to try somewhere different, and were not disappointed.

The apartments were in perfect central spot. We were on the top floor (3rd) as I had requested a high level apartment in the hope of getting a good view. As you can see from my photos we had a beautiful view of the bay and the resort in general - could not have asked for better. Apartments were well furnished and had newish fittings and good aircon system inliving area and bedroom. No microwave or cooker (although toaster and hob provided), but you'll most likely want to eat out anyway because there is a great little range of restaurants, snack bars etc on the resort (Sa Luna was out fave but we didn't have a bad meal while there). Special mention also the Illice snack bar on the main 'strip' of restaurants - great value and really lovely coffee and ice cream milkshakes if you just fancy a sit down and a drink. Tobaggan restaurant/bar is great for a game of mini golf although staff unfriendly.

The resort is absolutely beautiful with a perfect beach and turquoise waters. My only gripe is the huge no. of sunloungers on the beach, leaving much less room for those pitching up with towels etc. Take walks to either side of the bay to 'hidden' coves - Mitjani one way, and Macarella, Macarelleta and Turqueta the other. All but Macarella have no snack bar, so take refreshments and sun cream! The weather in late June was lovely every day - around 30 degees midday. I would also recommend the 2 hour coves cruise on a glass bottom boat that goes from the side of El Mirador restaurant - very reasonable price, but pre booking essential.

The reason I didn't give the Galdana Gardens 5 stars is because the smal reception area had limited service and did not always stick to opening hours. As a result we couldn't get our 5 euro safe key deposit back. Maid service was also a bit random - we were visited 3 times during the week,but had no idea when they arrive. However, we pretty much know the deal now, so this wouldn't stop us returning as everything else was great - we could even get pool side sunloungers no prob as not many kids/families at this time of year.

We booked wit lowcost holidays and paid less than £650 in total for both of us - flights and transfer included - would highly recommend.

Tip: Floramar supermarket has a great range and friendly staff. Try the Menorique coconut ice cream, which somes in a half coconut shell - its to die for!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toxicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We loved the Galdana Gardens. The apartments are clean and well equipped. We had a ground floor apartment (no. 24) which was perfect because the kids could run in and out of the apartment. The receptionist was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. For evening entertainment we went along to the Cala Galdana Hotel. Out kids also loved the water slides in the restaurant opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Go ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenaG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have stayed in these apartments in Galdana on many occasions. We are fortunate enough to be able to holiday twice a year and are well travelled but the pull from this wonderful picturesque bay is unstoppable. We did a cruise last year and saw many beautiful places. Our 2nd holiday was spent in Sa Coma (trying to wean ourselves from Galdana) but the apartments were filthy and in dire need of an update. We have just returned from Greece - lovely apartments and location, fantastic food, but bitten to death by mosquitoes and until Greece gets its toilet system sorted don't think we'll be going back for a while.
So Cala Galdana and these apartments it is again in August and reading reviews on this site only makes us pine for more!! Roll on August.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6bestfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Galdana
6.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Floramar
Aparthotel Floramar
#5 of 9 in Cala Galdana
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Alta Galdana
Apartamentos Alta Galdana
#1 of 1 in Serpentona
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galdana Gardens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galdana Gardens Apartments

Property: Galdana Gardens Apartments
Address: Passeig des Riu S/N | Urb. Serpentona, 07760, Cala Galdana, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Galdana
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cala Galdana
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Galdana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Galdana Gardens Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Galdana Gardens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galdana Gardens Apartments Hotel Cala Galdana
Galdana Gardens Apartments Cala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing